Historical information

The honour board was made by hospital staff, in the 1930's when the award was created by the League, at the suggestion of Matron Grace Wilson. The name of the first nurse was added in 1934 and the last nurse in 1992 when the School of Nursing at the Alfred closed.


The Alfred Hospital Nurses League is responsible for all the nurse badges worn by Alfred Nurses. The League set up the Louisa Mann gold medal, awarded annually to the best nurse over the three years of training - academically and practically. This board commemorates their achievement.

Physical description

Timber honour board, Louisa Mann Gold Medal lists the names of the 59 recipients of the League's badge.

Inscriptions & markings

Louisa Mann Gold Medal
Alfred Hospital Nurses league
Names of 59 nurses