Stories Organisations Projects About Login

A black and white photograph.

From the Collection of Port of Echuca 74 Murray Esplanade Echuca Victoria

A black and white photograph of the barge Ada, with record load of wool on Murrumbidgee River. Possibly a copy of an early photo.
H 12.5 X L 9 cms.
Object Registration
wool, ada, murray river, barges, murrumbidgee river, port of echuca, permewan wright co.
Historical information
The barge Ada, was built in Echuca in 1899. It was 33 metres in length and 6.9 metres wide and was made from timber and iron. It's design was unique as it was half timber, and iron . It was iron above the water line to prevent the wool bales from getting wet. The Ada was used to carry wool from Sheep Stations on the Murray and Murrumbidgee Rivers down to Echuca Wharf for distribution around the world. The Permewan Wright, Murray Shipping Company owned the Ada. In the 1930's the Ada was sold to the Evans family who used it to transport timber to it's Echuca sawmill. It was purchased by the Port of Echuca in 1974.
When Made
Approx.1980s but the original comes from the late 1800s.
The barge Ada is very significant due to the uniqueness of her design. The hull is timber, up to the water line, then iron from the water line up to protect the bales of wool inside, from water damage. The P.S Pevensey has the same design feature. The Ada was generally towed by the Pevensey. Together they hold the record load of wool out of the Murrumbidgee.
Inscriptions & Markings
On the back In black pen:" Record load wool" In pencil: "Barge Ada" In blue pen:" Murrumbidgee" In black Texta a circled "8"
Last updated
21 Sep 2017 at 11:16AM