Stories Organisations Projects About Login

A black and white photograph.

From the Collection of Port of Echuca 74 Murray Esplanade Echuca Victoria

A black and white photograph of the barge Ada, moored to the riverbank. A gangplank runs from the barge to the shore. There are four men on the bow of the barge. The wheelhouse of a paddle boat can be seen behind 'Ada' (possibly P. S. Edwards)
W12.5 X H9 cms.
Object Registration
wool, ada, murray river, barges, murrumbidgee river, evans saw mills, port of echuca, timber industry, permewan wright co.
Historical information
The barge Ada, was built in Echuca in 1899. It was 33 metres in length and 6.9 metres wide and was made from timber and iron. It's design was unique as it was half timber, and iron . It was iron above the water line to prevent the wool bales from getting wet. The Ada was used to carry wool from Sheep Stations on the Murray and Murrumbidgee Rivers down to Echuca Wharf for distribution around the world. The Permewan Wright, Murray Shipping Company owned the Ada. In the 1930's the Ada was sold to the Evans family who used it to transport timber to it's Echuca sawmill. It was purchased by the Port of Echuca in 1974.
When Made
Approx.1980s from an original made approx. 1950s
The barge Ada is very significant due to the uniqueness of her design. The hull is timber, up to the water line, then iron from the water line up to protect the bales of wool inside, from water damage. The P.S Pevensey has the same design feature. The Ada has been on static display since 1974 at the Port of Echuca.
Inscriptions & Markings
On front on bow:Ada. On the back in pencil :Edward.
Last updated
21 Sep 2017 at 11:14AM