Showing 11872 items matching documentation
Administrative record (118) Archive (254) Article (81) Document (797) Education kit (12) Essay (1) Financial record (2) Journal (65) Legal record (6) Literary work (3) Manual (7) Map (113) Negative (17) Photograph (10050) Plan (346)-
Kew Historical Society Inc
Plan - Subdivision Plan, Palmyra Estate, 1918
Pru Sanderson, in her groundbreaking ‘City of Kew Urban Conservation Study : Volume 2 - Development History’ (1988), summarised the periods of urban development and subdivisions of land in Kew. The periods that she identified included 1845-1880, 1880-1893, 1893-1921, 1921-1933, 1933-1943, and Post-War Development. These periods were selected as they represented periods of rapid growth or decline in urban development. An obvious starting point for Sanderson’s groupings involved population growth and the associated economic cycles. These cycles also highlighted urban expansion onto land that was predominantly rural, although in other cases it represented the decline and breakup of large estates. A number of the plans in the Kew Historical Society’s collection can also be found in other collections, such as those of the State Library of Victoria and the Boroondara Library Service. A number are however unique to the collection.The Kew Historical Society collection includes almost 100 subdivision plans pertaining to suburbs of the City of Melbourne. Most of these are of Kew, Kew East or Studley Park, although a smaller number are plans of Camberwell, Deepdene, Balwyn and Hawthorn. It is believed that the majority of the plans were gifted to the Society by persons connected with the real estate firm - J. R. Mathers & McMillan, 136 Cotham Road, Kew. The Plans in the collection are rarely in pristine form, being working plans on which the agent would write notes and record lots sold and the prices of these. The subdivision plans are historically significant examples of the growth of urban Melbourne from the beginning of the 20th Century up until the 1980s. A number of the plans are double-sided and often include a photograph on the reverse. In 1918, Punch reported the sale of the Palmyra Estate. ‘Adjoining the Findon Estate at Kew is Palmyra, one of the most charming localities in this most desirable of all suburbs. Palmyra has frontages to Findon, Bakewell, Carson and Stevenson streets. Facing Carson street are eight blocks of 60 by 140; on Stevenson-street four of 60 by 232; and there are four of 60 by 233 on Bakewell-street.’ [Bakewell Street and Findon Street were later to be amalgamated into Findon Crescent.]subdivision plans - kew, studley park, palymyra estate, stevenson street -- kew (vic.), carson street -- kew (vic.), bakewell street (findon crescent) -- kew (vic.) -
Bendigo Soldiers Memorial Institute Military Museum
Document, Navigation Log
-
Federation University Australia Historical Collection (Geoffrey Blainey Research Centre)
Plan, Tanjil Sheet 2, not dated
Printed plan on paper backed onto linen tanjil -
Kew Historical Society Inc
Photograph - Framed Photograph, Auburn Heights Recreation Club Opening Day 1906, 1906
Sports Clubs in Kew in the final decades of the 19th century and in the early 20th century were often umbrella organisations with facilities for a number of sports. Typically in Kew, this included teams in lawn bowls, tennis and croquet. The Kew Bowling Club was formed in 1880 while the privately owned Auburn Heights Recreation Club was opened in 1904. By 1998, the two Clubs decided to amalgamate at the Auburn Heights site in Barkers Road, forming the Kew Heights Sports Club. The combined club was itself taken over by the Melbourne Cricket Club in 2012 becoming MCC Kew Sports Club. In 2017 MCC Kew closed and its landholding was subsequently sold to Carey Baptist Grammar School. Both the Kew and Auburn Heights Clubs assembled important collections. These historically significant and large collections were donated to the Society in 2020. The collections include manuscripts, pictures, trophies, plans, honour boards etc. References Barnard FGA 1910, 'Sports and Pastimes' in Jubilee History of Kew Victoria: Its origin & progress 1803-1910. Chapman J & C 1999, The history of the Auburn Heights Recreation Club, 1904 to 1908. Reeve S 2012, City of Boroondara: Thematic Environmental History, p.216.The combined collections of the four sporting clubs making up the collection number hundreds of items that are historically significant locally. They are also significant to the sporting history of the greater Melbourne area and to the sports of lawn bowls and tennis in Australia in the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection illuminates two of the Victorian historic themes - 'Building community life' through forming community organisations and 'Shaping cultural and creative life' by participating in sport and recreation.Framed reproduction of a half plate glass negative loaned to Auburn Heights Recreation Centre by the Kew Historical Society. [The item forms part of the large historic Auburn Heights Recreation Club collection, with items relating to the sports of lawn bowls, tennis and croquet, gifted to the Kew Historical Society in 2020].clubs - lawn bowls - kew (vic), auburn heights recreation club - barkers road - kew (vic) -
Lara RSL Sub Branch
Document, AIR RAID PRECAUTIONS
Air raid procedure issued by the authority of the Newtown and Chilwell council, with the approval of the State Emergency Council for Civil Defence.Gives information on what to do in the event of an air raid.Rectangular shaped laminated document khaki in colour.Town of Newtown and Chilwell AIR RAID PRECAUTIONS. -
Melbourne Legacy
Photograph - Photo, Widows function, Widows activities, 1996
A group of widows gathered at Legacy House doing needlework and craft. It is Marion Scammell (see also article in the Answer 1996 at 00889). This photo was published in The Answer in January 1997. Shows one of many activities that the widows were involved in. There were weekly workshops for craft and others for painting. The tapestry instructor was Nancy Crooks. The timetable for activities was published in The Answer each month. These regular meetings and workshops provided important opportunities for widows to meet and be active.A record of the type of activities Legacy provided as a social outlet for widows. Colour photo of widows working on craft projects at Legacy House.Printing on the back " -
Melbourne Legacy
Document, Employment Committee / General Procedures - Meetings and Records
These documents relate the procedures of meetings of the Employment Committee. There is also a draft advertisement to be typed up and added to the Legacy Bulletin asking for assistance in finding work for junior legatees. The importance of the document is that it clearly states procedures of meetings and records.Paper, 5 pages, typed in black. 1 pink page typed on both sides, dated 26/6/1979, 1 paper folder,pink titled "Notification of Employment Vacancies". White out has been used extensively. This appears to have been a draft copy with alterations made.committee, procedures -
Darebin Art Collection
Photograph - Fiona Mackay, Fiona Mackay, Corridor Junction, Administration Building, Larundel, 2009
larundel -
Kew Historical Society Inc
Archive (Sub-series) - Subject File, Clifton House [Studley Park Road], 1958
Various partiesReference, Research, InformationSecondary Values (KHS Imposed Order)Subject file containing a transcribed copy of a sale notice from 1867 of Clifton House, later demolished by George Ramsden to build Byram (aka Goathland, Tara Hall etc).houses -- kew (vic.), clifton house, stevenson brothers, studley park road -- kew (vic.)houses -- kew (vic.), clifton house, stevenson brothers, studley park road -- kew (vic.) -
Port Fairy Historical Society Museum and Archives
Photograph
AMENITIES East Beach DETAILeast beach, amenities, toilet block, port fairy -
Old Colonists' Association of Ballarat Inc.
Photograph - Photograph - Colour, Facade of the Old Colonists' Hall, Ballarat, 2020, 08/05/2020
Colour photographs of the high facade of the Ballarat Old Colonists' Hall, featuring the heraldic device.old colonists' association of ballarat, old colonists hall, heraldic device -
Gippsland Art Gallery
Photograph, Oldfield, David, McNamara's Hut Replica, Buckety Plain, 2004
Donated by the artist, 2004Silver bromide photographic printgippsland, artwork, permanent collection -
Melbourne Legacy
Photograph - Photo, The happiest girl in Vic, 1959
A photo and newspaper clippings from a book compiled about the Legacy children's residence called Stanhope. Elizabeth Brown was a resident at Stanhope after her father died in 1953 and she came to Melbourne from Seymour to compete further studies at Toorak Teachers College. She was chosen to present a bouquet to Princess Alexandra at the Royal Ball. Elizabeth wore a pink taffeta gown and was accompanied by a Legacy boy, Julian Hyde. One colour photo and two black and white photos taken at Stanhope prior to the event. Stanhope was supervised by Matron Dorothy (Dorrie) Vines from the time it opened in 1946 until it closed. It is possible she compiled this notebook as she is referred to as 'self' in one photo. Individual pages of photos or newspaper clippings have been added separately. Items 01817 to 01827. Blamey House (purchased 1947) , Stanhope (purchased 1945) and Harelands (purchased 1950) were residences run by Melbourne Legacy to take care of children whose fathers were servicemen, and who may have been left orphans, or whose mother may have been unable to care for them herself, or they needed to stay in Melbourne for further education. Harelands accommodated boys and girls under the age of 14, Blamey House looked after boys over 14, and Stanhope looked after girls over 14. The children were cared for until they were old enough to become independent. A record of a Legacy girl being chosen to participate at an important event. Colour photo of Elizabeth Brown preparing to meet Princess Alexandra, and 2 black and white photos and newspaper clippings about the event.stanhope, residences, royal visit -
Kew Historical Society Inc
Photograph, Cr. H. G. Ferguson J.P., Mayor [of Kew] 1959-60, 1959
Kew achieved independence from the Boroondara Roads Board in 1860. As a new municipality, its first three leaders were designated as chairmen. On becoming a borough in 1863, its leaders were identified as mayors. The earliest photographs date from ca.1906, when the Town of Kew commissioned the noted local photographer Josiah E Barnes to produce standardised portraits of former mayors to be displayed in the Mayoral Chamber of the Town Hall. The collection also includes photographs by other well-known photographic studios such as Burlington Studios, Melba – Melbourne, Stuart Tompkins, Spencer Shier and Talma & Co. The majority of mounts identify the photographer. Eighty photographs are housed in their original frames.This portrait is one of a large series of civic portraits of the mayors of Kew, dating from 1863 to 1969. The portraits in the series have been declared Permanent Government Records of the State of Victoria and are held by the Kew Historical Society with the permission of the City of Boroondara. A Significance Assessment in 2018, funded by the National Library of Australia confirmed the historic, and often artistic significance of the series. Framed portrait of Cr. H. G. Ferguson J.P., Mayor of Kew 1959-60. The mounting and framing of the photograph follows a typical layout or style in that each is framed in dark wood, glazed, and laid down on an inscribed board. The inscription identifies the name of the mayor and the year/s that he/she served.Cr. H. G. Ferguson J.P. / Mayor 1959-60mayors of kew (vic), cr. h. g. ferguson -
Tatura Irrigation & Wartime Camps Museum
Education kit - Exercise Book, Honour Book 1939, 1939
Used by Mary McNamara for school work whilst a student at St Mary's College Tatura in 1939.School exercise book covered in paper decorated with pastel flowers of green and pink on white background. Blue lined paged containing school work. Inside front page decorated (see inscription). inside front page: AMDG Grs V1 V11 V111 Honour Book 1939 Awarded to Mary McNamara; decorated with flowers.mary mcnamara, st mary's college tatura, education in victoria -
Melbourne Legacy
Photograph - Photo, Legacy Demonstration
A photo of a large group of young junior legatees in sports outfits dancing on stage at the Annual Demonstration. Legacy clubs ran classes for junior legatees for many years such as gymnastics, swimming or dancing classes. It was part of providing for the children of their deceased comrades. The skills they learned were show cased in an annual demonstration usually at the Melbourne Town Hall. It appears to be photo taken professionally of the Annual Demonstration. Year unknown.A record of a way Legacy provided classes for junior legatees and the skills learned were displayed in the Annual Demonstration.Black and white photo of junior legatees in sports outfits dancing on stage at Melbourne Town Hall.Stamped "Compliments of the Ministry of Tourism / Government of Victoria / please acknowledge Michael Cheshire" in grey ink. Handwritten 'Legacy P2' in blue pen.junior legatee, annual demonstration