Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Kew Historical Society Inc Kew, Victoria

Founded in 1958, two years after the formation of the National Trust of Victoria, the Kew Historical Society is one of the oldest historical societies in Melbourne. The Society was formed to assist in the preparations for Kew’s 100th Anniversary in 1960. Today, the Society continues to work with local government and other organisations within Kew to stimulate interest in our history and heritage. It publishes, in print and online, information and resources about Kew’s history, as well as organising events relevant to our heritage. The Society has been affiliated with the Royal Historical Society of Victoria since 1959, and works with other historical societies and groups across the City of Boroondara through the Boroondara Historical Societies Association.

Links

Contact Information

location
Kew Court House 188 High Street Kew Victoria
Contact

Opening Hours

Kew Court House: Every Friday & Saturday from 11.00am to 1.00pm.

Entry Fee

Free entry

Location

Kew Court House 188 High Street Kew Victoria

The Kew Historical Society was founded in 1958, and the collection predates and postdates that year. The collection has sometimes grown gradually, or significantly, the latter through key donations (eg The Rogers Collection), or due to events such as the amalgamation of the former City of Kew into the new City of Boroondara in 1994. Many ‘civic’ items were donated before, during or after the amalgamation.

These records are digitised by the Kew Historical Society on Victorian Collections for the purposes of education and preservation. If you believe that we have infringed your copyright please contact us and we will remove the material from the site.

Significance

When successfully applying in 2017 for funding for a Significance Assessment from a consortium of national cultural organisations led by the National Library of Australia the Society described its collections as:

Audio-visual recordings
A collection of unique addresses, lectures and oral history interviews of noted Australian men and women, many of whom achieved national prominence, including Sir Robert Menzies. Oral history interviews include one with Frances Dumaresq, the daughter of a pioneering Australian family (Tasmania, Victoria) and later an educator at PLC in Western Australia, and at schools in Victoria. The core part of the collection includes about 30 tapes, only a number of which have been digitised and or transcribed.

Archives Bound and Unbound
A major collection of bound and unbound documents lodged with the Society by private individuals and organisations operating within the municipal boundaries, as established from time to time. Significant sub-collections within these archives include those of the Kew Ladies Benevolent Society (1891-1969), the East Kew Women's Club (1945-73), the Lionesses of Kew (1979-88), and the Kew Elderly Citizens' Association (1951-present). Other sub-collections include the Irena Higgins collection (Kew Asylum, Kew Cottages), the Dorothy Rogers Collection (Victorian history), and the Jill O’Brien Collection (Politics). As a whole, these and other archives include publications of particular historical value, minute books, membership lists, minutes, records of activities, brochures, plans, etc.

Costumes and textiles
The most significant item in the textiles collection is a mid-19th Century colonial-era quilt, which was considered for inclusion by the curators of a recent quilt exhibition at
the NGV. The main component of the Fashion & Textiles collection, exceeding 500 items, is the costume collection. A sizeable component is the significant number of costumes that predate the First World War. The earliest of these date from the 1850s. A number of these 19th Century costumes entered the collection in the early 1960s. The best of these were exhibited in 2016, including at the Villa Alba Museum, and were supported by public lectures provided by past and present curators of Australian Fashion at the NGV.

Information files
More than 480 hanging files containing information in the form of reports, short histories of families and buildings, personal accounts, etc. relating to people, places and events. The largest single sub-collection areas include conservation studies, including those used to support the community campaign to preserve the nationally significant Kew Court House, reports and documents relating to the Kew Cottages and Kew Lunatic Asylum, and those that outline the creation and maintenance of the Villa Alba Museum.

Library
Approximately 350 works covering arrange of historic themes. Within this part of the collection unique or rare books, including two copies of ‘In Memoriam’ by Sir John Longstaff and Dr. John Springthorpe, celebrating the life of Annie Springthorpe (1867-97). These important copies are believed to be two of the four in public collections. The collection also includes a folio of images of Kew in the early 1890s, that includes photographs taken by the Victorian photographer J.F.C. Farquhar. The book is in need of urgent restoration and has been recently assessed by the Grimwade Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation. The Book Collection also incorporates the professional library of the historian Dorothy Rogers.

Maps
Approximately 300 maps catalogued, including a highly significant and unique collection of Melbourne & Metropolitan Board of Works (MMBW) maps and plans dating from the 1890s to the 1920s. Thirty- five of the detail plans in the collection were the subject of a Victorian Local History Grant, provided though the Public Record Office Victoria, which enabled the digitising, reprinting, exhibiting and conserving of the plans. These plans are original contractors’ maps, which are hand-coloured and annotated with comments about land use and ownership. A number of these are not available through the State Library of Victoria. In addition to these MMBW plans, the society has almost 100 19th and 20th century subdivision plans, which are regularly accessed and used by researchers to investigate ‘Building Settlements Towns and Cities’.

Mounted works
Almost 200 original artworks and framed photographs, prints, etc. relating to significant people, places and events. One of these is the large, original framed iconic photograph of the ‘Unveiling of the Kew War Memorial, 1925’. Two recently acquired portraits of are of John Halfey and Annie Halfey. The distinctive portraits were painted in the 1880s and have recently been assessed for restoration by the Grimwade Centre. The majority of the mounted works are a collection of eighty-three framed photographs of mayors of the former City of Kew dating from 1861. This series of photographs includes examples taken by photographers such as Josiah Earl Barnes. A number of these mayors made significant wider contributions to the Australian community (eg William Warren Kerr, Sir Stanley Argyle, Herbert James Henty, and Marie Dalley). In a number of cases these are the only known portraits of these men and women.

Objects

Over 2,500 objects including domestic and commercial equipment etc.

Photographs
Over 3,000 photographs of people, places and events dating from the earliest days of European settlement in Australia, over 700 of which are available through Trove. While most of the photographs are of people, places and events, others have a wider significance. The Kew Historical Society was the largest contributor of historic photographs to ‘Remembering Melbourne’ (2016), produced by the Royal Historical Society of Victoria.

Cameron Auty 26 April 2016 9:48 AM

Amazing hat collection, these are a great addition to the site - Site admin.

Leave a comment

1767 items

Commemorative Object - Presentation Trowel : Kew Baptist Church School Hall, 1905

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Silver-plated commemorative trowel with bone handle, in black leather case lined with blue velvet. The trowel is engraved with information about the occasion.It was presented to Mrs J.M. Griffiths, who lived at Goldthorns, Normanby Road, Kew. [The trowel in its case was presented to the Kew Historical Society on 24 April 2018 by the Manager of Bupa Aged Care, Edithvale.]

Inscriptions & Markings

Engraved front: "Presented to Mrs. J.M. Griffiths on the occasion of her laying the foundation stone of the Baptist School Hall, Kew, Oct 21st 1905". Maker mark on reverse: "PA & S E P"

Costume - Wedding Dress, c.1900

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Cream silk wedding dress comprised of a fitted bodice and a full skirt with a long wide train. Both the skirt and the bodice feature extensive use of ruched silk. Originally the bodice was covered with silk net embroidered with small white flowers. While sections of the net remain on the rear of the bodice (and on the sleeves), that on the front has been removed, probably due to damage.

Historical information

This wedding dress was made for an unknown customer by a late 19th and early 20th century Richmond dressmaker known by her married name as Mrs Pamely. The dressmakers name is identified on Petersham ribbon on the bodice. (1877 was the first known use of a dressmakers name on an dress in Australia). The dress entered the Collection by donation. The donor, Netta Fuller, and her husband Alec, were long-term residents of Kew. Netta's passion was for historic clothing and its exhibition. In 1985, Netta Fuller and Elizabeth Pace launched a parade of garments sponsored by Kew Historical Society at Holy Trinity Church, Kew. The parade was called 'Downunder Dressmakers' and included a collection of over fifty items of clothing dating from 1800 to 1984. The core of the parade consisted of a collection of 19th Costumes worn by the ancestors of a Miss Gertrude Murray, a resident of Blackburn. In sourcing items for her collections, Netta Fuller collected costumes stored in old trunks and wardrobes, or even purchased from opportunity shops. Not satisfied with purchasing authentic costumes of the period, she also used these as models for artistic recreations. Following her retirement from both collecting and exhibiting, Netta Fuller donated a number of 19th Century items of clothing to the Kew Historical Society. A number of garments were parts of costumes such as bodices, while others were complete outfits. Some of the latter exhibit signs of old damage, however very few of the costumes have been modified to enable them to be worn in exhibitions. Detailed provenance is limited to donor information, although some of these donations may have originally formed part of the collection owned by the Murray family. While the costumes are old and therefore historic, provenance is less important than the representativeness and or rarity of the costumes. Similarly, the costumes need to be evaluated as a group and separately, considering their aesthetic and artistic significance.

Significance

This is the only 19th century costume in the Collection where the maker's name and address is known. To date, no other costumes by this dressmaker have been identified. The maker's business activity (1888-1905) allow one to, with an assessment of style, be relatively certain about its late Victorian construction. This adds to the item's significance even though its condition has been compromised by later removals and additions of decorative fabric on the bodice.

Inscriptions & Markings

"Madame Pamely, Costumiere, 41 Stanley St. Richmond"

Clothing - Evening Dress / by Oggi Fashion House, 1967

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Turquoise chiffon and taffeta evening dress, with empire waistline and beading to the neck and waist.

Historical information

The gown was purchased in 1967 from Oggi of Collins Street and worn by the donor’s mother, Mrs Ada Wallis, to the Miss Teenage of Victoria award ceremony at the Melbourne Town Hall, as the mother of a participant.

Clothing - Wedding dress / by Oggi Fashion House, 1971

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Wedding dress, purchased by Janet Elizabeth Brock in December 1971 from Oggi of Collins Street for her impending marriage to Raymond James Walker. The wedding dress, reaching just below the knee, is lined in silk with a double outer layer of organza. The striking decoration of the monochromatic cream dress is achieved through the use of wide ruffled organza frills at the neck, on the sleeves and at the flared hem of the dress. The dress has a discrete v-neckline with small, self-covered buttons at centre front. At the back, the dress is closed with a nylon zip. In addition to the elaborate stiffened frills, the dress features a wide fabric belt with a double bow, worn at the front.

Historical information

Wedding dress, purchased by Janet Elizabeth Brock in December 1971 from Oggi of Collins Street for her impending marriage to Raymond James Walker. The marriage, which was to occur shortly after the death of her father, took place on 18 December 1971 at the Kew Presbyterian Church in Cotham Road, where the Rev. Peter Mackie was the celebrant. Fashion by Oggi, as the sign above the door proclaimed, was located at the Paris End of Collins Street, on the south side, virtually opposite Lilian Weightman’s Le Louvre boutique. Janet Brock, who at the time was working in the Central Business District of Melbourne, had stopped to admire a mauve version of the dress that was displayed in the window, and, on making inquiries from the proprietress, ordered a made-to-measure cream-coloured copy.

Photograph - Flood, River Yarra, Kew, 1916

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Small black and white photograph of flooded trees in Kew.

Historical information

The donation was accompanied by the following letter from the donor: "Hi. I found these in with family photos. Taken by family as Mamie McLeod was living in Fellows Street, Kew, so would be near there. Retain (or discard) as you see fit." [Donor's name and address withheld from public view]. To gain an insight into the flood levels at Kew, it is worth reading newspaper accounts of the event. The Age published an article - Valuable Gardens Destroyed at Kew - on 25 September 1916: "VALUABLE GARDENS DESTROYED AT KEW. From the heights of Studley Park, Kew, a splendid view of the flood waters can be obtained, and yesterday afternoon, despite continuous rain, crowds of citizens assembled there to witness the spectacle. There is a vast stretch of water some 300 or 400 yards broad, above the foot bridge connecting Gipps-street, Collingwood, and Studley Park. The river is only about 3 feet from the top of the embankment connecting with the ramp of the bridge on the Studiey Park side. When the upper llood waters come down it is almost a certainty that tne embankment will be submerged and the bridge rendered impassible. Below the bridge the waters again stretch out, and have submerged all the low-lying land on the Collingwood side and invaded the back premises ot the Kodak Co., Phoenix Biscuit Factory, a tannery adjoining thereto, the Shamrock Brewery, and Chinese gardens in the vicinity. At Walmer-street-bridge, at the end of Studley Park, the low-lying land on the Kew side is covered with water to the depth of many feet. Tlie land in question is owned in a great part by Mr Frank Lavers who haa gone in for intense culture on a pretty liberal scale on both the slopes of the hill and on the river flat. On the latter he is cultivating many acres of asparagus, and has at a considerable cost spent three years in preparing the ground and installing an irrigation system, reticulated from the Yan Yean water supply. This year the asparagus was put down, and the plants were in a promising condition. Tlie flood waters are now flowing fast over the land. The crop is ruined, and three years' work and expenditure destroyed. Mr. Laver's private residence fortunately is high above flood level, but two houses he owns off Young-street have been flooded out. Having been warned in time, the tenants removed their furniture hefore the water came down to Mr. Laver's residence, where they themselves have been given accommodation in the meantime. All the river flats in East Kew are under water. One or two low-lying houses have been flooded. Chipperfield's boat shed at Willsmere is nearly covered, and some Chinese gardens in the vicinity are several feet under water."

Significance

This, and the other three photographs donated of floods in Kew are believed to be the earliest in the collection. Together with our original MMBW River Yarra map showing flood levels, these items, when compared allow researchers to gain a visual perspective of the extent of the flood in 1916.

Inscriptions & Markings

Inscription on reverse in ink "Flood R. Yarra Kew Vic

Photograph - Flood, River Yarra, Kew, 1916

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Panoramic view, believed to be looking north towards Fairfield from the Zig-Zag Bridge on the River Yarra. The inscription on the reverese identifies it as taken before 1920.

Historical information

The donation was accompanied by the following letter from the donor: "Hi. I found these in with family photos. Taken by family as Mamie McLeod was living in Fellows Street, Kew, so would be near there. Retain (or discard) as you see fit." [Donor's name and address withheld from public view]. To gain an insight into the flood levels at Kew, it is worth reading newspaper accounts of the event. The Age published an article - Valuable Gardens Destroyed at Kew - on 25 September 1916: "VALUABLE GARDENS DESTROYED AT KEW. From the heights of Studley Park, Kew, a splendid view of the flood waters can be obtained, and yesterday afternoon, despite continuous rain, crowds of citizens assembled there to witness the spectacle. There is a vast stretch of water some 300 or 400 yards broad, above the foot bridge connecting Gipps-street, Collingwood, and Studley Park. The river is only about 3 feet from the top of the embankment connecting with the ramp of the bridge on the Studiey Park side. When the upper llood waters come down it is almost a certainty that tne embankment will be submerged and the bridge rendered impassible. Below the bridge the waters again stretch out, and have submerged all the low-lying land on the Collingwood side and invaded the back premises ot the Kodak Co., Phoenix Biscuit Factory, a tannery adjoining thereto, the Shamrock Brewery, and Chinese gardens in the vicinity. At Walmer-street-bridge, at the end of Studley Park, the low-lying land on the Kew side is covered with water to the depth of many feet. Tlie land in question is owned in a great part by Mr Frank Lavers who haa gone in for intense culture on a pretty liberal scale on both the slopes of the hill and on the river flat. On the latter he is cultivating many acres of asparagus, and has at a considerable cost spent three years in preparing the ground and installing an irrigation system, reticulated from the Yan Yean water supply. This year the asparagus was put down, and the plants were in a promising condition. Tlie flood waters are now flowing fast over the land. The crop is ruined, and three years' work and expenditure destroyed. Mr. Laver's private residence fortunately is high above flood level, but two houses he owns off Young-street have been flooded out. Having been warned in time, the tenants removed their furniture hefore the water came down to Mr. Laver's residence, where they themselves have been given accommodation in the meantime. All the river flats in East Kew are under water. One or two low-lying houses have been flooded. Chipperfield's boat shed at Willsmere is nearly covered, and some Chinese gardens in the vicinity are several feet under water."

Significance

This, and the other three photographs donated of floods in Kew are believed to be the earliest in the collection. Together with our original MMBW River Yarra map showing flood levels, these items, when compared allow researchers to gain a visual perspective of the extent of the flood in 1916.

Inscriptions & Markings

Inscription on reverse in ink "(pre 1920) Flood from Zig-zag bridge Yarra River, Kew Vic."

Photograph - Flood, River Yarra, Kew, 1916

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black and white photograph of flooded trees in Kew with rising dry ground in distance.

Historical information

The donation was accompanied by the following letter from the donor: "Hi. I found these in with family photos. Taken by family as Mamie McLeod was living in Fellows Street, Kew, so would be near there. Retain (or discard) as you see fit." [Donor's name and address withheld from public view]. To gain an insight into the flood levels at Kew, it is worth reading newspaper accounts of the event. The Age published an article - Valuable Gardens Destroyed at Kew - on 25 September 1916: "VALUABLE GARDENS DESTROYED AT KEW. From the heights of Studley Park, Kew, a splendid view of the flood waters can be obtained, and yesterday afternoon, despite continuous rain, crowds of citizens assembled there to witness the spectacle. There is a vast stretch of water some 300 or 400 yards broad, above the foot bridge connecting Gipps-street, Collingwood, and Studley Park. The river is only about 3 feet from the top of the embankment connecting with the ramp of the bridge on the Studiey Park side. When the upper llood waters come down it is almost a certainty that tne embankment will be submerged and the bridge rendered impassible. Below the bridge the waters again stretch out, and have submerged all the low-lying land on the Collingwood side and invaded the back premises ot the Kodak Co., Phoenix Biscuit Factory, a tannery adjoining thereto, the Shamrock Brewery, and Chinese gardens in the vicinity. At Walmer-street-bridge, at the end of Studley Park, the low-lying land on the Kew side is covered with water to the depth of many feet. Tlie land in question is owned in a great part by Mr Frank Lavers who haa gone in for intense culture on a pretty liberal scale on both the slopes of the hill and on the river flat. On the latter he is cultivating many acres of asparagus, and has at a considerable cost spent three years in preparing the ground and installing an irrigation system, reticulated from the Yan Yean water supply. This year the asparagus was put down, and the plants were in a promising condition. Tlie flood waters are now flowing fast over the land. The crop is ruined, and three years' work and expenditure destroyed. Mr. Laver's private residence fortunately is high above flood level, but two houses he owns off Young-street have been flooded out. Having been warned in time, the tenants removed their furniture hefore the water came down to Mr. Laver's residence, where they themselves have been given accommodation in the meantime. All the river flats in East Kew are under water. One or two low-lying houses have been flooded. Chipperfield's boat shed at Willsmere is nearly covered, and some Chinese gardens in the vicinity are several feet under water."

Significance

This, and the other three photographs donated of floods in Kew are believed to be the earliest in the collection. Together with our original MMBW River Yarra map showing flood levels, these items, when compared allow researchers to gain a visual perspective of the extent of the flood in 1916.

Inscriptions & Markings

Inscription on reverse in pencil: "Flood River Yarra Kew Vic"

Magazine - The Australian Women's Weekly, March 10, 1954

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Single issue of the Australian Women's Weekly, published on March 10, 1954, picturing Queen Elizabeth II and the Australian Prime Minister, The Hon Robert Menzies, on the cover. This 63-page edition was published during the Royal tour of Australia. It contains photographs, articles, stories, letters, advertisements etc.

Optical Instrument - Opera Glasses & Case

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of brass and ivory opera glasses with a fitted brown suede carrying case, lined with blue silk. Donated by Dione McIntyre in 1995

Clothing - Chemisette, 1900s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Rectangular silk organza chemisette, with inset embroidered net at the front and at the neck. The free-form, multicoloured silk embroidery includes abstract flowers, fruit and leaves, and may be of Chinese origin. The camisole has five decorative mother-of-pearl buttons at the front and silk organza ties at the waist.

Case - Woman's Visiting Card Case, 19th century

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Nineteenth century silver, leather and silk woman's visiting card case, donated by M. Swanston MacDowell. The case has a tooled brown leather cover attached to a silver frame. The interior of the card case, used for visiting cards, is lined with maroon silk with brown leather pockets. The pocket on the left is embroidered in silk with a spray of flowers.

Historical information

Calling cards, also called visiting cards, visiting tickets, or compliments cards, originated in their paper and ink form in France in the 18th century and their popularity quickly spread across Europe and the United Kingdom. Victorian calling cards were large and could be extremely ornate, with the names usually printed instead of handwritten. Women's cards were squarish and fairly large, usually about 2.5 x 3 inches. Men's cards were smaller and more rectangular, meant to fit in a breast pocket, while women often carried their cards in specially made cases of silver, tortoiseshell, ivory, or mother-of-pearl. (Source: Claire Green: Calling Cards and Visiting Cards: A Brief History)

Inscriptions & Markings

On one of the interior leather pockets "Kew Historical Society" has been crudely inscribed in biro. A card placed in the item includes the words "Visiting Cards. M. Swanston MacDowell".

Optical Instrument - Telescope, circa 1880s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Brass, brown leather and glass telescope, anecdotally recorded as used by an early Kew family at sports days in the 1880s

Inscriptions & Markings

Separate later label: "Early telescope owned by a Kew family & used on Sports Day in 1880s"

Writing Equipment - Writing Case, 19th century

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Cylindrical leather case containing bottles for ink and sand, holders for pens, nibs, etc. Red leather lining. Ruler, bone-spreader, ivory and brass seal, and pen-holder included. Brass external clasps.

Historical information

Leather pen case, containing writing equipment, possibly used by early surveyor or draftsman

Periodical - Child Education : Summer Quarterly, 1958, Vol. 35 No. 7

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

20 page newsletter containing artwork and articles on the theme shipping and boats. Text on page 3 describes the subject of the issue as 'Around our Coasts'. This is amplified by the text as: "In preparation for the children's seaside holiday, descriptions and pictures of ships, boats and lighthouses, and their work are contained in this issue. Suggestions for handwork are also given. The wall picture [not included with this item] in full colour illustrates many different ships which the children might see at the seaside or on a river estuary."

Historical information

The Child's Education magazines were published for British teachers between 1924 and 2007 to help them plan activities for the season ahead. The internal pages contain a variety of lesson ideas in the form of a music, art or craft activities. This copy was donated to the Kew Historical Society's collection by the Preshil archives.

Significance

This 1958 periodical, sourced from the Preshil School. is interesting as it represents the continuing influence of English education and culture in the Australian curriculum in the late 1950s.

Map - Whitehead's Map of Victoria, With Alphabetical Key, 1869

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Map of Victoria with gold mining areas, notes on topography, transport routes. Relief shown by hachures. List of towns with distance from Melbourne in map margin.

Historical information

When E. Whitehead's New Map of Victoria was released in 1869, an advertisement in the Bendigo Advertiser (16 July 1869) noted that: "This beautifully engraved Map has been revised and brought down to the present time; and, with the Alphabetical Key, is the most complete and the cheapest Map ever published; Price, 6d plain; 1s colored; 2s 6d in case; on linen, post free, 2d extra. E.. WHITEHEAD and CO, Publishers, 67 Collins-street east." The following year, 1870, Whitehead's promoted the edition in the Portland Guardian and Normanby General Advertiser (3 January 1870), advising that: "WHITEHEAD'S NEW MAP OF VICTORIA, 1869 ... is corrected to the latest date, and around is arranged an Alphabetical Key, with Post Towns and Money Order Olffices marked. The Map being divided into squares and numbered, by reference to the Key any place can be found immediately. Price Is beautifully colored, or mounted on linen in case, 2s 6d. Post free, 2d extra, in Victoria. B. Whitehead and C0., Puolishers, 67 Collins-street East, Melbourne". In the same edition of the Portland Advertiser, they also promoted their business generally, saying: "E WHITEHEAD and Co., Stationers, Engravers, Lithographers, 67 Collins street East, execute every description of Lithographic PRINTING, BILL-HEADS. NOTE Headings. Business Dies Engraved and Embossed on Envelopes &c. ARMS, MONOGRAMS, AND CRESTS Engraved and Embossed in Colour, superior to any other house in the Colony. Specimens, post free, 2d. Lithographers, &c, to H.R.H. the Duke of Edinburgh, and Die-inkers and Embossers to His Excellency Sir J. H. T. Manners-Sutton, K C.B. Orders executed for the Trade".

Significance

Whitehead’s New Map of Victoria 1869 is is an important record of region created towards the end of the Victorian Gold Rush (1851-1869). In addition to its historical significance, this is a rare map, of which the only known copies in Australian public collections are those held at the National Library of Australia, the State Library of Victoria, State Library of New South Wales and the University of Queensland Library.

Clock - Wall Clock / by H. Newman

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Wood, enamel, brass and glass wall clock, the movement made by H Newman of Collins Street, Melbourne. A small label on the interior records the name R. Cronin, 156 High St, Kew, 1/7/20. It is unclear whether Cronin, a watchmaker and jeweller may have repaired or sold the clock.

Historical information

DEATH OF MR. H. NEWMAN. Widespread regret will be felt at the announcement of the death of Mr Henry Newman, an old colonist and a member of firm of Newman and Sons Proprietary Limited, jewellers, which occurred at his residence, "Sadova," William street, on Saturday, at the age of 89 years. Mr Newman who was born at Riga, in Russia, went to England when a lad, became naturalised, and emigrated to Victoria 61 years ago. He tried his fortune at Ballarat but soon afterwards returned to Melbourne, and began business as a jeweller, on a site in Collins street that is now occupied by Scott's Hotel. A few years later Mr Newman went back to England, where he was married. On his return to Victoria again he resumed his jewellery business in Elizabeth street opposite the General Post-office. An interesting fact in connection with his business is that his first journeyman watchmaker was Mr. Thomas Gaunt, the founder of the firm of Messrs. T. Gaunt & Co. Five years ago Mr. Newman retired from the business, which has since been carried on by his two elder sons. Although he took no active part in public affairs, Mr Newman was held in high regard on account of his business integrity, sterling personal worth. and the unostentatious way in which he did good. His vitality, even in his later years, was wonderful. On four occasions he met with accidents, having been twice knocked down by motorcars and twice by trams, without having sustained injury. A widow and grown up family of four sons and four daughters survive him. The Age Monday 27 October 1913, page 9. Roy Cronin 156 High Street Kew Jeweller and watchmaker. East side between Denmark Street and Cotham Road.

Furniture - Metal Drawers, 1930s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Depression-era homemade metal drawers in wooden case made from recycled kerosene tins.

Historical information

Made from recycled kerosene tins and the box they came in during the 1930s depression. Belonged to Salvation Army Brigadier Warren Trestrail. It proved to be very useful piece of furniture as the family moved around Australia. Used as a toolbox.

Lantern - Traffic Warning Lantern, City of Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

City of Kew warning lantern previously located in various streets and plant nursery

Historical information

Donated by the City of Kew

Lantern - Traffic Warning Lantern, City of Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

City of Kew warning lantern previously located in various streets and plant nursery

Historical information

Donated by the City of Kew

Lantern - Traffic Warning Lantern, City of Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

City of Kew warning lantern previously located in various streets and plant nursery

Historical information

Donated by the City of Kew

Plaque - Commemoration of the Opening of a Buillding in Kew by Sir Henry Bolte, 1969

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Metal alloy plaque commemorating the opening of a building by the Premier of Victoria, Sir Henry Bolte, on 10th December 1969

Inscriptions & Markings

This building was opened by the Honorable Sir Henry Bolte KCMG MLA, Premier of Victoria, on the 10th December 1969

Plaque - Commemorating Mooroolbeek, Kew (Vic), the home of Sir Frank Madden, circa 1968

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Bronze plaque commemorating the location of Mooroolbeek, one of the great mansions of Kew, demolished in 1965 by the Kindergarten Training College

Inscriptions & Markings

The original college building "Mooroolbeek" was the home of Sir Frank Madden Speaker of the Victorian Legislative Assembly from 1904-1917. The crest of the Madden family here inset was removed from "Mooroolbeek" when the building was demolished in 1968.

Plaque - Commemoration of the Free Kindergarten Union of Victoria, circa 1965

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Metal plaque commemorating the role of the Free Kindergarten Union of Victoria which had opened in 1916

Inscriptions & Markings

This plaque commemorates the pioneer work of the Free Kindergarten Union of Victoria in the field of teacher education, the Union established training for kindergarten teachers in Victoria in 1916, opened the college on this site in 1922, and granted it autonomy on 1965.

Plaque - Opening of the Library of the Kindergarten Training College, Kew, 1950

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Small brass plaque mounted on wood commemorating the libraries of the Kindergarten Training College in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

The library of the Kindergarten Training College in which are incorporated the Doretta Hedderwick Memorial 1927, the Dorothy Rosner Memorial 1936, the George Sweet Memorial Library - Presented by the Nursery Kindergarten Exrension Board 1950

Plaque - Opening of Mooroolbeek Hall, Kew, 1976

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Metal plaque commemorating the opening of Mooroolbeek Hall in the Diamond Jubilee Year of the Institute of Early Childhood Development in Kew

Inscriptions & Markings

Mooroolbeek Hall was opened by Dr Wm C. Radford, AO, MBE, Director of the Australian Council for Educational Research on March 25th 1976 in the Diamond Jubilee Year of the Institute for Early Childhood Development

Plaque - Centenary of Kew Council Meeting, 1960

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Metal plaque relating to special Council meeting to mark centenary of Kew, 13th December 1960. This plaque was given to the Kew Historical Society in 1991 by the former City of Kew.

Historical information

The Municipality of Kew was proclaimed on 19 December 1860, then upgraded to a Borough (1863), a Town (1910) and finally a City (1921). From 1865, its offices were based in the former Athenaeum Hall in Walpole Street, which, although extended in 1883, inevitably became inadequate. Plans for a new purpose-built Town Hall were first mooted in the late 1880s, but fell prey to six subsequent decades of debate. During that time, many sites were considered and rejected, and several schemes prepared. Finally, in 1945, it was resolved to build a new civic centre as a war memorial. The council acquired Southesk, a mansion on the south-west corner of Cotham Road and Charles Street – first mooted as a possible Town Hall site two decades earlier – and plans for a civic precinct were drawn up by John Scarborough. The project stalled until 1957, when a Town Hall Committee was formed and a new architect appointed: Harold Bartlett of Leith & Bartlett. He also proposed an entire civic precinct, of which a large public hall would constitute Stage One. Designed to accommodate almost any public or official function, the space had had a small stage at one end for intimate theatrical productions, a larger stage at the other (with operable sunken orchestra pit) for musical performances, plus the most up-to-date equipment for live TV transmission. The building, befitting its original intent as a war memorial, was also to include a sculpted monument, for which a separate design competition was held. First prize went to George H Allen (1900-1972), long-time head of the Sculpture Department at RMIT and a former war artist himself (the only one, in fact, to have worked in the medium of sculpture). At the time of the Kew project, Allen was best known for his Cenotaph at the Shrine of Remembrance (1955) and a controversial abstract sculpture at Hume House in William Street (1957). Tenders for the new hall were called and the contract (worth £104,986) was awarded to H F Yuncken. The foundation stone was laid by the Mayor, Cr F C O'Brien, on 1 June 1959. Completion (initially scheduled for October) was delayed by the unavailability of certain materials; it was barely finished in time for the official opening (by Premier Henry Bolte) on 23 April 1960. The war memorial was unveiled two days later (Anzac Day) by Bolte's deputy, the Hon A G Rylah. Fittingly, that year also marked Kew's municipal centenary, and many celebratory events were held in and around the new civic centre in December, including a special council meeting (attended by the Prime Minister), a tree planting ceremony and a youth ball. Source: Survey of Built Heritage in Victoria: Stage Two (Built Heritage Pty Ltd., 2010)

Inscriptions & Markings

A Special Meeting Of The / Kew City Council Was Held In / This Hall On 13th December 1960 / To Commemorate / The Centenary of Kew / Cr. W.H.S. Dickinson, M.B.E., J.P., / Mayor

Plaque - Opening of the Kew City Hall, 1960

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Metal plaque recording the official opening of the Kew City Hall, 23rd April 1960. This plaque was given to the Kew Historical Society in 1991 by the former City of Kew.

Historical information

The Municipality of Kew was proclaimed on 19 December 1860, then upgraded to a Borough (1863), a Town (1910) and finally a City (1921). From 1865, its offices were based in the former Athenaeum Hall in Walpole Street, which, although extended in 1883, inevitably became inadequate. Plans for a new purpose-built Town Hall were first mooted in the late 1880s, but fell prey to six subsequent decades of debate. During that time, many sites were considered and rejected, and several schemes prepared. Finally, in 1945, it was resolved to build a new civic centre as a war memorial. The council acquired Southesk, a mansion on the south-west corner of Cotham Road and Charles Street – first mooted as a possible Town Hall site two decades earlier – and plans for a civic precinct were drawn up by John Scarborough. The project stalled until 1957, when a Town Hall Committee was formed and a new architect appointed: Harold Bartlett of Leith & Bartlett. He also proposed an entire civic precinct, of which a large public hall would constitute Stage One. Designed to accommodate almost any public or official function, the space had had a small stage at one end for intimate theatrical productions, a larger stage at the other (with operable sunken orchestra pit) for musical performances, plus the most up-to-date equipment for live TV transmission. The building, befitting its original intent as a war memorial, was also to include a sculpted monument, for which a separate design competition was held. First prize went to George H Allen (1900-1972), long-time head of the Sculpture Department at RMIT and a former war artist himself (the only one, in fact, to have worked in the medium of sculpture). At the time of the Kew project, Allen was best known for his Cenotaph at the Shrine of Remembrance (1955) and a controversial abstract sculpture at Hume House in William Street (1957). Tenders for the new hall were called and the contract (worth £104,986) was awarded to H F Yuncken. The foundation stone was laid by the Mayor, Cr F C O'Brien, on 1 June 1959. Completion (initially scheduled for October) was delayed by the unavailability of certain materials; it was barely finished in time for the official opening (by Premier Henry Bolte) on 23 April 1960. The war memorial was unveiled two days later (Anzac Day) by Bolte's deputy, the Hon A G Rylah. Fittingly, that year also marked Kew's municipal centenary, and many celebratory events were held in and around the new civic centre in December, including a special council meeting (attended by the Prime Minister), a tree planting ceremony and a youth ball. Source: Survey of Built Heritage in Victoria: Stage Two (Built Heritage Pty Ltd., 2010)

Inscriptions & Markings

Kew City Hall / Opened by / The Hon. H.E. Bolte M.L.A. / Premier of Victoria / 23rd April 1960 / Cr. H.G. Ferguson J.P. - Mayor.

Hat - Silk & Velvet on Net / by Anne Harrison of Kew, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Cream and green silk floral hat on net designed by the Kew milliner Anne Harrison.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label: Anne Harrison of Kew, WA 9906

Document - Executor's Auction, Sunday 24th October 1931, "Goldthorns", Normanby Road, Corner of Argyle Road, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Four page flyer advertising the sale of Goldthorns in Normanby Road, Kew in October 1931. The flyer contains a photograph of the front of the house, a list of its rooms, a site plan (including possible subdivisions). and a photo of the rear garden.

Significance

Rare real estate brochure relating to the sale of a historically significant Kew mansion. The rarity is increased due to the photographs of the front of the house and the extensive rear garden.

Document - St Hilary's Parish Notes, No.70., March 1919

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

St Hilary's Church of England Parish Notes from 1919, which includes among other items of interest states that because of the risks of contagion during the influenza epidemic, parishioners are required to worship outside.

Significance

The Parish Notes are hsitorically interesting as they outline the various ways in which the Influenza Epidemic of 1919 had an impact on local communities.

Inscriptions & Markings

Written note on front page signed by the Rev Charles H Barnes and dated 16/3/19.

Manuscript - Account Book, Kew Lionesses, 1980-1984

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Green Collins Analysis Books 61 Series book used as an account book for the Lioness Club of Kew.

Book - 40 Years at the Methodist Ladies' College 1882-1921 / by W. H. Fitchett BA LLD

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

64 page illustrated history of MLC by Dr WH Fitchett

Magazine - Kew Primary School, 1980

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

32 page illustrated school magazine produced by Kew Primary School.

Manuscript - Scrapbook / compiled by or for Alick Kirkland Goulburn Gipps, 1930s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Hard cover, 50-page album covered in red cloth and red leather corners and spine, the latter embossed with the words 'SCRAP BOOK' in gilt lettering. On the inside front cover, top left is an oval green label with retailer information - "WEDDING CHRISTENING / R. E. PENN. / Bible Warehouse / 213 REGENT St / BIRTHDAY PRESENTS". The paper used for the pages are in alternating blue, cream and green-coloured sections. The front pages of the scrapbook include the signature of the owner as Alick Kirkland [Goulburn] Gipps (1928-2014). Items pasted into the scrapbook include black and white and coloured illustrations, photographs, and extracts from books. Items selected for the scrapbook fill a single page or are arranged in groups. The oldest items in the scrapbook appear to date from 1859 and include a colour cover of the Illustrated London Almanack and pictorial handbills of electoral results for the seat of Holmesdale and Filmer in Kent, England. While other items in the book are of later periods, most can be classified as sentimental Victorian-era illustrations. The biblical scenes in the scrapbook reflect one aspect of the values of the Gipps family. The focus in the album on material about or published in Great Britain also suggests a preoccupation with, and a valuing of, traditional British culture. This is confirmed by the memberships of Alick and his sister Rosemary (Gipps) Vaughan-Smith in the English-Speaking Union Club, for which they welcomed guests at an 'Elizabethan party and barbecue' during the Coronation festivities of June 1953. (The Age, 3 June 1953, page 5). The album entered the collection of the Kew Historical Society as part of the Raymond and Rosemary (Gipps) Vaughan-Smith donation.

Historical information

Alick Gipps (1928-2014) was the son of Richard Brook Woodthorpe Gipps (1872-1946) and Mary Alys Kirkland (1889-1981), and the older brother of Christopher David Gipps (1930-52) and Rosemary Alison Gipps (1930-2013). While many scrapbooks of the period were created by, and or added to by their child owners, it is believed that "scrapbooks were considered by later Victorian parents to be an educational tool to teach children how to organise and classify information and to develop their ‘artistic’ senses" (Margaret Simpson, MAAS, 2008), and that the scrapbooks may have been compiled by the parent, rather than the child.

Manuscript - Scrapbook

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Illustrated cloth bound, hard cover album used as a scrapbook. On the inside front cover the creator of the scrapbook is identified in 'scrap' lettering as "Aunt Gertrude" and that the recipients were "Raymond [&] Rosemary". Each of the 80 pages in the scrapbook includes pasted monochrome or colour printed illustrations and or texts. Typically, there is one design per page. Most of the material used in the scrapbook is undated, however dates may be deduced from the style of individual items. Some of the illustrations date from the 19th century while others are clearly from the first decades of the 20th century. A number of the items included have their publication date included in the design, including British soldiers in regimental uniform (1914), and covers of popular magazines such as Punch (1924). Many of the items include their original captions or the designer's name such as popular cartoons such as 'The Emergency Exit by W Heath Robinson, or 'Wheels and Squeals: A Study in Progress' by Alfred Leete. Illustrated advertisements for products such as 'O-Cedar Mop Polish', and magazine covers such as 'Passing Show' also provide opportunities for dating materials used in the book. In addition to the aforementioned types of material used, the scrapbook also contains sentimental, floral and religious illustrations, instructional educative materials, and patriotic content. The materials used would appear to be British in origin. Typical of many scrapbooks of the period, the album has a number of conservation-related issues, including foxing on some of the pages and illustrations. These may have resulted from the residue of sweat on fingers or from the glues used for pasting in some of the content.

Manuscript - Autographs / Mary Alys Kirkland, 1905-22

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Compiled between 1905 and 1922, the 'Autograph' book has considerable aesthetic coherence, even though drawings and text are by different hands. Together, it provides a vivid depiction of social life and values in Brisbane in the period preceding the First World War. Like other autograph albums of the period, it is a compilation of pen and ink sketches, watercolours, quotations, poems, aphorisms and signatures. Most entries are from Queensland, particularly Coorparoo in Brisbane; friends and acquaintances from other Australian States also contributed items. The autograph album predictably contains numerous mementoes of the notable and the forgotten. It includes the signatures of the British contralto Dame Clara Butt (1872-1936) her husband, the baritone R. H. Kennerley Rumford (1870-1957), and that of the Australian actress and singer Nellie Stewart (1858-1931).

Historical information

The owner of the 'Autograph' book was Mary Alys (Gipps) Kirkland, the daughter of Richard Brook Woodthorpe Gipps (c.1872-1946). The family had migrated from Great Britain to Coorparoo, Brisbane, where most of the items in the album were created. In June 1925, The [Brisbane] Telegraph reported the wedding of Richard Gipps to Mary Alys Kirkland at Elvaston, The Righi, South Yarra. The bride, like the groom, was originally from Queensland, but at the time of her marriage lived with her parents at 21 The Righi. The album passed to their daughter Rosemary Alison (Gipps) Vaughan-Smith, and thence by donation to the collection of the Kew Historical Society.

Significance

While the signatures are interesting, they are not rare. Rather it is the illustrations that dazzle with the surety of their design and execution. In the portraits, one can recognise the debt that Edwardian art and design owed to the Pre-Raphaelites whose serene and poised idealisations of women are exemplified in the drawings, albeit simplified for a new 20th century sensibility. Typical, is a very early portrait from 1906 of Mary Alys Kirkland by a 20-year-old Garnet Agnew (1886-1951). Agnew later became an illustrator for The Brisbane Courier and The Queenslander Illustrated Weekly, creating cover illustrations for these publications between 1926 and 1930. Another pen and ink portrait of Mary Alys Kirkland was created in 1910 by Augusta Frances Isabel Hobday (1884-1961). Augusta, with her brother and sister, Percy Stanhope Hobday and Gladys Hobday, were artists and teachers. Each was involved for many years in the Queensland Art Society. While the album has historic, aesthetic and social significance to Brisbane’s history, as a document, its preoccupations have a wider Australian relevance and importance.

Manuscript - Victorian Sketchbook / by Louisa Goulburn Thomas [et al], 1862

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

The large bound sketchbook has a marbled cover with blue binding. The name Louisa Goulburn Thomas and the date 1862 are faintly inscribed in pencil on the front page. However the book contains pen and ink and pencil drawings, watercolours, and photographs, which both predate and postdate 1862. The approximately 75 works are loose-leafed items and [currently] do not form a chronological, geographical or thematic sequence. Creators identified on some drawings and watercolours include Mary Julia Wilder Thomas, JFV Wright, ELG (Edward Louis de Bondell Gipps?), L Nicholson, Bertha Isadore Thomas, and HG (Henry Gipps?). Many of the works are signed and dated, and include rural landscapes and seascapes, archaeological sites, animal studies, and portraits. While most of the works were created in the British Isles, others are scenes of Venice, the Ionian Islands, Cape Town, Hong Kong and Japan. [A number of the ‘oriental’ paintings on silk were probably purchased from local artists.] The art works in the book are at various stages of completion and represent a diverse range of artistic skills. What may be the earliest work in the sketchbook is a drawing of three uniformed soldiers. An annotation on the reverse records that the drawing is of a Group of Soldiers after [Philipp Jakob] de Southerbourg 1830. The birth of Louisa Thomas' oldest son, William Henry Houston Meyrick Gipps (1864-1903) in Corfu perhaps explains why a number of scenes and items in the album are of the Ionian Islands. Louisa is probably the creator of a number of still life and botanical studies in the album. These range from floral studies to a bird’s nest. The painting of objects was to remain a socially ‘approved’ specialty of amateur and professional women artists into the 20th century. The complete contents of the album will be uploaded to accompany this record. Some items may be published separately on Victorian Collections, but will acknowledge their origins in the sketchbook.

Historical information

Louisa Thomas married Henry Gipps (1837-91)in 1863. They had six sons and two daughters. While Louisa and Henry Gipps were to die in Sussex, two of their sons, Frederick George De Visme Gipps (1867-1953) and Richard Brook Woodthorpe Gipps (c.1872-1946) migrated to Queensland, possibly bringing with them their mother’s sketchbook.

Significance

The collection of artworks that are included in the sketchbook are often of outstanding aesthetic and artistic significance. In the variety of subject matter and the geographical places represented, it is historically significant as a document recording the postings of Colonel Henry Gipps, 9th Norfolk Regiment, and his wife Louisa to locations in the Mediterranean and West Asia.

Book - The Artists of Kew / by Elizabeth Mackie, 1981

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Self-published book by Elizabeth Mackie, member of Kew Historical Society Inc, listing and describing the 'Artists of Kew'.

Hat - Faux Leopard Skin Hat / by Anne Harrison of Kew, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Faux leopard skin brimmed hat, lined in black, trimmed with two pom poms at back. Designed and made by milliner Anne Harrison of Kew. Anne Harrison designed hats to order for clients, or you could choose a style and have it trimmed to taste.

Historical information

This hat was purchased and worn by Kathleen Gervasoni, a long-term resident and former Mayoress of Kew.

Significance

Anne Harrison was a designer and retailer in Kew with a shop initially in High Street and later at Princess Street, Kew. A milliner by trade, her hats are held in national collections.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label, inside centre crown, woven in black on white polyester: "WM 9906 / Anne Harrison OF KEW"

Hat - Maroon Velvet Hat / by Anne Harrison of Kew, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

High crowned, taffeta lined, maroon velvet hat, designed and made by Anne Harrison of Kew. The hat features a narrow stiffened peak of the same fabric at the front and highlighting at the rear of the peak and on the crown in pale pink grosgrain braid. The back of the hat features grosgrain pink braid.

Historical information

This hat was worn by Kathleen Gervasoni, long term resident and former Mayoress of Kew, who purchased it from Anne Harrison.

Significance

Anne Harrison was a designer and retailer in Kew with a shop initially in High Street and later at Princess Street, Kew. A milliner by trade, her hats are held in national collections. This hat was purchased and worn by Kathleen Gervasoni, a long-term resident and former Mayoress of Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label, inside centre crown, woven in black on white polyester: *WM 9906 /Anne linHarrison OF KEW"

Hat - Wool Felt & Jersey Hat / by Ann Austin of Melbourne, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

High crowned hat made of burgundy felt with decorative pink jersey turban folds attached to the side by clusters of pink beads. The hat was designed by Thelma Prentice of the ' Austin of Melbourne' millinery house.

Historical information

Ann Austin of Melbourne was the name of a Melbourne millinery house. Thelma Prentice was one of the partners in the house, and the chief designer/milliner. Very little information about the millinery house and the milliner are available online but there is an interesting article, published in the Brisbane Courier Mail on 8 October 1949 which describes the influence of French style on fashion and design in Australia. The article by Lucy Gough recounts the views of Thelma Prentice who had just returned from the Paris fashion shows. "Australian millinery toes line with Paris From LUCY GOUGH LONDON, October 7 (Special) Australian hats can compare very favourably with those designed in Paris, and are considerably cheaper, says Miss Thelma Prentice, partner in a well-known Melbourne millinery firm, who has just completed six months' visit to England and the Continent. An ordinary hat, Miss Prentice said, would cost at least £15 from any of the top Paris houses. Australia could achieve the same effect for a lot less money. Miss Prentice went to all the Important dress shows as well as the millinery houses in Paris, because she believes that millinery is an accessory to fashion and to obtain the best idea of new trends hats must be shown with frocks to get a complete follow-through and tie-up between the two. At their packed shows, with standing room only, Path and Dior were selling hats they designed, faster than many well known Paris millinery houses, Fath's favourite line was the becoming 'wing treatment,' which he achieved by a profile flattering side swing of material jutting out almost 10 inches from the face. This was completely different to the side drape already seen in Australia. Dior, as a direct contrast, was specialising in skull hats, which almost followed the hair line, to show very little hair at the back of the head. His cocktail hats were heavily sequinned and beaded. Every model was designed exclusively for short hair, and Miss Prentice, whose own hair is beautifully short cut by a Paris hairdresser, said that French mannequins' hair was so abbreviated at the back it was almost a semi-shingle. Hats generally she found were plain, with sharply angled self trimming, and black one of the most popular colours." The hat was donated by Kathleen Gervasoni, a resident of Kew, and during the 1970s a Mayoress of the former City of Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label, inside centre crown, woven in black on white polyester: *ann austin / OF MELBOURNE

Hat - Brown Straw Hat / a Calvert Model, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

High crowned brown straw hat with a downward sloping rim. The design includes brown ribbon at the base of the crown. A label on the inside back rim identifiies the hat as "a Calvert Model".

Historical information

"Calvert Model" hats were designed by Frank Tisdale. A Government Gazette of the State of New South Wales on Friday 7 September 1973 (No.117), page 3941, recorded that: "CALVERT MILLINERY PTY LIMITED (In Liquidation), formerly trading as Frank S. Tisdale.—A first and final dividend is intended to be declared in the above matter. If persons claiming to be creditors have not proved their debts or had their debts admitted by the liquidator by 24th September, 1973, they will be excluded from this dividend.—Dated this 3rd day of September, 1973. P. J. WOODWARD, Liquidator, 32 York Street, Sydney." Therefore the hat must predate 1973, and given that it is in the style favoured by the actress Audrey Hepburn (the style of the hat has been called an "Audrey") the hat probably dates to the 1960s.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label: "a Calvert Model"

Costume - Suede Skirt / By Prue Acton, 1971

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A-line suede leather midi-length skirt featuring "bull's eye" and zig-zag appliques at hemline. Skirt is black coloured.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label inside back waistband: Prue Acton/ AUSTRALIA

Costume - Outfit : Pink Silk Dress & Coat / by Ecstasy, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Two-piece pink silk outfit comprised of a round necked, knee length dress and plain matching silk coat. The dress is scalloped at the wist and bordered with pink glass beads. The dress has the label “Ecstasy Creation : a fine fabric”.

Inscriptions & Markings

“Ecstasy Creation : a fine fabric”.

Book - M.F.B Appliances and Vehicles of the Metropolitan Fire Brigade Melbourne 1891-1920 / produced by Photographic and Research Group of the Fire Services Museum of Victoria

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

94 pages : illustrations (some colour) ; 21 x 30 cm.

Costume - Petticoat : White Cotton, Lace, 1870-1880

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

White cotton petticoat with bands of inserts of lace, donated with the white cotton day dress. Probably of Tasmanian origin, like the dress, the petticoat was donated by a local Kew resident.

Inscriptions & Markings

Nil

Costume - Cape : Black Silk Taffeta, Guipure Lace, 1895-1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Late Victorian black silk taffeta cape featuring extensive use of high quality guipure lace on the front and at the back. While the lace is in excellent condition, there is extensive splitting of the silk fabric. The cape was owned by one of the donor's maternal ancestors.

Costume - Bodice, Silk, 1900-1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Late Victorian black cotton bodice with narrow sleeves. The creator of the bodice has made extensive use of beading at the front and on the sleeves. The bodice is unusual in that it includes an overlay at the front of black sequined tulle over a cream silk insert. The bodice has a black velvet waistband. The edging of the bodice includes pin tucking. Two long 'swallow tails' of lace (sic) hang from the neck of the bodice at the front. The bodice was owned by one of the donor's maternal ancestors.

Costume - Cape : Black Silk, Jet, 1895-1900

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Late Victorian black watered silk cape with a wide border of machine made lace. The cape is extensively adorned with beads of black jet. Two long pieces of black lace fall from the neck at centre front. The cape was owned by one of the donor's maternal ancestors.

Costume - Dress : Bodice & Skirt, 1895-1900

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Late Victorian black silk damask outfit comprising a flared skirt and a short bodice. The high necked bodice reflects changing fashions at the turn of the 20th Century in that the silk fabric on the bosom is lightly gathered. The sleeves are pleated at the elbow. The skirt is lined with a black cotton lining. The neckline of the bodice includes a narrow band of pale cream lace. The outfit was owned by one of the donor's maternal ancestors.

Costume - Skirt, Black Cotton, 1890-1900

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Late Victorian long black cotton skirt with a short pleated frill at the hemline. The skirt is lined with a thick brown cotton fabric. It is joined with steel hooks and eyes. The skirt is slightly longer at the back. The skirt was owned by one of the donor's maternal ancestors.

Footwear - Red Leather Shoes / by Footrest, Australia

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of red leather women’s shoes by Footrest, Australia

Inscriptions & Markings

Footrest / Australia / 7 1/2 B

Footwear - Yellow Leather Shoes / by Magnini Elegance

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of lime yellow leather women’s shoes. A label on the upper states that the shoes are part of the Magnini Elegance collection or style.

Inscriptions & Markings

Magnini Elegance Leather Upper / Synthetic lining / Leather sole / Made in Malaysia

Footwear - Green Leather Shoes / by Footrest, Australia

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of dark green leather women’s shoes with a green fabric bow at the front, manufactured by Footrest, Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

Footrest, Australia. Made by Footrest /Leather Uppers Linings & Soles

Footwear - Red Leather Shoes / by Jane

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of sling back, red leather women’s shoes designed by ‘Jane’.

Footwear - Leather Court Shoes / by Mario Valentino, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of leather women’s court shoes, manufactured by Mario Valentino of Italy. The yellow leather shoes have a cream leather insole and decorative white leather bows with black polka dots.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label: "MARIO VALENTINO / MADE IN ITALY"

Footwear - Red, White & Blue Shoes / by Vince

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of sling back open toed women’s shoes in bands of red, white and blue by ‘Vince’.

Footwear - Beige Leather Shoes / by Pedro Garcia, Espana

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of beige leather women’s shoes by Pedro Garcia, Espana

Footwear - Leather Court Shoes / by Paragon, 1960s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two-tone cream leather and beige suede women’s court shoes with beige leather insoles by Paragon Shoes.

Inscriptions & Markings

Paragon / 49274 / 7 1/2

Footwear - Two Tone Leather Shoes / by Jane (JW)

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two-tone mid and dark brown leather shoes with the designer name ‘JW Jane’ on the upper.

Inscriptions & Markings

JW Jane

Footwear - Two Tone Leather Shoes / by Pedro Garcia, Espana

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two tone beige and brown leather women’s shoes designed by Pedro Garcia of Spain

Inscriptions & Markings

Pedro Garcia / ESPANA Pedro Garcia / Made in Spain

Footwear - Taupe Leather Shoes / by Taranto (Opat)

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of taupe leather, round-toed women’s shoes highlighted at the front with a narrow band of brown leather. Taranto is identified as the style and the designer/manufacturer name of Opat are embossed on the upper in gold lettering.

Inscriptions & Markings

Taranto by Opat / Made by Opat Bros P/L / All leather sole

Footwear - Beige Leather Shoes / by Ramirez

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of Italian beige leather women’s shoes designed by Ramirez

Inscriptions & Markings

All leather upper back sole and lining

Footwear - Brown Leather Shoes / by Yves Saint Laurent

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of brown leather women’s shoes with deep tan leather uppers, designed by Yves Saint Laurent, Paris.

Footwear - Platform Shoes / by MOYA [sic]

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of wide shaped and heeled women’s platform shoes designed in shades of brown, red and ochre. The designer name on the upper is MOYA (sic)

Footwear - Beige Leather Shoes / by Foot Rest (Clark)

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of sling back open-toed beige leather women’s shoes manufactured by Clark under the Foot Rest label.

Inscriptions & Markings

5 1/2 C / Foot Rest

Footwear - Two-Tone Leather & Suede Shoes / by Paragon

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two toned brown leather and suede women’s shoes designed and made in Australia by Paragon. The label identifies the Paragon range as Belle Chasseur - Jessica.

Inscriptions & Markings

Genuine leather 7 1/2 B

Footwear - Silver Leather Shoes / by Paragini

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of chisel-toed silver leather evening shoes by Paragini, featuring a decorative gold metal link at the front.

Inscriptions & Markings

Paragini 7 1/2 Paragini / Synthetic Upper / Synthetic lining / Synthetic Sole / Made in China

Footwear - Silver Leather Shoes / by Charles Jourdan, Paris

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of silver leather women’s shoes with two glass studded buttons at the front. The shoes were designed by Charles Jourdan of Paris expressly for Georges, Collins Street, Melbourne

Footwear - Silver Leather Shoes / by Footrest

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of silver leather women’s evening shoes with silver leather bows at the front. Manufactured by Footrest shoes.

Inscriptions & Markings

Made by Footrest / Leather Uppers / Linings / and / Soles

Footwear - Silver Leather Shoes / Madeleine by Dazzler

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of sling back, silver open toed shoes with a contrasting black leather upper. Made under license from a United States designer.

Inscriptions & Markings

DAZZLER / Made under USA License / Madeleine / the fashion shoe

Footwear - Gold Leather Shoes / by Sophia Couture

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of sling back round toed gold leather shoes with wedge shaped heels. The shoes were marketed by Sophia Couture.

Inscriptions & Markings

SOPHIA / COUTURE

Footwear - Gold Leather Shoes / by Bruno

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of gold leather sling back women’s shoes featuring open toes, made by Bruno

Inscriptions & Markings

BRUNO / Whispers / Whispers ???? Whispers / Resin Sole / 6 B

Footwear - Silver Leather Shoes / by Sherry

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of open toed women’s shoes in silver leather. The name of the shoe and the designer is embossed on the brown leather upper as “Evening Star / Made by Sherry”

Inscriptions & Markings

Angel Albert / Made in Spain; Made in Spain for Myer

Footwear - Gold Leather Shoes / by Angel Albert

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of open-toed women’s shoes made of gold coloured leather. The sling back high heel shoes identify Angel Albert as the designer on the brown leather upper and state that they were made in Spain for Myer.

Inscriptions & Markings

Angel Albert / Made in Spain; Made in Spain for Myer

Footwear - Black Leather & Velvet Shoes / by Ruies of Launceston

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black leather women’s shoes with black velvet bows, retailed by Ruies of Launceston

Inscriptions & Markings

Exclusive to / Ruies of Launceston

Footwear - Black & Gold Leather Shoes / by Paragon

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of open-toed women’s fashion shoes made of black leather with gold edging. The sling back shoes feature a narrow stiletto heel. The shoes were designed and manufactured by Paragon of Melbourne

Inscriptions & Markings

Belle Chasseur / PARAGON / REMI / Made in Australia Genuine Leather 8B

Footwear - Beige Mesh & Leather Shoes / by Hutchings

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of beige mesh shoes with crisscrossing bands of cream leather. The sling back shoes have a narrow high heels. The shoes were made by Hutchings

Inscriptions & Markings

Hutchings / MODEL / … and a joy to wear.

Footwear - Beige Leather Shoes / Made in Italy

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of beige women’s leather shoes with stiletto heels and with brown bows on the toes, designed and manufactured in Italy.

Footwear - Black Leather Shoes

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black leather high-heeled shoes with pointed toes. There is no maker mark on the upper or the sole.

Footwear - Black Suede Shoes / by Bruno Magli

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black suede women’s shoes with a cream leather lining on which is stamped in gold lettering Bruno Magli. The Italian designed shoes were retailed by retailed by M.C. Hermann.

Inscriptions & Markings

BRUNO MAGLI / Made in Italy / Exclusive for M.C. Hermann

Footwear - Two Tone Shoes / by Urminati

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of open-toed, sling-back two-tone red and white women's shoes. Stamped on the red partial upper is the Italian designer’s name, Urbinati.

Inscriptions & Markings

URBINATI / Made in Italy VERO / CUOIO / Made in Italy / 38 1/2

Footwear - Black Leather Shoes / by Schumacher

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black leather shoes, with high stilettos heels and a narrow pointed toes, designed by Schumacher of Collins Street, Melbourne.

Inscriptions & Markings

Schumacher / 296 (sic) Collins Street / Melbourne

Footwear - Gold Leather Shoes / by Weschel, Paris

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of gold leather women’s shoes with stiletto heels. Stamped in gold on the dark leather lining in gilt is the name of the designer, Weschell of Paris. On the other lining the name Ottrey’s is stamped.

Inscriptions & Markings

Weschell Paris / Parisian designed. Ottrey’s.

Footwear - Navy Leather Shoes / by Andre

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of leather navy women’s shoes designed by Andre. The shoes have small leather bows at the front.

Inscriptions & Markings

ANDRE / A / Genuine Leather All leather / Upper & Sole / Leather Lining / Made in China

Footwear - Black Suede Shoes / by Bally

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black suede (sic) women’s designed by Bally, England and retailed expressly for Georges, Collins Street, Melbourne

Inscriptions & Markings

BALLY / England / Expressly for Georges, Collins Street, Melbourne

Footwear - Two Tone Shoes / by Paragon

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two-toned navy and cream shoes by Paragon. The shoes are from the Parisienne range.

Inscriptions & Markings

Paragon / Parisienne

Footwear - Navy Leather Shoes / by Footrest, Australia

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Navy leather women’s shoes retailed by Footrest Australia

Footwear - Black Leather Shoes / by Giusti of Florence

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black leather women’s shoes, the leather crossed at the front and with a sling-back strap. A small label on the beige leather upper identifies the shoes as Italian and designed by Giusti of Florence.

Inscriptions & Markings

GIUSTI / disegnato / a Firenze

Footwear - Black Shoes / by IMPO

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black simulated reptile skin shoes designed by IMPO

Footwear - Two-Tone Shoes / by Bruno Magli

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of two tone, navy and beige women’s shoes by Bruno Magli, retailed by Hermann.

Inscriptions & Markings

BRUNO MAGLI / MADE IN ITALY / EXCLUSIVE TO HERMANN

Footwear - Black Shoes / by Paragon

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black evening shoes by Paragon. The brown leather insole is embossed with the name Para[gon].

Footwear - Leather Dance Shoes / by Paul Wright

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Soft, black flat-soled leather women’s dance shoes, made by Paul Wright. The shoes form part of the McIntyre family collection, donated by Dione McIntyre

Footwear - Gold Weave Shoes / by Roberto Cavalli

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of flat soled evening shoes, the upper made of gold thread in an open weave, designed by Roberto Cavalli.

Footwear - White Leather Shoes / by Mescher of Paris

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of off white leather shoes with rounded toes and a sling-back buckled strap. The shoes have a brown insole on which is embossed in gold print Mescher Paris.

Inscriptions & Markings

Made by M. Faris / All leather sole

Object - Wood & Metal Shoe Stretcher

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Wood and metal shoe stretcher.

Footwear - Black Rubber Overshoes / by Flarta

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of black rubber overshoes, owned and worn by Dione McIntyre. The Flarta shoes protected vulnerable shoes from mud or rain. The shoes form part of the McIntyre family collection, donated by Dione McIntyre

Footwear - Black Satin & Velvet Shoes / by Enrico Coveri, 1985

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black satin and velvet evening shoes, by Enrico Coveri. The shoes were purchased by Annie McIntyre and worn with her Martin Grant outfit in 1985 at her 21st birthday party. The shoes form part of the McIntyre family collection, donated by Dione McIntyre and her daughter Annie McIntyre.

Footwear - Pink Leather Court Shoes / by Tony Bianco

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of pink leather women’s court shoes with a black insole on which Tony Bianco, the designer’s name is embossed.

Object - Commemorative Trowel in Presentation Box, 1971 & 1982

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Commemorative, inscribed silver-plated presentation trowel given by the City of Kew to the Mayor, Cr Ivan Wade, on the occasion of the laying of the foundation stone of the new Kew Civic Centre on the corner of Cotham Road and Charles Street, now part of Trinity Grammar School. The silver trowel was presented in a black leather case lined with blue velvet. The trowel was to be used a second time in 1982 when Cr Wade and his wife laid the foundation stone of Hamer Court. The trowel was later donated to Kew Historical Society Inc by Gwlad Wade, the wife of Cr Ivan Wade, on 20 August 2000.

Historical information

WADE, Ivan Mayor 1969-70, 1970-71 Ivan Wade grew up in Bendigo and Brunswick, one of eight children. After his marriage, he moved with his wife and young family to Kew in 1951. In 1959, he took a year’s sabbatical in 1959 to build a new family home for his wife and four children at 222 Cotham Road, Kew. He worked professionally in the Meat Industry, successfully building a small chain of retail butcher shops, and a meat exporting business. He worked for improvements in the Trade through involvement in the Meat and Allied Trades Federation, of which he was the first State, and then Federal President. He was to be awarded an OBE for his services to the Meat Industry in 1979. Having been a long-time member of Melbourne Lions Club, he helped start Chadstone Lions’ Club as an inaugural tenant of the Chadstone Shopping Centre in 1979. He was also a tireless worker for charity, making his home available for functions raising funds for local groups. His passion for the community led him to stand for Kew Council as a representative of College Ward. As a councillor, he was elected mayor for two terms. During his term of office, new Kew Municipal Offices were constructed in Cotham Road. An active worker for the Kew Elder Citizens Association, he was involved in the establishment of an Opportunity Shop in Walpole Street to raise funds for the development of a new Centre in High Street. The Opportunity Shop was used to train locally unemployed youth skills such as furniture repair. (GW)

Inscriptions & Markings

Front: "Presented to Cr Wade J.P. / Mayor of / the City of Kew / at the laying of the / foundation stone / of the / Kew Civic Centre /20-8-1971." Reverse: This trowel was also used / by / Cr Ivan Wade OBE JP & Mrs Gwlad Wade / at the laying / of the foundation stone / of / "Hamer Court" / Hostel for the Aged / 22nd August 1982"

Sound Recording - City of Kew 1860-1960: Centenary Addresses / by The Right Hon RG Menzies & Cr WHS Dickinson, 1960

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

City of Kew Centenary 1860-1960 Speeches by The Hon RG Menzies, MHR for Kew, and Cr WHS Dickinson, Mayor of Kew. Recorded on 13th December 1960 at the Kew City Hall 34 minutes 29 seconds From the archives of the Kew Historical Society Inc Copyright Kew Historical Society Inc Timings 00.14-17.00 The Right Hon RG Menzies MHR 17.07-32.33 Cr. WHS Dickinson 32.38-33.10 The Right Hon RG Menzies MHR 33.30-33.50 Cr. WHS Dickinson 33.51-34.25 Song - 'For He's a Jolly Good Fellow'

Historical information

The Centenary commemoration of the City of Kew was held in the new Kew City Hall, and attended by invited guests, including the Australian Prime Minister, The Right Hon. RG Menzies, MHR for Kew; Arthur Rylah; and the Mayor, Cr WHS Dickinson.

Significance

This reel-to-reel tape, now digitised, is both rare (ie unique) and historically significant. While the recording clearly has local significance, it is also of national and international significance due to the content of the Prime Minister's address. The focus of his speech is the nature of Australian democracy and its strengths, deriving from universal suffrage and the acceptance of democratic values by the Australian population, gained through historic participation in democracy at local, state and federal levels. RG Menzies mounts a strong case for each level of government having value in the development of Australian democracy. He also describes the emerging democracies of Africa in the period following decolonisation, and suggests that the success of these countries is dependent on democratic institutions not being imposed from above by colonial powers.

Inscriptions & Markings

Label on original box

Bicycle - Kew Flyer, Women's Roadster, circa 1920

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Kew Flyer Women's Roadster ca 1920, donated to the Kew Historical Society by John Wyatt in 2017. Original paint work and logo on the loop frame in navy blue, blue and gold, featuring Egyptian influences in the painted design . The rubber sprung saddle was made by Dunlop and has a serial number on a plate at the rear. The loop frame is original. Most of the cycle, on an initial evaluation following the donation were judged to be original, but with the addition of a later mudguard, reflector and chain guard. These have now been removed.

Historical information

In 1903, an article in the Box Hill 'Reporter' noted that the Kew Flyer Cycle business had been started in 1893 by Harry F. Cooper, and that he was "the oldest cycle maker in the district". By 1903, the Kew Flyer business was located at 8 (later 14) Cotham Road where it was to remain an institution until its closure. In 1910, W.D. Vaughan, in his 'Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria' wrote that: "Several cycling clubs have been born and died, suffering chiefly from the migration of the leading spirits in the organisations, but since 1900 the ‘Kew Flyer’ road race, instituted by Mr. H. F. Cooper, has been the cycling event of the year among local riders. It is run on the White Horse Road at Blackburn." Early newspaper reports recorded the distance of the race as initially 10 miles but by 1906, the event extended to 15 miles, starting from the Travellers' Rest Hotel in Blackburn. Cooper's Kew Flyer business in Cotham Road introduced new technologies and models throughout its 56-years of operation. By 1908, it was claimed that the shop had been enlarged with new "workshops and [the] latest lathes and cycle building tools. [it] Is now one of the most up-to-date Cycle Works in Victoria". By the First World War, Cooper had expanded his business to include motorbikes with "Precision Engines". The Kew Flyer business and the annual road races continued through the War, even though a number of its staff left for the front. One of these was [Pte] Robert Charles Field Richardson, who joined the 6th Battalion, fought and was wounded at Gallipoli, and died of wounds in Alexandria, Egypt in 1915. In 1917, the death of Private H.S. Herbert was announced. He had been the winner of the Kew Flyer Cycle Road Race in 1913. He died in action in France, having fought at Gallipoli and at the Battle of Pozieres. The majority of bicycles advertised by Cooper were designed for men, although bikes for women and 'juveniles' were advertised as early as 1918, so they were probably manufactured throughout the period. Harry Cooper was to sell his Kew Flyer business in 1936, after 39 years of trading. The business he began continued until 1949.

Significance

This is an historically significant and rare 1920s Kew Flyer Cycle in intact condition, with most of the original paintwork preserved on the frame. Harry F Cooper, who was the manufacturer of the cycle had a retail business and a factory in Kew. He promoted the Kew Flyer Road Race which was the most important trader-run cycle event in Victoria from 1900 to his retirement in 1936.

Inscriptions & Markings

Kew Flyer

Photograph - Kew Flyer Team, circa 1912-13

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Photograph, the second of two, from an earlier album photograph of the Kew Flyer Team in uniform with trainers and workers of the company. One of the men in the photograph is probably Harry F. Cooper, the proprietor of the Kew Flyer business in Cotham Road, Kew. Harry Cooper was the sponsor of one of the best known and oldest trader cycle races in Melbourne. The photograph remained in the possession of the Rogers family until its donation to the Society by John Rogers in 2015.

Historical information

In 1903, an article in the Box Hill 'Reporter' noted that the Kew Flyer Cycle business had been started in 1893 by Harry F. Cooper, who was "the oldest cycle maker in the district". By 1903, the Kew Flyer business was located at 8 (later 14) Cotham Road where it was to remain an institution until its closure. Seven years later, W.D. Vaughan, in his 'Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria' (1910) wrote that: "Several cycling clubs have been born and died, suffering chiefly from the migration of the leading spirits in the organisations, but since 1900 the ‘Kew Flyer’ road race, instituted by Mr. H. F. Cooper, has been the cycling event of the year among local riders. It is run on the White Horse Road at Blackburn." Early newspaper reports record that distance of the Race was initially 10 miles but by 1906, the event was 15 miles, starting from the Travellers' Rest Hotel in Blackburn. Cooper's Kew Flyer business in Cotham Road introduced new technologies and models throughout its 56-years of operation. By 1908, it was claimed that the shop had been enlarged with new "workshops and [the] latest lathes and cycle building tools. [It] Is now one of the most up-to-date Cycle Works in Victoria". By the First World War, Cooper had expanded his business to include motorbikes with "Precision Engines". The Kew Flyer business and the annual road races continued through the War, even though a number of its staff left for the front. One of these was [Pte] Robert Charles Field Richardson, who joined the 6th Battalion, fought and was wounded at Gallipoli, and died of his wounds in a hospital in Alexandria, Egypt in 1915. In 1917, the death of Private H.S. Herbert was announced. He had been the winner of the Kew Flyer Cycle Road Race in 1913. He died in action in France, having fought at Gallipoli and in France at the Battle of Pozieres. The majority of bicycles advertised by Cooper were designed for men, although bikes for women and 'juveniles' were advertised as early as 1918, so they were probably manufactured throughout the period. Harry Cooper was to sell his Kew Flyer business in 1936, after 39 years of trading. The business he began continued until 1949.

Significance

This is a very rare image [the location of the original is now unknown] of a Kew Flyer team. The photo was sourced and remained in the possession of the historian Dorothy Rogers, whose brother was an early member of staff in the firm. The photo is historically significant as it is the only known photograph of a Kew Flyer Team, and possibly the only known photo of Harry F. Cooper, the founder of the firm and a key figure in Victorian cycling history.

Inscriptions & Markings

Handwritten annotation by the historian Dorothy Rogers on reverse: "Kew Flyer Team from very old photo".

Photograph - Kew Flyer Team, circa 1912-13

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Photograph, the first of two, of an earlier album photograph of the Kew Flyer Team in uniform with trainers and workers of the company. One of the men in the photograph is probably Harry Cooper, the proprietor of the Kew Flyer business in Cotham Road, Kew. Harry Cooper was the sponsor of one of the best known trader cycle races in Melbourne. The photograph remained in the possession of the Rogers family until its donation to the Society by John Rogers in 2015.

Historical information

In 1903, an article in the Box Hill 'Reporter' noted that the Kew Flyer Cycle business had been started in 1893 by Harry F. Cooper, who was "the oldest cycle maker in the district". By 1903, the Kew Flyer business was located at 8 (later 14) Cotham Road where it was to remain an institution until its closure. Seven years later, W.D. Vaughan, in his 'Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria' (1910) wrote that: "Several cycling clubs have been born and died, suffering chiefly from the migration of the leading spirits in the organisations, but since 1900 the ‘Kew Flyer’ road race, instituted by Mr. H. F. Cooper, has been the cycling event of the year among local riders. It is run on the White Horse Road at Blackburn." Early newspaper reports record that distance of the Race was initially 10 miles but by 1906, the event was 15 miles, starting from the Travellers' Rest Hotel in Blackburn. Cooper's Kew Flyer business in Cotham Road introduced new technologies and models throughout its 56-years of operation. By 1908, it was claimed that the shop had been enlarged with new "workshops and [the] latest lathes and cycle building tools. [It] Is now one of the most up-to-date Cycle Works in Victoria". By the First World War, Cooper had expanded his business to include motorbikes with "Precision Engines". The Kew Flyer business and the annual road races continued through the War, even though a number of its staff left for the front. One of these was [Pte] Robert Charles Field Richardson, who joined the 6th Battalion, fought and was wounded at Gallipoli, and died of his wounds in a hospital in Alexandria, Egypt in 1915. In 1917, the death of Private H.S. Herbert was announced. He had been the winner of the Kew Flyer Cycle Road Race in 1913. He died in action in France, having fought at Gallipoli and in France at the Battle of Pozieres. The majority of bicycles advertised by Cooper were designed for men, although bikes for women and 'juveniles' were advertised as early as 1918, so they were probably manufactured throughout the period. Harry Cooper was to sell his Kew Flyer business in 1936, after 39 years of trading. The business he began continued until 1949.

Significance

This is a very rare image [the location of the original is now unknown] of a Kew Flyer team. The photo was sourced and remained in the possession of the historian Dorothy Rogers, whose brother was an early member of staff in the firm. The photo is historically significant as it is the only known photograph of a Kew Flyer Team, and possibly the only known photo of Harry F. Cooper, the founder of the firm and a key figure in Victorian cycling history.

Inscriptions & Markings

Handwritten annotation by the historian Dorothy Rogers on reverse: "Kew Flyer Team about 1912-13. Coopers Cycle Shop Cotham Rd opp. Kew Post Office".

Archive File - Action Groups [General], 1993-2012

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Sundry newspaper articles and correspondence relating to action groups established to protect Victoria Park, High Street, and Willsmere-Chandler Park.

Clothing - Scarf : Black Chiffon with Multicoloured Silk Embroidery, 1920s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Very long, doubled chiffon evening scarf with a silk tassle at one end and multicoloured hand embroidered flowers at the other. The scarf was owned by Edith Mary Weir.

Historical information

An item forming part of a collection of costumes, photographs and documents relating to the Weir family who lived in the mansion originally named Illapa, 84 Princess Street, Kew, from c.1917 to 1950. This historically significant collection includes items relating to both George Weir (1866-1937) and his wife Edith Mary Weir (1867-1948). George Weir attained national prominence in the mining industry, becoming General Manager of the North Broken Hill Silver Mining Company in 1903 (later renamed North Broken Hill Mining Company 1905-12, and North Broken Hill Ltd 1912-1988), and subsequently President of the Mine Owners Association. He was to remain General Manager of North Broken Hill Ltd until his retirement in 1926.

Significance

This scarf is part of a 30-piece collection of women’s clothing owned by Edith Mary Weir (nee Betteridge), who was born in Clare, South Australia in 1867 and who died in Kew at the age of 81 in 1948. The items of clothing in the collection date from the 1880s to the 1940s and constitute outstanding examples of dressmaker’s skills from each of these decades. The collection includes day dresses, evening dresses, evening coats, capes, shoes and undergarments. As the wife of a mining engineer, and later mine manager, Edith Weir’s clothing has historic significance as examples of clothing worn by upper middle class Australian women in domestic circumstances and at social and civic events. The costumes in the collection represent the periods when Edith Weir lived in Broken Hill, New South Wales, and in Kew, Melbourne. A number of the costumes from the 1920s to the 1940s are of a particularly fine quality, being both rare, representative and intact examples of Australian fashion of the period. The garments in the Weir Collection were donated to the Kew Historical Society by the granddaughter of Edith Weir.

Footwear - Wedding Shoes, Silk & Leather, 1891

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Pair of white silk shoes, worn by Edith Mary Betteridge at her marriage to George Weir in Broken Hill in 1891. The shoes were worn with the white wedding dress (see link)

Historical information

An item forming part of a collection of costumes, photographs and documents relating to the Weir family who lived in the mansion originally named Illapa, 84 Princess Street, Kew, from c.1917 to 1950. This historically significant collection includes items relating to both George Weir (1866-1937) and his wife Edith Mary Weir (1867-1948). George Weir attained national prominence in the mining industry, becoming General Manager of the North Broken Hill Silver Mining Company in 1903 (later renamed North Broken Hill Mining Company 1905-12, and North Broken Hill Ltd 1912-1988), and subsequently President of the Mine Owners Association. He was to remain General Manager of North Broken Hill Ltd until his retirement in 1926.

Significance

These shoes are significant as they are part of a 30-piece collection of women’s clothing owned by Edith Mary Weir (nee Betteridge), who was born in Clare, South Australia in 1867 and who died in Kew at the age of 81 in 1948. The items of clothing in the collection date from the 1880s to the 1940s and constitute outstanding examples of dressmaker’s skills from each of these decades. The collection includes day dresses, evening dresses, evening coats, capes, shoes and undergarments. As the wife of a mining engineer, and later mine manager, Edith Weir’s clothing has historic significance as examples of clothing worn by upper middle class Australian women in domestic circumstances and at social and civic events. The costumes in the collection represent the periods when Edith Weir lived in Broken Hill, New South Wales, and in Kew, Melbourne. A number of the costumes from the 1920s to the 1940s are of a particularly fine quality, being both rare, representative and intact examples of Australian fashion of the period. The garments in the Weir Collection were donated to the Kew Historical Society by the granddaughter of Edith Weir.

Archive Files - Victoria Park : Concept Management Plan, Research Papers, 2004

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Red cardboard wallett containing historical research by Graeme Butler, heritage architect, into the history of Victoria Park, Kew. The file also includes a draft Victoria Park Concept Master Plan, 2004. The research includes memoranda, maps, photocopies of plans, forms, notes, aerial photos, and sundry references.

Historical information

The Kew Urban Conservation Study was commissioned by the City of Kew, and submitted by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd in 1988. The Study was in a number of volumes and made recommendations about the 'significance' of built structures and places in Kew. Chapter 6 of Sanderson's report was a Survey and Assessment of Landscapes. Included was a brief survey of Victoria Park in Kew, which is bordered by High Street and Adeney Avenue. Following this initial survey and evaluation of landscapes by the City of Kew (1860-1993), the City of Boroondara (1994- ) commissioned a number of master plans to guide future planning and development. The 2004 Victoria Park Master Plan to which Graeme Butler's heritage research was a contributing factor was to be followed by further master plans of the Park.

Significance

While final heritage reports or master plans are frequently made available by the authorities, institutions or organisations that commission them, these reports, developed by heritage consultants, include information based on extensive research that may or may not be footnoted in the research. The Butler papers provide an important, and increasingly significant body of heritage research relating to Kew.

Archive Files - Kew Heritage Review, Residential Places Graded B, Volume 3, 1999

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black 4-Ring binder that includes research about, and an assessment of buildings previously graded B in the City of Kew Urban Conservation Study 1988 by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd. The files were created by the heritage architect Graeme Butler and the paper files include maps, correspondence, title searches, readings, reviews of prior classifications, newspaper and journal articles, directories etc for each property assessed.

Historical information

The Kew Urban Conservation Study was commissioned by the City of Kew, and submitted by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd in 1988. The Study was in a number of volumes and made recommendations about the 'significance' of built structures and places in Kew. In addition to those buildings nominated as Grade A Structures, Sanderson also nominated Grade B and Grade C Structures. Six years later, the City of Kew was amalgamated into the City of Boroondara. The new City, which encompassed Kew as well as Ashburton, Camberwell, Canterbury, Hawthorn and Surrey Hills was later to commission further conservation studies from a range of heritage consultants including Graeme Butler, who sumbmitted his own reviews of Grade B Structures in 1999. Butler's study was itself followed by evaluations of Grade B Structures by Lovell Chen (2007-9). In undertaking each of these heritage studies, consultants undertook a preliminary literature search as well as conducting new research about these buildings and places. To date [2017], apart from the completed Reports for the City of Borondara, the research data on which these Reports were made has not been publically available. Hence, the donation of these research files that supported the evaluations in Graeme Butler's 1999 review provides important data for researchers. [It should be noted that Graeme Butler donated the Kew files to the Kew Historical Society, and other research relating to other parts of Boroondara to the Kew Library Service.

Significance

While final heritage reports are frequently made available by the authorities, institutions or organisations that commission them, these reports, developed by heritage consultants, include information based on extensive research that may or may not be footnoted in the research. The Butler papers provide an important, and increasingly significant body of heritage research relating to Kew. As such they have historic and reserach significance.

Archive Files - Kew Heritage Review, Residential Places Graded B, Volume 2, 1999

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black 4-Ring binder that includes research about, and an assessment of buildings previously graded B in the City of Kew Urban Conservation Study 1988 by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd. The files were created by the heritage architect Graeme Butler and the paper files include maps, correspondence, title searches, readings, reviews of prior classifications, newspaper and journal articles, directories etc for each property assessed.

Historical information

The Kew Urban Conservation Study was commissioned by the City of Kew, and submitted by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd in 1988. The Study was in a number of volumes and made recommendations about the 'significance' of built structures and places in Kew. In addition to those buildings nominated as Grade A Structures, Sanderson also nominated Grade B and Grade C Structures. Six years later, the City of Kew was amalgamated into the City of Boroondara. The new City, which encompassed Kew as well as Ashburton, Camberwell, Canterbury, Hawthorn and Surrey Hills was later to commission further conservation studies from a range of heritage consultants including Graeme Butler, who sumbmitted his own reviews of Grade B Structures in 1999. Butler's study was itself followed by evaluations of Grade B Structures by Lovell Chen (2007-9). In undertaking each of these heritage studies, consultants undertook a preliminary literature search as well as conducting new research about these buildings and places. To date [2017], apart from the completed Reports for the City of Borondara, the research data on which these Reports were made has not been publically available. Hence, the donation of these research files that supported the evaluations in Graeme Butler's 1999 review provides important data for researchers. [It should be noted that Graeme Butler donated the Kew files to the Kew Historical Society, and other research relating to other parts of Boroondara to the Kew Library Service.

Significance

While final heritage reports are frequently made available by the authorities, institutions or organisations that commission them, these reports, developed by heritage consultants, include information based on extensive research that may or may not be footnoted in the research. The Butler papers provide an important, and increasingly significant body of heritage research relating to Kew.

Archive Files - Kew Heritage Review, Residential Places Graded B, Volume 1, 1999

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Black 4-Ring binder that includes research about, and an assessment of buildings previously graded B in the City of Kew Urban Conservation Study 1988 by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd. The files were created by the heritage architect Graeme Butler and the paper files include maps, correspondence, title searches, readings, reviews of prior classifications, newspaper and journal articles, directories etc for each property assessed.

Historical information

The Kew Urban Conservation Study was commissioned by the City of Kew, and submitted by Pru Sanderson Design Pty Ltd in 1988. The Study was in a number of volumes and made recommendations about the 'significance' of built structures and places in Kew. In addition to those buildings nominated as Grade A Structures, Sanderson also nominated Grade B and Grade C Structures. Six years later, the City of Kew was amalgamated into the City of Boroondara. The new City, which encompassed Kew as well as Ashburton, Camberwell, Canterbury, Hawthorn and Surrey Hills was later to commission further conservation studies from a range of heritage consultants including Graeme Butler, who sumbmitted his own reviews of Grade B Structures in 1999. Butler's study was itself followed by evaluations of Grade B Structures by Lovell Chen (2007-9). In undertaking each of these heritage studies, consultants undertook a preliminary literature search as well as conducting new research about these buildings and places. To date [2017], apart from the completed Reports for the City of Borondara, the research data on which these Reports were made has not been publically available. Hence, the donation of these research files that supported the evaluations in Graeme Butler's 1999 review provides important data for researchers.

Significance

While final heritage reports are frequently made available by the authorities, institutions or organisations that commission them, these reports, developed by heritage consultants, include information based on extensive research that may or may not be footnoted in the research. The Butler papers provide an important, and increasingly significant body of heritage research relating to Kew.

Document - Testimonial to the first Chairman of the Melbourne Tramways Trust, 5 February 1886

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An illustrated testimonial presented to the first Chairman of the Melbourne Tramways Trust in 1886. The testimonial reads: ‘At the meeting of the Melbourne Tramways Trust held on the Fifth Day of February 1886, the following resolution was unanimously carried. That the thanks of the Melbourne Tramways Trust are due and are hereby accorded to Alderman Thomas O’Grady Hon. JP, the first Chairman of the Trust for the ability, courtesy and impartiality with which he has discharged his duties during the past two years, and the Trust heartily congratulates him on the successful opening during his term of office of the Richmond Tramway (the first Cable line constructed in Australia) and tenders him its earnest wishes for his future prosperity and welfare.’ The Testimonial is encased in an ebonized frame of the period. It includes the coat-of-arms of 12 cities, corporations, boroughs and towns, including that of Kew. At the head of the testimonial the engines used to drive the cable systems are illustrated. At the foot of the testimonial there is a picture of two cable trams.

Historical information

The recipient of the testimonial, Thomas O’Grady (1824-90) had migrated to Melbourne in 1854, practising the trades of building and contracting. The Australian Dictionary of Biography records that he became a Councillor of the City of Melbourne in 1868. It lists one of his major achievements as the construction ‘with Leggett & Noonan [of] the fifty-six-mile (90 km) railway from Essendon to Seymour’. He was chairman of the Tramways Trust from its formation in 1884.

Significance

This is a unique civic document, illustrating the life and contribution of Thomas O’Grady (1824-90), Melbourne City Councillor and first Chairman of the Melbourne Tramways Trust. It is historically significant in its recording of the development of Melbourne's public transport system. The design of the certificate and particularly the ebonised frame are artistically and aesthetically significant.

Document - Certificate of Appreciation from the Kew Methodist Church, 1907

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A hand painted testimonial for John Watson Esq from the Trustees of the Kew Methodist Church. The certificate reads in part ‘Dear Sir … in view of your compulsory retirement on health grounds, from the position of Church Steward, [the Trustees] desire to express their great appreciation of your long service of over 22 years, in that and other offices in the Church. They trust that you will yet be spared many years in fellowship with our Church, and that God’s richest blessing be on you, and your family. We remain, Yours sincerely A. E. Albiston (Minister), S. Lamble (Secretary), F. S. Fitchett (Treasurer), T. J. Eaton (Trustee), C. H. Green and Hubert S. Howell (Church Stewards); March 28th 1907’. The customised certificate includes, at lower left, a turn of the century photograph of the Kew Methodist Church in Highbury Grove.

Historical information

"METHODIST CHURCH. In 1881, during the ministry of Rev. W. H. Fitchett, B.A., at Hawthorn, a number of members of the denomination living at Kew considered that the time was opportune for founding a local Church. The Superintendent of the Circuit, the Rev. W. A. Quick of Richmond, met the members and formed them into a society class under the leadership of Mr. A. Brown and a Church was formally instituted at the house of Mr. T. J. Eaton, of Eglinton Street, in December, 1881. Services were regularly held for some time at the same place, and funds for purchasing a block of land were gradually collected, resulting in the present site in Highbury Grove being purchased for £350. Messrs. W. Cleverdon, A. Money, T. E. Serpell, and T. Vasey, of Hawthorn, and Messrs. A. Brown, R. Eyre, and T. J. Eaton of Kew, were appointed trustees. A public meeting was held a the Town Hall, when over £100 was raised. The Rev. John Harcourt, who had just been placed on the supernumerary list, was persuaded to undertake the charge, and commenced services in the Town Hall on 29th April, 1882, which were continued for eighteen months. A Sunday School was started, and altogether the effort progressed so satisfactorily that in October, 1882, the foundation and memorial stones of the present Church were laid by Mr James Huddart. At the tea meeting held in connection with this event nearly £200 was raised and a few months later £250 more was obtained by means of a bazaar. The contract for building Church was let for £1,200. The Sunday School celebrated its first anniversary in June, and the Church was opened on 7th October 1883, the preachers on the occasion being Revs. E. J. Watkin, S. Chapman, and John Harcourt, the collections amounting to £230. Towards raising these sums of money the ladies of the congregation helped very materially. In 1886 the foundation stone of a Sunday school, to cost about £900, was laid by Mrs. H Berry, the building being opened in April 1887. During the same year the Church was enlarged. In 1889 parsonage was erected, and again arrangements had to be made for a further enlargement of the Church, at a cost of nearly £2,000. The foundation stones of the tower were laid by Rev J. Harcourt, and of the transepts by Mrs. Job Smith and Mrs. John Watson. These additions were made during the ministry of Rev. P. R. C. Ussher, the first minister appointed to Kew by conference. He has been succeeded by Revs. Henry Howard, J. de Q. Robin, J. J. Brown, J. G. Wheen, A. E. Albiston, M.A., and F. J. Nance, M.A., who is at present ably filling the pulpit. For the musical portion of the services, the Church has been greatly indebted to the enthusiasm of Mr. C. Gardner, the leader of the choir, and Mr. C. E. Gardner, the organist. The Sunday School has had a number of excellent workers, among whom may be mentioned Messrs. Burchett, Allum, Hillard, Tonkin, Dent, Avery, McDonald, Green, and B. Hoadley, who have acted as Superintendents, and Messrs. Arnall and McCaghern as Secretaries. The present trustees are Messrs. H. Berry, Job Smith, A. Hoadley, F. Vial, C. Powers, H. L. Carnegie, C. H. Green, W. R. Rylah, E. M. Tonkin, S. Gaylard, J. Gregory, J. R. McDonald, T. J. Eaton, F. S. Fitchett, and S. Lamble; Society Stewards, T. J. Eaton and B. Hoadley; Poor Stewards, G. Hinchliffe and G. Fraser; Church Stewards, C. H. Green and G. Hinchliffe; Treasurer, F. S. Fitchett; Secretary, S. Lamble." Source: FGA Barnard, Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria, 1910

Significance

Commemorative tributes were regularly produced in the 19th and early 20th Century to honour community service. Most were adapted from traditional lithographed models. This example, while created within a formal lithographed border has been transmuted into the equivalent of an illuminated document, hand-painted, and therefore rare. The use of flowers in the design emphasises the sentimental and spiritual aspects of the certificate. The document is a rare unique record of the Kew Methodist Church's history.

Document - Membership Certificate : Star of Kew Tent, 1915

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A colour lithograph, following a standard Rechabite design recording that Sister Richardson (later the historian Dorothy Rogers) joined the Junior Section of the Star of Kew Tent of the Independent Order of Rechabites on 17 February 1915. The certificate features biblical scenes and figures exhorting ‘Truth and Temperance’ and ‘Love and Purity’.

Historical information

RECHABITES. The Star of Kew Tent, No. 260. This branch of the Independent Order of Rechabites was founded in September, 1882, when the following members were installed as the first officers by the district officers, viz. Chief Ruler, Bro. W. H. Bardwell; Deputy Ruler, Bro. C. 
Viney; Past Chief Ruler, Bro. J. V. Morgan; Treasurer, Bro. R. Eyre; Money Steward, Bro. A. Brown; Levite, Bro. W. H. Richardson; Guardian, Bro. J. Wathen; Secretary, Bro. T. J. Eaton. Bros. W. H. Bardwell, T. J. Eaton, and F. J. Legge 
were appointed as trustees. It is interesting to 
note that three of the foundation members, Messrs. Bardwell, Eaton, and Richardson, and still members of the tent. The first meetings were held in the Mission Hall, but for many years the meeting place 
of the tent has been the Kew Town Hall. The funds of the tent have gradually accumulated until at the last audit they amounted to £2,097. For many years past the interest on the funds has been more than sufficient to meet all claims for sick pay. The 
total membership is now 140. The following past secretaries have been mainly instrumental in placing the tent in its present position:-Bros. T. J. Eaton, W. H. Bardwell, C. B. Gray, and C. L. Churcher. The present officers are :- C.R., Bro. R. M. Jones; D.R., Bro. T. H. B. Williams; P.C.R., Bro. C. H. Green; Treasurer, Bro. W. J. Thornton; Secretary, Bro. F. C. W. Hurrell. Junior Branch. A junior branch was founded in 1883, and while its membership has fluctuated considerably according to the enthusiasm of the management, it has been the means of introducing many members to the senior tent. Its membership is now 41. Female Branch. Lily of Kew Tent, No. 20. This branch was formed in October, 1904, and has accomplished good work. Its membership is 38. Much of its success is due to the untiring energy of its secretary, Mrs. J Jaycock. Source: FGA Barnard, Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria, 1910

Significance

This document forms part of a large collection of material assembled by the Rogers family of Kew and donated by the family to the Kew Historical Society by Dorothy Rogers or by her sons. The items in the collection have social and spiritual significance and are also historically significant. Items such as this coloured lithograph have a degree of artistic and aesthetic significance as representative examples of the certificate designers art in the 19th Century.

Document - Certificate : Tribute to W. H. Richardson : Star of Kew Juvenile Tent, 1887

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A certificate awarded to W. H. Richardson (the father of the historian Dorothy Rogers) by the ‘Juvenile Tent No.157 in appreciation of his role as ‘Superintendent’. The certificate notes that 1887 was the fourth anniversary of the Juvenile Tent. The Star of Kew Tent No. 260 had been formed in 1882 as a branch of the Independent Order of Rechabites. W. H. Richardson was a founding member.

Historical information

Historical information - RECHABITES - The Star of Kew Tent, No. 260. This branch of the Independent Order of Rechabites was founded in September, 1882, when the following members were installed as the first officers by the district officers, viz. Chief Ruler, Bro. W. H. Bardwell; Deputy Ruler, Bro. C. 
Viney; Past Chief Ruler, Bro. J. V. Morgan; Treasurer, Bro. R. Eyre; Money Steward, Bro. A. Brown; Levite, Bro. W. H. Richardson; Guardian, Bro. J. Wathen; Secretary, Bro. T. J. Eaton. Bros. W. H. Bardwell, T. J. Eaton, and F. J. Legge 
were appointed as trustees. It is interesting to 
note that three of the foundation members, Messrs. Bardwell, Eaton, and Richardson, and still members of the tent. The first meetings were held in the Mission Hall, but for many years the meeting place 
of the tent has been the Kew Town Hall. The funds of the tent have gradually accumulated until at the last audit they amounted to £2,097. For many years past the interest on the funds has been more than sufficient to meet all claims for sick pay. The 
total membership is now 140. The following past secretaries have been mainly instrumental in placing the tent in its present position:-Bros. T. J. Eaton, W. H. Bardwell, C. B. Gray, and C. L. Churcher. The present officers are :- C.R., Bro. R. M. Jones; D.R., Bro. T. H. B. Williams; P.C.R., Bro. C. H. Green; Treasurer, Bro. W. J. Thornton; Secretary, Bro. F. C. W. Hurrell. Junior Branch. A junior branch was founded in 1883, and while its membership has fluctuated considerably according to the enthusiasm of the management, it has been the means of introducing many members to the senior tent. Its membership is now 41. Female Branch. Lily of Kew Tent, No. 20. This branch was formed in October, 1904, and has accomplished good work. Its membership is 38. Much of its success is due to the untiring energy of its secretary, Mrs. J Jaycock. Source: Barnard, FGA, Jubilee History of Kew, Victoria, 1910

Significance

This document forms part of a large collection of material assembled by the Rogers family of Kew and donated by the family to the Kew Historical Society by Dorothy Rogers or by her sons. The items in the collection have social and spiritual significance and are also historically significant. Items such as this coloured lithograph have a degree of artistic and aesthetic significance as representative examples of the certificate designers art in the 19th Century.

Documents - Commemorative Scroll and Letters, Pte Charles F. Richardson, 6 Bn, A.I.F., 1915

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

The frame holds three documents, two of which, the signed letters from Buckingham palace are identical. The central scroll records Charles Field Richardson’s death and his contribution to King and Country.

Historical information

Private Charles Field Richardson, 6 Bn., AIF, was the brother of the historian Dorothy Richardson. He enrolled in the AIF on 17 August 1914. Before he enrolled he worked as a mechanic in Harry Cooper’s ‘Kew Flyer’ bicycle shop in Cotham Road. His address is recorded on the Embarkation Rolls as 80 Gladstone Street. He embarked for Europe on the HMAT Hororata on 17 August. The Hororata had been fitted out for 2,000 troops and 124 horses. Charles Richardson was to die of wounds in Egypt on 3 May 1915 at the age of 21 and is buried in Alexandria.

Significance

Formal and official documents such as these, recording sacrifice in the First World War were socially and spiritually significant to the deceased soldier's close relatives. The home made frame emphasises that the Rogers family valued these documents and wanted them presented visually as a group. The documents have added significance locally as Charles Field Richardson was the brother of the historian Dorothy Rogers. The Collection includes postcards that he sent from Alexandria to his sister and photographs of Pte Richardson in uniform and at the pyramids. He was wounded at Gallipoli and died in hospital in Alexandria.

Document - Invitation : A ‘Conversazione’ in the Exhibition Building on the Evening of Tuesday 7th May 1901, at 8 p. m.

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Colour lithograph mounted on card to an evening event, a conversazione, held in the Exhibition Building on the evening of Tuesday 7th May 1901, as part of the Australian Commonwealth Celebrations. The recipients of the invitation were Mr and Mrs James Maitland Campbell of Kew. The Government of Victoria hosted the event. The invitation shows an etching of the Exhibition Building, surrounded by an ornate border of heraldic shields, portraits of the Duke and Duchess, views of Perth, Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and Hobart, and native flora (including wattle, waratah, pink heath, Sturt’s desert pea, and flannel flower), and native fauna (kookaburra, possum, lyre bird, cockatoo and koala). The royal crest ‘Dieu et mon droit’ and the Australian crest, ‘Advance Australia’ are also included.

Historical information

A report in the Ballarat Star on 8 May 1901 recorded that: "THE CONVERSAZIONE. A GREAT SUCCESS. The conversazion given by the Government of Victoria at the Exhibition was very largely patronised. the guests includ ing the Prime Minister and a goodly proportion of the distinguished personages now in Melbourne. A programme of high-class music was gone through, and refreshments were served during the evening. Australian wines were very prominent."

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history. Locally, the invitation is part of a group of Federation-related items issued to James Maitland Campbell (and his wife). Campbell was three times mayor of Kew in the second half of the 19th Century and the owner of Ramornie in Pakington Street, one of the significant extant mansions in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Printed: UNITED AUSTRALIA 1901 / ONE FLAG / ONE HOPE / ONE DESTINY; AUSTRALIAN COMMONWEALTH CELEBRATIONS / THE GOVERNMENT OF VICTORIA requests the honour of the presence of / / at a Conversazione in the Exhibition Building on the Evening of Tuesday 7th May 1901 at 8 P.M. Handwritten: Mr & Mrs J. M. Campbell.

Document - Invitation : Opening of the Parliament of the Commonwealth By His Royal Highness the Duke of York and Cornwall, Melbourne 1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A colour lithograph mounted on card which is an invitation to the Opening of the First Commonwealth Parliament of Australia, 9 May 1901. The invitation was sent to Mr J.M. & Mrs Campbell. John Longstaff and Norman Lindsay’s design for the invitation includes symbolic female figures and coats of arms of the British and Australian Commonwealth. The central figure represents Justice. At her feet a crown and sceptre are laid, ‘to denote that the monarch will always acquiesce in laws passed by Parliament, provided they are just.’ On the left appears a figure of Britannia, above the royal coat of arms and in front of the white cliffs of England; on the right is a female figure representing Australia, with one hand out-stretched and above the Australian Coat of Arms. Behind her is a pastoral scene; she stands beneath a gum tree. At the top is a border of waratahs; on the left is a border of oak. The six states are represented in shields at the bottom of the card.

Historical information

The Correspondent for The Argus on 10 May 1901 described the opening on 9 May as: "The Parliament of the Commonwealth was opened yesterday by the Duke, of Cornwall and York, under a Commission signed by Queen Victoria and subsequently endorsed by King Edward VII. The ceremony was marked by the splendour and solemn impressiveness which befitted its historic importance. An immense assemblage of spectators, drawn mainly, of course, from this state, but in part also from each of the other federated states, and including representatives of other portions of the British Empire and of foreign powers, thronged the spacious, stately, and joyously decorated edifice. The picture was magnificent. It must have printed itself indelibly on the sensitive minds of the thousands of Australians who were privileged to behold it. We may assume that artists will reproduce it in worthy and imperishable forms, and that from generation to generation it will be familiar in the households of the Commonwealth. Our children's children, we may gladly say to-day, will not be ashamed of the function which inaugurated the self-governing rights of the southern British Nation. Nothing was omitted which could add to the grandeur and significance of the occasion. In a broad sense the proceedings were perfectly intelligible to the vast and sympathetic gathering, though the natural limits of a single human voice had to be accepted. The King's son, with his consort and the Governor-General and Lady Hopetoun by his side, and supported by the Governors of the states and other eminent personages, fulfilled his doubly-attested Commission with a simple dignity and a modest manliness altogether admirable. The ceremony was a brilliant spectacle, and, in its sentiment and suggestiveness, an inspiration to a loyal and patriotic people."

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history. Locally, the invitation is part of a group of Federation-related items issued to James Maitland Campbell (and his wife). Campbell was three times mayor of Kew in the second half of the 19th Century and the owner of Ramornie in Pakington Street, one of the significant extant mansions in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Front, printed. gold ink: "Opening of the Parliament of the Commonwealth By his Royal Highness The Duke of Cornwall and York / The Government of Victoria requests the honour of the presence of / Mr. J . M. and Mrs. Campbell (handwritten / At the Celebrations in Melbourne in connection with the Opening of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia."

Document - Invitation to the Opening of the Parliament of the Commonwealth

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An invitation, mounted on card for Mr & Mrs James Maitland Campbell to an evening reception at the Exhibition Building, Melbourne, on 9 May 1901, to meet the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall as part of the celebrations of the opening of the first Federal Parliament. A figure of Britannia, in red dress and mailed vest holding a shield like the Union Jack, is on the left of the invitation; she reaches out her hand towards a younger female figure, representing Australia, who is dressed in blue and holds a shield which is white with a blue cross decorated with stars. The writing is on a scroll in the centre of the certificate, and there is a border of vines and vine leaves. The royal crest is at the base of the certificate. James Maitland Campbell of ‘Ramornie’ in Pakington Street was mayor of Kew on three occasions

Historical information

The correspondent of the Argus on 10 May 1901 wrote: "The Parliament of the Commonwealth was opened yesterday by the Duke, of Cornwall and York, under a Commission signed by Queen Victoria and subsequently endorsed by King Edward VII. The ceremony was marked by the splendour and solemn impressiveness which befitted its historic importance. An immense assemblage of spectators, drawn mainly, of course, from this state, but in part also from each of the other federated states, and including representatives of other portions of the British Empire and of foreign powers, thronged the spacious, stately, and joyously decorated edifice. The picture was magnificent. It must have printed itself indelibly on the sensitive minds of the thousands of Australians who were privileged to behold it. We may assume that artists will reproduce it in worthy and imperishable forms, and that from generation to generation it will be familiar in the households of the Commonwealth. Our children's children, we may gladly say to-day, will not be ashamed of the function which inaugurated the self-governing rights of the southern British Nation. Nothing was omitted which could add to the grandeur and significance of the occasion. In a broad sense the proceedings were perfectly intelligible to the vast and sympathetic gathering, though the natural limits of a single human voice had to be accepted. The King's son, with his consort and the Governor-General and Lady Hopetoun by his side, and supported by the Governors of the states and other eminent personages, fulfilled his doubly-attested Commission with a simple dignity and a modest manliness altogether admirable. The ceremony was a brilliant spectacle, and, in its sentiment and suggestiveness, an inspiration to a loyal and patriotic people."

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history. Locally, the invitation is part of a group of Federation-related items issued to James Maitland Campbell (and his wife). Campbell was three times mayor of Kew in the second half of the 19th Century and the owner of Ramornie in Pakington Street, one of the significant extant mansions in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Front, printed. gold ink: "His Majesty's Ministers of State for the Commonwealth of Australia request the honour of the presence of / Mr & Mrs J. M. Campbell (handwritten) / In the Exhibition Building, Melbourne, on Thursday, 9th May, 1901, to witness / the Opening of the Parliament of the Commonwealth. / Edmund Barton / Prime Minister." Front, bottom left, printed: "The Young Queen / Her hand was still on her sword hilt - the spur was still on her heel ... (and further text) KIPLING'S COMMONWEALTH ODE."

Document - Invitation to meet their Royal Highnesses, the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall & York, 9 May 1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An invitation on card to Mr. & Mrs J. M. Campbell to attend an evening reception at the Exhibition Building, Melbourne, on 9 May 1901, to meet the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall as part of the celebrations of the opening of the first Federal Parliament. A figure of Britannia, in red dress and mailed vest holding a shield like the Union Jack, is on the left of the invitation; she reaches out her hand towards a younger female figure, representing Australia, who is dressed in blue and holds a shield which is white with a blue cross decorated with stars. The writing is on a scroll in the centre of the certificate, and there is a border of vines and vine leaves. The royal crest is at the base of the certificate.

Historical information

The commemorative booklet 'Our Invited Guests for the Opening of the First Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia : An open directory of the guests invited to Melbourne, May 9th 1901' lists invitees from each Australian State. Mr & Mrs. J. M. Campbell are on this list, and recoded as residing at "Ramornie" 40 Pakington Street, Kew.

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history. Locally, the invitation is part of a group of Federation-related items issued to James Maitland Campbell (and his wife). Campbell was three times mayor of Kew in the second half of the 19th Century and the owner of Ramornie in Pakington Street, one of the significant extant mansions in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Printed on a banner across the top: 'IN CELEBRATION / OF THE / OPENING / PARLIAMENT of the COMMONWEALTH / OF AUSTRALIA' Printed below the banner: 'To meet Their Royal Highness / the DUKE and DUCHESS of CORNWALL & / YORK / His Majesty's / MINISTERS OF STATE FOR AUSTRALIA / have the honor to invite / [handwritten] Mr. & Mrs J. M. Campbell / to an Evening Reception at the / Exhibition Building MELBOURNE, / on the 9th of May 1901, at 8 o'clock'.

Document - Invitation to meet their Royal Highnesses, the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall & York, 9 May 1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An invitation on card to the Misses Dowling to attend an evening reception at the Exhibition Building, Melbourne, on 9 May 1901, to meet the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall as part of the celebrations of the opening of the first Federal Parliament. A figure of Britannia, in red dress and mailed vest holding a shield like the Union Jack, is on the left of the invitation; she reaches out her hand towards a younger female figure, representing Australia, who is dressed in blue and holds a shield which is white with a blue cross decorated with stars. The writing is on a scroll in the centre of the certificate, and there is a border of vines and vine leaves. The royal crest is at the base of the certificate.

Historical information

The commemorative booklet 'Our Invited Guests for the Opening of the First Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia : An open directory of the guests invited to Melbourne, May 9th 1901' lists invitees from each Australian State. The Misses Dowling are not on this list, however the booklet does list The Hon Thomas Dowling MLC, and his "lady" from Camperdown as well as Edwin Percy Dowling esq, Shire Secretary of Camperdown. Perhaps the Misses Dowling were part of this family. While not invited to the opening of Parliament on the 9th, the guest list for later events may have been extended on other occasions.

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history.

Inscriptions & Markings

Printed on a banner across the top: 'IN CELEBRATION / OF THE / OPENING / PARLIAMENT of the COMMONWEALTH / OF AUSTRALIA' Printed below the banner: 'To meet Their Royal Highness / the DUKE and DUCHESS of CORNWALL & / YORK / His Majesty's / MINISTERS OF STATE FOR AUSTRALIA / have the honor to invite / [handwritten] The Misses Dowling / to an Evening Reception at the / Exhibition Building MELBOURNE, / on the 9th of May 1901, at 8 o'clock'.

Document - Invitation to Royal Review at Flemington, Friday 10 May 1901

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An invitation, mounted on card to the Royal Review held at Flemington racecourse on Friday 10 May 1901, as part of the Government of Victoria's Australian Commonwealth Celebrations. The border is vividly decorated with flags, shields and a large coat of arms. The photographic images depict various scenes of Flemington in Melbourne, in addition to two separate portraits of the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall and York. Illustrations of military servicemen on foot and horseback flank the central block of text. The invitation was addressed to Mr & Mrs J. M. Campbell. James Maitland Campbell had been Mayor of Kew in the years 1889-90, 1890-91 and 1892-93.

Historical information

The correspondent of The Argus recorded that: "The Parliament of the Commonwealth was opened yesterday by the Duke, of Cornwall and York, under a Commission signed by Queen Victoria and subsequently endorsed by King Edward VII. The ceremony was marked by the splendour and solemn impressiveness which befitted its historic importance. ... To-day the Heir to the Throne will review some 15,000 Australian troops at Flemington. ... It is a function which, on a lesser scale, might have been arranged at any time for many years past; but it could never previously have conveyed the meaning it does now. Soldiering was popularly regarded as a pastime here until South Africa tried the mettle of our men. It is serious business from henceforth. Those who followed the nascent aspirations of the volunteer soldiery in Australia must be impressed at the rapidity of their fulfillment. ...

Significance

The document design has artistic and aesthetic merit. While it is not rare, it is representative of the kinds of formal designs used for the Australian Commonwealth celebrations at the time of Federation, and is in excellent condition. Such items as this invitation have local, state and national historic significance as mementoes of a key moment in Australia's history. Locally, the invitation is part of a group of Federation-related items issued to James Maitland Campbell (and his wife). Campbell was three times mayor of Kew in the second half of the 19th Century and the owner of Ramornie in Pakington Street, one of the significant extant mansions in Kew.

Inscriptions & Markings

Printed: AUSTRALIAN COMMONWEALTH CELEBRATIONS/ The Government of Victoria/ requests the honour of the presence of/ .../ AT THE/ ROYAL REVIEW/ at Flemington on Friday/ the 10th of May 1901. Handwritten on the dotted line: Mr. & Mrs. J. M. Campbell

Document - City of Kew : Minimum Size of Allotment Required

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Undated typed document, issued by the City of Kew (1921-1994) indicating the minimum size of allotment required in Barkers Road, Burke Road, Cotham Road, Glenferrie Road and Studley Park Road. The document is mounted on board and waterstained. It was presumably used by a real estate agent. [Formerly catalogued as MAP.0066].

Historical information

A document outlining the relevant by-laws produced by the City Of Kew to regulate the minimum size of allotments in Barkers Road, Burke Road, Cotham Road, Glenferrie Road and Studley Park Road, as well as in other streets more generally. The by-laws specify the size of allotments in which single unit dwellings, attached houses and maisonettes, and flats could be built. In the ‘main streets’ a minimum land area for single unit dwellings was 8,100 square feet, with an average frontage of 60’ and a depth of 135’. In other streets this was reduced to an overall size of 6,250 square feet, with an average dimensions of 50’ x 125’. In specifying the land area required by flats, different sizes were regulated for the construction of between two and six flats. Six flats at the time when the regulations were passed must have been the upper limit permitted. Understanding the size of land listed in imperial measurements can be a challenge. Within Australia, the so-called quarter acre block was approximately 11,000 square feet. Those specified in the by-laws would appear to be smaller. The document was pasted on the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection.

Subdivision Plan - Plan of Subdivision of Part of Crown Portion 83 at Kew : LP6669

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Hand-drawn subdivision plan of 19 lots facing Parkhill Road, Normanby Road, and an unnamed street [now Cecil Street] in Kew. [Formerly catalogued as MAP.0061]

Historical information

In 1888, in the section of Park Hill Road between Belmont Avenue and Normanby Road there was only one street running between Park Hill Road and Cotham Road. This was Park Road, later to be named Adeney Avenue. Subsequent 20th century subdivisions created the ‘through roads’ of Cecil Street, Wimba Avenue, Florence Avenue, Marshall Avenue, Uvadale Road, and Barrington Avenue. This subdivision represents an attempt by auctioneers, rather than town planners to create an urban environment from larger residential allotments or in many cases farmland. Existing streets such as Parkhill and Normanby Roads provided a convenient starting point for the surveyors, but the Road named ‘Street Street’ indicates the role of the private surveyor in creating streets. Given that a number of allotments are listed as sold on the plan, the street is presumably Cecil Street. Even those lots that had been sold do not quite match the dimensions of the blocks in this parcel of land today, indicating that either further subdivisions or boundary alterations occurred.

Inscriptions & Markings

Estate Agent notes in ink indicate those lots which had sold.

Subdivision Plan - Argyle Road, Heather Grove, Victor Avenue, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Undated blue subdivision plan in Kew of 14 lots facing Argyle Road, Heather Grove and Victor Road. The Plan identifies Tuxen & Miller as the surveyors. [Formerly catalogued as MAP.0059]

Subdivision Plan - Balwyn Theatre and Shop Sites, circa 1927-28

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Subdivision plan showing the Balwyn Theatre and its adjoining shop sites in Whitehorse Road Balwyn. The 11 shop sites were noted for their depth (133 ft - 145 ft. [Map.0041]

Historical information

The ‘new’ Balwyn Picture Theatre was built and owned by Balwyn Theatres Pty Ltd in ca. 1928. By 1930, this first Balwyn Theatre was destroyed by fire after a break-in. Following the fire, a new cinema was constructed. This plan for a Cinema and eleven shops presumably dates from 1927/28 when the Company announced that this location in Whitehorse Road ‘was the most central and best suited [area] for their Theatre and shops’.

Photograph - 7 Roomed Brick House, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A professionally produced photograph for a local real estate agent, probably Jas. R. Mathers, Son & McMillan. The photograph is of a Federation-era bungalow, in Kew. The photo is on the reverse of a subdivision plan for the Normanby Heights Estate, Kew.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

The mount on which the photograph is placed includes: "Kew. 1 minute to tram. Good Position. / 7 roomed brick. Modern conveniences. / Land 60 x 135. 1100 pounds"

Subdivision Plan - Winton Estate, East Kew, 1920

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Subdivision plan for the so-called Winton Estate in East Kew. The Estate comprised 10 lots facing Simpson Street and Campbell Street. The estate was auctioned by Jas. R. Mathers, Son and McMillan.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Subdivision Plan - Eastlawn Estate

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

The ‘Eastlawn Estate’ was surveyed and ready for auction in March 1914, three months before the outbreak of World War I. Sixty-six allotments, created on the ‘order of Mr & Miss Preston’ surrounded the mansion of Woodlands in Harp Road. Woodlands formed part of the Estate, being advertised as lot 1. The allotments faced High, Station and Wright Streets, Harp and Normanby Roads, and Woodlands Avenue. Pru Sanderson in the Kew Conservation Study (Vol.2, 1988) wrote that the Eastlawn Estate ‘covered the western half of the failed Harp of Erin Estate’. Contemporary advertisements promoted the Eastlawn Estate as: ‘There will be no more convenient district nor pleasant Suburb than East Kew for the busy business man. When the Electric Tram is laid, he will be able to journey quickly and pleasantly direct from Collins Street to his home in the Eastlawn Estate in about 20 minutes’. The actual plans of subdivision were included in advertisements in The Argus and in the local newspapers.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

"C" top left. Various annotations.

Subdivision Plan - Sackville, Thomas & Lytton Streets, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Lithographed subdivision plan for an un-named estate with 28 allotments facing Lytton, Sackville and Thomas Streets in Kew. The land would have originally formed part of the Dumaresq Estate.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Subdivision Plan - Normanby Estate

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

The Normanby Estate, which was adjacent to Normanby Road, Kew East, included thirty-one lots for sale. Streets on the subdivision plan include Adeney Avenue, Park Hill Road, Normanby Road, Weir Street and Wharton Street. Cotham Road and its tramway are shown nearby. The plan is interesting as it shows Wharton Street, named after the architect and town planner George Wharton, who was the first chairman of the Municipality of Kew. The street was to later be renamed Cecil Street. Also shown are proposed ‘Municipal Gardens’ where Parkhill Drive is now located.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

"D" in top left corner. Stamped auctioneers contact details: "Jas. R. Mathers & Son & McMillan / Auctioneer & Land Salesmen, / 271 Collins Street / Melbourne" and Jas. R. Mathers / Estate & Financial Agent / Cotham Road / Kew".

Subdivision Plan - Myrtle Hill Estate, East Kew, circa 1949

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Myrtle Hill, at 14 Vista Avenue, Kew, is of local historical and architectural significance as a good example of a large and imposing single-storey Italianate house of the early 1870s surviving in Kew. Originally sited on a large allotment overlooking Normanby Road, the setting of the house has been dramatically altered through extensive subdivision and development. The subdivision plan of the ‘Myrtle Hill Estate’ indicates that in one such subdivision, 11 allotments were created fronting Bowyer Avenue, Myrtle Avenue, and Normanby Road. The outline and building profile of Myrtle Hill is shown on the west side of Bowyer Avenue.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

The full (typed) title of this subdivision plan is :"Plan of SUBDIVISION of part of CROWN PORTION 83. / at KEW / PARISH OF BOROONDARA. / COUNTY OF BOURKE". / "MYRTLE HILL ESTATE / EAST KEW" In addition to the Title and subtitle, the plan also lists the advantages of the subdivision.

Photograph - Bungalow, probably East Kew, circa 1920s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An unusual bungalow that does not conform to a particular architectural style but which contains eclectic elements of the style of varying periods. The most striking element of the design is the cantilevered veranda that is supported by heavy chains that are attached to the central gable. This deep gable extends across most of the façade, forming an extensive veranda. Parts of this are infilled with screens. Seven wooden posts, whose lower halves are encased in rendered brick pillars, support this gabled veranda. The roof would appear to be covered with corrugated iron. The location of the house, which was advertised for sale, has to date not been identified. The real estate photo is on the reverse of a plan for the Myrtle Hill Subdivision, Kew.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Photograph - Cottage, probably East Kew, circa 1920s

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An elevated, modest weatherboard house, photographed towards the end of the construction phase. The lower section of the weatherboards are exposed and stained. The upper section is rendered with rough-cast. The tiled roof has a single gable that extends over the centrally placed front porch. On the porch, the door and single sidelight are filled with coloured leadlight whereas the casement windows in the front rooms contain plain glass. The leadlight and the wrought iron of the verandah are the only decorative elements of the utilitarian design. The location of the house, which was advertised for sale, has not to date been identified. The real estate photograph is mounted on the reverse of a subdivision plan for the Harvest Home Estate, Kew East.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Photographer's stamp, lower right on mount: "A. Aberline, Glenferrie"

Subdivision Plan - Estate Sketch Plan, Cotham and Glenferrie Roads, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An undated and untitled hand-drawn and coloured subdivision plan detailing the boundaries of a number of irregular allotments bordering Cotham Road, Glenferrie Road and Stirling Avenue (now Stirling Street). The plan predates the actual subdivision that led to the creation of the eight commercial properties occupying 118-132 Cotham Road. The plan may represent an old subdivision that was further subdivided at a later date, or it may be a subdivision that never eventuated. On MMBW Detail Plan 1575 (1903), the area represented by the proposed subdivision was residential rather than commercial. The irregularity of lots is also apparent in the MMBW Plan. The largest of the unnumbered blocks on the hand-drawn subdivision plan may relate to the boundaries of the nineteenth century mansion identified as ‘Kelso’ on the MMBW Plan.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Photograph - Edwardian Villa, probably Kew, circa 1918

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

On the reverse of a subdivision plan of the Palmyra Estate (Kew) is a photograph of a double-fronted Edwardian villa. The weatherboard and stucco house with high brick chimneys provides a clear indication of the style of curtains and gardens in houses of the period. Holland blinds with lace inserts are used in the left front window. They are combined with long lace curtains. The garden, with its curved pathway is bordered with garden beds that include marguerite daisies and roses. Reflecting a new interest in the Australian landscape, tree ferns and ground ferns are planted closer to the house.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Photograph - Brick Villa, Cotham Road, Kew, circa 1919

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Real estate photographs of a classic double-fronted late Victorian brick villa. It central location in Cotham Road, Kew enabled the selling agent to note its proximity to the tram. With seven rooms, all ‘modern conveniences’, and land of 66×167, the house was to be sold for £1100. The villa has a number of interesting features including a pattern within the slate roof as well as the use of polychrome brickwork under the eaves and on the façade. The intricacy of the cast iron lace is emphasised by the line of projecting wooden blocks above it. The picket gate is painted a different colour to the pickets of the fence. The house has a name (illegible) that is attached to the inset cast iron lace of the central projecting gable in the veranda.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Stamped on mount: "Kew. Central. Close tram. / Comfortable Brick Villa. / Containing 7 rooms / Modern conveniences: / Land 66 x 167. Sold 1100 pounds:"

Photograph - Bungalow, probably Kew / by J. E. Barnes (photographer), circa 1919

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Real estate photograph for a local agent by the Kew photographer, Josiah Earl Barnes. The photo is of a weatherboard or brick rendered bungalow with a twisted wire fence. Given Barnes' status a a Kew photographer, the house is probably locate din Kew or East Kew. Unfortunately the handwritten information on the mount bordering the photo is damaged and cannot be read. The bungalow has a gabled, tiled roof with terra cotta finials at the front of both gables. The house has a central doorway, framed by a pseudo portico supported by four wooden columns. On each side of the doorway, at the front, there are paired sash windows, which, like the half-timbered gable, are picked out in a darker colour.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens. The photograph is also aesthetically significant as it was taken by J. E. Barnes, a nationally significant photographer. He was the most important photographer to have worked in Kew. He was active as a photographer in the district from c.1906 until his death in 1921. Best known as 'the Embarkation Photographer' (see the Australian War Memorial collection), Josiah Earl Barnes was also the official photographer employed by the Borough (and later Town, then City) of Kew. He clearly also completed commercial jobs for local businesses, as is the case in this photograph of a house for a local real estate and financial agent.

Inscriptions & Markings

Handwritten, mostly illegible description by selling agent on mount surround: " .... in Diningroom, Drawing Rooms, ... Photographers details printed on mount: "J. E. Barnes / Photo / Phone 1966 Haw KEW"

Photograph - W.B. Villa, Kew, circa 1919

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A real estate photograph, mounted on brown card, showing a double fronted weatherboard villa, located in Kew, Victoria. On the reverse of the photograph is a subdivision plan for the Altyre Estate.

Historical information

The photograph offers significant information relating to late Victorian / Federation colour schemes and fencing.The block fronted villa has a corrugated iron roof and a flat projecting verandah, ornamented with a trellis design of timber. The front window features a timber shade, mounted on brackets. The treatment of the block-fronted panels shows that there is an attempt to highlight imitation quoining through use of a darker colour. The windows and door are also in this darker shade. The front fence and gate are made of wooden pickets. It is unlikely that the photograph was taken at the time of the villa's construction given the size of the shrub/tree in the front garden.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Stamped on mount: Top - "KEW. Close tram. Fine View. / W.B. Villa Containing 8 Rooms. / Up-to-date Conveniences. EL Etc." Below - "Land 40 x 165. 615 pounds. Sold"

Photograph - 8 roomed DF Brick Villa, Kew / by J. E. Barnes, circa 1920

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A photograph, mounted on board of a double fronted Federation-era brick villa in Kew, photographed for a local real estate agent and financier by J. E. Barnes of Kew. On the reverse of the photograph is a subdivision plan for the Normanby Estate, East Kew - 2016.0039.1. As can be seen from the image, there is a large tear on the surface of the photograph.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens. The photograph is of additional aesthetic significance as it was photographed by J. E. Barnes. Josiah Earl Barnes is a nationally significant photographer. He was also the most important photographer to have worked in Kew. He was active as a photographer in the district from c.1906 until his death in 1921. Best known as 'the Embarkation Photographer' (see the Australian War Memorial collection), J. Earl Barnes was also the official photographer employed by the Borough (and later Town, then City) of Kew. He clearly also completed commercial jobs for local businesses, as is the case in this photograph of a house for a local real estate and financial agent.

Inscriptions & Markings

The brown card on which the photograph is mounted includes the following handwritten description, which may aid the identification of the house: "Kew, 3 minutes from tram, 8 roomed DF Brick Villa, tile roof including two attics, sleepout, bathroom, heater, E Light, Entrance Hall, double doors, leadlights, laundry, garden, lawns, land 75 x 170, 1975 pounds". Also photographers inscription on mount, lower left: J. E. Barnes / Photo / Phone 1966 Haw. KEW.

Photograph - Victorian Villa, High Street, Kew, circa 1922

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

An old inscription on this photograph identifies it as ‘an elegant timber villa in High Street. It occupied part of Lot 91, bought by Edward Glyn in the land sale of 16th October 1851, and run as a flower farm’. The subdivision called the ‘Flower Farm Estate’ in East Kew occurred in 1922. [The subdivision plan is on the reverse of this photo.] The Estate included 61 lots on either side of Boorool Road between High Street and Harp Road. In the MMBW Detail Plan 2017 of 1926, a number of these new villas had already been built. Matching houses with MMBW maps can always be a challenge, however if this house was near the corner of Boorool Road and High Street, it seems to fit the profile of a house called ‘Maxton’ (demolished).

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Photographer's name on photograph, lower right, and stamp on mount lower right: "A. Aberline, Glenferrie".

Mount Eri, 9 Highbury Grove, Kew, 1919

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A photograph of Mount Eri, 9 Highbury Grove, an 11-room house for sale near the junction of Cotham and Glenferrie Roads. The substantial red brick, slate-roofed house and its location are not identified in the photograph, although the extent of the house is noted. It was described then as ‘well situated’ and close to 3 trams. Mathers, a financial agent in Cotham Road, placed advertisements about the sale of the property in The Argus in May and June 1919. The advertisement additionally refers to a billiard room and asserts that the house has every modern convenience. An annotation on the plan indicates that the house, with tennis court, was sold for £1960. Following extensive research, the house has now been conclusively identified, albeit extended and rendered. The house was originally built in the 19th century as a school and for much of the 20th century was used as a venue for receptions.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Photograph - 29 Uvadale Grove, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

When 29 Uvadale Grove, Kew was offered for sale it was described as: ‘Kew. Fine locality, 3 minutes Cotham Road. Splendidly built 6 roomed Brick Villa. Rooms 17 x 14, 16 x 13, &c. Beautifully fitted throughout. Land 70 x 134 to ROW.’ The price was advertised as being £1,400. The house exhibits key features of Federation architecture such as the gabled roof with a facing of half-timber and stucco. The veranda has a curved corrugated iron roof supported by timber pillars and fretwork. The slate roof with terra cotta ridging and finials marks a transition to the more common use of Marseilles tiles in Federation architecture.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Photograph - 2 Young Street, Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A prepossessing, large home constructed in the Arts and Crafts style. Located on the banks of the Yarra at 2 Young Street, Kew overlooking the factories of Richmond, the design of the house takes account of the gradient with the addition of a level below the front entrance. The elegant roof includes a number of projecting gables and dormers. The gables are typically half-timbered and rendered. In addition to the asymmetrically placed portico, there are at least two open verandas, supported by timber pillars and with roofs that reflect the overall pitch of the roof of the house

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Photographers details (see maker)

Photograph - Cosy Five Roomed Rough Cast Bungalow, Kew / by J. E. Barnes, circa 1920

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A modest weatherboard house with rough-cast rendered walls. The gabled entrance incorporates elements of the Japanese aesthetic. The strong lines of the dark timber gable are reinforced by the colour and shape of the pickets in the fence. In contrast to an earlier period, the chimneys appear truncated. The use of extensive double-hung sash windows in the front rooms reflects a new interest in light in houses. The use of separate sunshades over windows in an earlier period is here replaced by an extension of the roofline over the window. The photographer Josiah Barnes died in 1921; so, the photograph of the house must predate this date. The location of the house, which was advertised for sale, has to date not been identified.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens. The photograph is also aesthetically significant as it was taken by J. E. Barnes, a nationally significant photographer. He was the most important photographer to have worked in Kew. He was active as a photographer in the district from c.1906 until his death in 1921. Best known as 'the Embarkation Photographer' (see the Australian War Memorial collection), Josiah Earl Barnes was also the official photographer employed by the Borough (and later Town, then City) of Kew. He clearly also completed commercial jobs for local businesses, as is the case in this photograph of a house for a local real estate and financial agent.

Inscriptions & Markings

Illegible inscription. Photographer's information on mount.

Map - Map of Mitcham, Tunstall and Blackburn

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

A map of Mitcham, Tunstall and Blackburn found on the reverse of a real estate subdivision plan published by R. L. Jarret of Elizabeth Street. This promotional street map is overprinted with the business location of the sponsors and advertising. Tunstall was originally the name of Nunawading Railway Station. Tunstall opened on 4 June 1888 and was renamed on 1 November 1945. The map is a useful reference point for the names of streets and the extent of subdivisions in this part of the eastern suburbs of Melbourne during the interwar period.

Significance

An historically significant advertising map that can be used to ascertain the extent of urban development in 1929 in the areas of Nunawading, Blackburn and Mitcham.

Subdivision Plan - Old Golf Links Estate, North Kew

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

One part of a massive subdivision of the Old Golf Links Estate in North Kew of 80 allotments bordering Sutherland Avenue, Ramsay Avenue, Belford Road, Beresford Street and Coleman Avenue. Inset on the plan at the top left, the route of the Outer Circle Railway is clearly marked. The Kew Golf Links is identified in its current location. The land on which Greenacres Golf Club was to be constructed is at this time marked as ‘Recreation Ground’. The ‘new bridge’ over the Yarra at Burke Road is also marked on the inset map. The Plan identifies the surveyor (sic) H.C. Crouch BCE MVIS, 443 Little Collins St., Melbourne. The date of the subdivision auction sale in identified as Saturday September 25th at three o'clock.

Historical information

The land in North Kew between the Outer Circle Railway and the River Yarra was released in sections. This release included 80 lots. Most of this area was released during the Depression years in the early 1930s.

Significance

Subdivision plans are historically important documents used as evidence of the growth of suburbs in Australia. They frequently provide information about when the land was sold on which a built structure was subsequently constructed as well as evidence relating to surveyors and real estate and financial agents. The numerous subdivision plans in the Kew Historical Society's collection represent working documents, ranging from the initial sketches made in planning a subdivision to printed plans on which auctioneers or agents listed the prices for which individual lots were sold. In a number of cases, the reverse of a subdivision plan in the collection includes a photograph of a house that was also for sale by the agent. These photographs provide significant heritage information relating house design and decoration, fencing and household gardens.

Inscriptions & Markings

Annotations: "E" top left. "Golf Links" top right. Lots 73-76 ticked and listed as "6" pounds

Photograph - The Maid of the Mountains / by Harold Fraser-Simson, 1957

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Photograph of a performance or a rehearsal of The Maid of the Moutains, performed by the Kew Light Opera Company in the Kew Recreation Hall in 1957.

Significance

The Arthur Dear Collection is a comprehensive collection of theatrical ephemera relating to performances by theatrical and musical organisations from within and outside the former City of Kew who performed at venues in Kew during the 1950s and 1960s.

Photograph - The Maid of the Mountains / by Harold Fraser-Simson, 1957

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

Photograph of a performance or a rehearsal of The Maid of the Moutains, performed by the Kew Light Opera Company in the Kew Recreation Hall in 1957.

Significance

The Arthur Dear Collection is a comprehensive collection of theatrical ephemera relating to performances by theatrical and musical organisations from within and outside the former City of Kew who performed at venues in Kew during the 1950s and 1960s.

Plan - Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works : Contour Plan of Melbourne & Suburbs : Melbourne Sewage

Kew Historical Society Inc, Kew

The contour plan shows the area identified by the MMBW for purposes of drainage and sewerage in 1894. The suburbs represented extend from Williamstown in the west to Bulleen in the east, and from Preston in the north, south to Sandringham. Suburbs are outlined in coloured ink. Red lines indicate main and branch sewers in existence at the beginning of 1894 in central and inner Melbourne. These extended as far as Williamstown and Brighton, but not yet as far as Kew, where sewering did not commence until 1901. Contour lines show the topography, which was important for indicating the fall of the land for the laying of sewers and drainage channels. Kew appears to be fairly undeveloped at this date except for railway lines and stations (the Kew and Outer Circle lines), main roads, the Kew Lunatic Asylum Reserve and Studley Park. However, the contour plan does not accurately represent the density of settlement, nor the large number of houses, which were being built in Kew and other suburbs from the 1850s to the land boom of the late 1880’s and early 1890’s.

Historical information

The Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works (MMBW) plans were produced from the 1890s to the 1950s. They were crucial to the design and development of Melbourne's sewerage and drainage system.

Significance

The thirty-five original MMBW plans in the collection of the Kew Historical Society are of statewide significance in that they provide highly detailed advice about the construction materials used in buildings in Kew in the first decade of the 20th century as well as additional information about land ownership and usage. The copies in the Public Record Office Victoria and the State Library of Victoria are monochrome versions which do not denote building materials so that the maps in this collection are invaluable and unique tools for reserachers and heritage consultants. As such they are of historical significance. Their provenace is identified by the handdrawn annotations of contractors and engineers as well as that they once formed part of the collection held by the Kew City Council. Some of the plans are not held in the State Library's collection.