Historical information

Framed portrait of Diana J. Jones who the first female president of the Association for the Blind since Tilly Aston. It is part of a series of paintings commissioned by the AFB Board to commemorate the work of past presidents of the organisation. Mrs Jones sits facing the painter with both hands clasped in her lap. She is wearing a black double breasted blazer, white shirt, blue beaded necklace and earrings and a gold bracelet . A white kerchief sits in her breast pocket.

Diana Jones served for 8 years on the General Committee before being elected President. During this time she was deputy chairman of the Reach Out Appeal to raise funds for the building program and President of the Honorary Services Group which co-ordinated volunteers and gave them a spokesperson on the General Committee.

In her 8 years as President a great deal was accomplished. New centres were opened or extended throughout Victoria and the Metropolitan area, volunteer services expanded and the Vision Resource Centre at Kooyong was built into which 3RPH radio was relocated. A Vision Information hotline, audiology services and the National Centre for Ageing and Sensory Loss were established, the Braille and Talking Book libraries was incorporated into the Association and the Charlie Bradley Cricket Pavilion opened at Kooyong. In 1990 Diana Jones became a member of the first Board of Directors of the newly incorporated Association for the Blind Ltd which ushered in a new era, requiring strict observance of financial and accounting methods in order to ensure continued Government funding.

Mrs Jones was highly regarded by clients, volunteers and staff as a capable hard-working leader. Her services to the Association and over many years to the wider community, were recognised in her appointment as a Member of the Order of Australia in the 1993 Queen's Birthday Honours.

She passed away in July 2009.

Physical description

1 art original in gold frame

Inscriptions & markings

The plaque at the base of the painting reads 'Dame Diana J. Jones, AM DSJ / President 1984- 1992 / Association for the Blind'.