Historical information

The Progressive Political League was formed in 1891 after the 1890 Maritime Workers Strike; it subsequently became the Australian Labor Party. This object includes the organisation's constitution. The PPL is also contemporaneous with the defeat of the Shearer's Strike (1891). Its platform included "electoral reform, reform of the labour laws, social reform and supported Federation on a ‘democratic basis’." (Anarchist Age 2008). More information about the formation of the Progressive Political League in Victoria can be found at http://anarchistmedia.org/pdf/701-800/AAWR-07768.html


Provides significant background to the formation of the ALP and political activity around the period of significant industrial actions and Australian Federation. The minutes are from the Ballarat West Branch of the League.

Physical description

Paper, 1 bound volume.