Stories Organisations Projects About Login

1952 Grand Final Premiership Football - Premiership Match Football 1952 Won By Geelong Football Club

From the Collection of Geelong Football Club Kardinia Park Geelong Victoria

Football mounted on a timber base. Base is circular with sloped sides with a depressed circle in the top centre. There is a thin rounded stand which supports the top of the timber base which is a flat oval shape.
A brown leather football is attached to the top of the timber base. Football is comprised of four individual panels which have been stitched together. One panel is attached to the timber base. A second panel has the SHERRIN logo although this is heavily faded. A third panel has a drawing of a pennant which reads -PREMIERSHIP 1952- above an oval shape with -WON BY/ GEELONG- written inside and the team scores on either side. A fourth panel has the Geelong Footbal Club logo in the centre, the team list on the left and the club officials on the right.
380 x 480 x 15 mm
Object Registration
1952 premiership. bill mcmaster. doug palmer. peter pianto. russ renfrey. neil trezise. geoff williams. fred flanagan. ron hovey. john hyde. russell middlemiss. bruce morrison. george goninon. leo turner. bert worner. bob davis. syd smith. norm sharp. bernie smith. terry fulton. jim norman. reg hickey, geelong cats, premiership, geelong grand finalists, football
Historical information
By grand final day, Geelong was in the midst of a 26 game unbeaten run, and Collingwood posed few problems on the big day. The Cats triumphed by 46 points after a dominant second half.

Geelong posted a 16-2-1 record in the home and away campaign and defeated Collingwood by 54 points in the second semi final. Grand final day was a prosession with back-to-back flags wrapped up by three quarter time.

Geelong: 4.2, 5.3, 11.6, 13.8 (86)

Collingwood: 1.2, 3.3, 5.4, 5.10 (40)

Goals: Goninon 5, Trezise 4, Davis, McMaster, Flanagan, Worner 1.

Best: Williams, Trezise, Sharp, Goninon, B. Smith, Morrison.

Line up:

B: Bernie Smith - Bruce Morrison - Norm Sharp

HB: Geoff Williams - John Hyde - Russell Middlemiss

C: Bert Worner - Doug Palmer - Terry Fulton

HF: Leo Turner - Fred Flanagan (cap) - Bob Davis

F: Jim Norman - George Goninon - Peter Pianto

Foll: Bill McMaster - Russell Renfrey - Neil Trezise

Res: Syd Smith - Ron Hovey

Coach: Reg Hickey

Also played in 1952
Harry Herbert, Tom Morrow, Leo O'Halloran, Noel Rayson, Les Reed, Merv Richardson, Don Scott, Norm Scott, Jack Stevens, Loy Stewart, George Swarbrick, Jim Tuckwell, Tony Walsh, Peter West

Information provided by Col Hutchinson GFC Historian
Inscriptions & Markings
1952 Premiership. Bill McMaster. Doug Palmer. Peter Pianto. Russ Renfrey. Neil Trezise. Geoff Williams. Fred Flanagan. Ron Hovey. John Hyde. Russell Middlemiss. Bruce Morrison. George Goninon. Leo Turner. Bert Worner. Bob Davis. Syd Smith. Norm Sharp. Bernie Smith. Terry Fulton. Jim Norman. Reg Hickey
Last updated
10 Dec 2017 at 7:17PM