Historical information

The 1977-1982 Newspaper articles and race results provide information on well known cycling identities in the Geelong area, some of whom achieved Australian and World championships in this sport. Also included are minutes of meetings and correspondence 1978-1985.


Well known racing identities of the time and Geelong Cycling Club members -
Don Wilson - who won the Australian national road race title in 1975 and 1977. He also competed in the individual road race and the team time trial events at the 1968 Summer Olympics in Mexico, and the Sun Tour during this period.Wilson won and set the fastest time in the amateur Goulburn to Sydney Classic in 1967 run in reverse direction from Milperra to Goulburn.
and John Trevorrow - won the Australian national road race title in 1978, 1979 and 1980. He was also 3 time Sun Tour winner in 1975, 1977 and 1979.

Physical description

Newspaper articles and hard backed books with handwritten minutes and correspondence and race results for the period 1977-1982.