Historical information

This shield records the cyclists who were high achievers in track cycling in the Geelong region at this time.


This shield has an important place in the history of men in track cycling in Geelong.

Physical description

A mahogany coloured rectangular wooden shield with brass plated plaques containing inscriptions of winners of the senior men's track aggregate during the years 1996-2008. There is an emblem of a cyclist and two banners at the top centre of the shield.

Inscriptions & markings

"Geelong West Cycling Club/Senior Track Aggregate/1996/Geoff Robertson/1997/Bill Clifton/1998/Matthew Heath/1999/Lee Godfrey/2000/Matthew Heath/2001/Geoff Robertson/2002/Tim Wilson/2003/Matt Pope/2004/Matt Pope/2005/Steve Young/2006/Steve Young/2007/Steve Young/2008/Marcus Mettenhall"