Historical information

One of three scrapbooks of photographs and newspaper cuttings taken and or collected by Eva Grant, a past member of the Kew Historical Society, which were donated by her niece, Julie Thomson. The albums include many photographs of Kew from the 1950s to the 1970s. Buildings included in the scrapbook include:
Billy Hughes' house - 167 Cotham Road
Congregational Church - Walpole Street (c.1978)
Country Roads Board - Denmark Street (1960)
Dorothy Rogers Reserve - Studley Park Road
Ellsmere (also Ellesmere/Ellsmore) - Princess Street
Field Place - 3 Henty Court
Fernhurst - 13 Fernhurst Grove
Kew Civic Centre (1959)
Kew Junction (1958)
Kew Railway Station (1902, 1959)
Kew Recreation Hall - Wellington Street (1960)
Neama (Hall) - Studley Park Road
Southesk (formerly Ordsall) - Cotham Road (c.1960)
St Anthony's Home for Babies (formerly Madford) - 43 Wellington Street (c.1976)
Studley House - Nolan Avenue


The scrapbook contains historically significant, rare and sometimes unique images of significant heritage buildings in Kew, including their erection and demolition.

Physical description

11-page scrapbook of photographs and newspaper clippings with annotations by Eva Grant, a past member of the Kew Historical Society. The pages of the album can be viewed in the image carousel above. Based on the text and known dates of demolition of a number of the buildings, the scrapbook was assembled over a twenty year period between c.1958-c.1978.

Inscriptions & markings

Includes letter from donor