Historical information

Vera Lynn was a popular artist during the Second World War, known for her wholesome and romantic songs. This record was released on the 40th anniversary of the end of the Second World War and contains twenty songs that were popular during the period, especially with serving troops. Vera Lynn was supposedly fondly referred to as the "Forces' Sweetheart." The record contains the following songs:

1. (There'll be Bluebirds over) The White Cliffs of Dover
2. Harbour Lights
3. As Time Goes By
4. Beautiful Isle of Somewhere
5. Auf Wiederseh'n Sweetheart
6. Faraway Places
7. Little Sir Echo
8. Mexican Rose
9. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
10. Jealousy
1. It's a Lovely Day To-morrow
2. The Bells of St. Mary's
3. A Little Rain Must Fall
4. The Anniversary Waltz
5. Yours
6. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
7. It's A Sin to Tell A Lie
8. When The Lights Go On Again
9. Drifting And Dreaming
10. We'll Meet Again


Though not rare, as a mass produced product, this record is representative of the music that was well-known during the 1940s both on the home front and by serving troops. Its release as an anniversary edition speaks to the enduring memory of the period and for some community members who lived through the Second World War, has strong social significance and ability to recall memories of the wartime period.

Physical description

Glossy square-shaped card sleeve printed in colour with combination of text and black and white photographs arranged as though a newspaper page. From top left corner: green stripe, red album title, union jack, photograph of a young servicewoman, photograph of the Cliffs of Dover, photograph of St Mary's and various song titles in various serif fonts. Newspaper-style page set behind metal square fencing upon brick fence, simulating a newspaper being sold. Reverse features pastel-toned photograph of Vera Lynn, with smaller collage-style image of the newspaper-style text on front, below which are song titles for Side One and Side Two in a numbered list.