Historical information

Formation of the Mt Cottrell Fire Brigades Group
In its policy of creating smaller compact groups of fire brigades the Country Fire Authority Regional Officer Harry Rothsay in 1967 requested that the following 6 brigades surrounding Mt Cottrell transfer from their respective groups. Melton and
Rockbank from Bacchus Marsh Group, Toolern Vale and Sydenham from Mt Macedon Group and Truganina and Werribee from Little River Group forming a new Group to the be named Mt Cottrell Fire Brigades Group.
Group Headquarters was established at the Ferris road residence of Melton Captain E W Bon Barrie, who was elected Group and Communications Officer of Mt Cottrell.
E W (Eddie) Gillespie and Keith Watt of the Toolern Vale brigade were appointed Deputy Group Officer and Group Secretary respectively

Physical description

Region 14 Rural Fire Brigades Association First Annual Demonstration programme