Historical information

"In 1966, the Mount Cottrell Fire Brigades Group was formed as a way of consolidating the smaller groups around Melton, Rockbank, Toolern Vale, Sydenham, Truganina and Werribee. Its headquarters were established at the home of Ernest ‘Bon’ and Edna Barrie in Ferris Road, Melton. Captain Bon Barrie was a member of the Melton Fire Brigade and elected group and communications officer of the new Mount Cottrell Brigades Group".

Fire Brigade Meeting 14th September held at Rockbank

Formation a new Group in Region 14

Present: R/O H Rothsay, Assistant R/O R Orchard Tru? G Summerton

Purpose of Group

The pooling of the equipment in the area should be co-ordinated under one leader.

The Brigade and private equipment should be co-ordinated under one leader.

Formation was carried unanimously.

To be called Mt Cotterill Group. Rockbank nominated Captain E W Barrie elected, Secretary K Watt Toolern Vale.

Names listed

C/O K L McNaughton Anakie Group

COO/O R B Chirnside

Lieut J Richmond

Capt E Gillespie Toolern Vale Eddie

L/ T S Atkin Stan

L/T B Storey Bert

Sec K Watt Keith

Capt E W Barrie Melton Bon

L/T K Gillespie Keith

A Gillespie Arthur

L/T G Lunson George

L/T J Robinson Jeff

Capt A Marquand Truganina Alan

L/T I Cowie Ian

Sec T Gard Tom

Capt G Harrison Rockbank

a/ps G Harrison

N Harrison

N Fisher

a/ps S Hirt Melton Steve

Pres M Chomley Sydenham

Capt S Hughes Stan

Capt L Waterson Werribee Lex

Res/o J Hanson

G/O S Cooper Bacchus Marsh Syd

P/GO W Lidgett Wal

Pro/O D Dunton

G/O T Healy R C [Mt Macedon] Tom

Reg Sec G Douglas

Hand written notes of Edna Barrie

Typed by Wendy Barrie

Physical description

Maps of the Mt Cottrell Fire group