Historical information

This map was one of a number of similar maps produced for advertising purposes by a company called, 'The Unique Advertising Combine'. The company was located in Melbourne on Queens Walk. A brief item in the Bacchus Marsh Express newspaper on 29 March 1890 , page 2, indicated that subscribers to the Bacchus Marsh Express could obtain a copy of this map in the next issue of that newspaper. On the map is the detail that it was compiled by W.H. Bonney from official records supplied by D. A. Little, hire Secretary, (of Bacchus Marsh Shire).


This map with its accompanying illustrations of local businesses and shops in Bacchus Marsh is an important documentary and visual snapshot of the town and district of Bacchus Marsh in the later part of the nineteenth century. The illustrations for some of the local businesses are the only known visual record of those particular buildings. The map is a rare surviving example of the material produced by The Unique Advertising Combine. Another similar example for the Shire of Mornington is held by the State Library of Victoria,

Physical description

A map of the Shire of Bacchus Marsh produced in March 1890. The map is mounted on a board and enclosed within a timber frame. The map includes an inset detail section showing the central part of the township of Bacchus Marsh including the main shopping and business streets. Land holdings with the first European land holders names indicated are included on the map. Rivers, creeks, major roads and the railway line are also shown on the map. Around the edges of the map are illustrated advertisements mostly for Bacchus Marsh businesses but which also includes some businesses located in Melbourne.