Historical information

Victoria once had well over one hundred fire lookouts and firetowers.
Fire lookouts, or observation posts, were often just a clearing on a hill or a vantage point, whereas firetowers were definite structures.
There are at least three categories of firetowers… (1) tree perches, (2) four-legged towers made of either wood or steel, as well as (3) hilltop cabins and observatories.
Many were established by the Forests Commission Victoria (FCV) in the 1920s, but the network was expanded rapidly in response to recommendations of the Stretton Royal Commission after the 1939 Black Friday bushfires.
The wooden towers were often built by bush craftsmen like legendary FCV overseer Clem Heather from Orbost.
But advances in aerial reconnaissance and radio technology led to the gradual reduction in the number of fixed towers.
FFMV now operates 72 firetowers. The CFA, Melbourne Water, Hancock Victorian Plantations (HVP) also operate some, the Army has one at Puckapunyal overlooking the live-firing range.


Only two remaining fire towers of this design remain in Victoria (Mt Little Dick and Big Tower in the Mullungdung State Forest). Mt Nowa Nowa and Stringers Knob burnt down in the 2019/20 bushfires

Physical description

Large model of an Reef Hills fire tower. Presumably used for instructional purposes.
Traditional FCV four legged design with three landings and closed cabin.