Journal - Schuss Vol. 24. No.5 July 1958

Historical information

Schuss was advertised as Victoria’s Official Ski Journal It was issued monthly from 1935 to 1961 except during the war when summer issues covered two months. This continued after the war, but it averaged 10 issues annually over its 25 year life.
Schuss was published by the Ski Club of Victoria which had a membership of 38 Ski Clubs and demanded to be recognised as the prime authority on skiing in the state. The other 30 ski clubs with 85% of the members disagreed and the politics of skiing became heated. These clubs formed the Federation of Victorian Ski Clubs with their own journal, Ski Horizon. With the establishment of the Victorian Ski Association, Ski-Horizon published its last issue in Nov - Dec. 1955 and the role of the official journal was fully taken over by “Schuss”.

Significance

This item is significant because it contains stories, images and information documenting the development of the ski facilities at Falls Creek.

Physical description

The journal features stories and events chronicling developments in Victoria and internationally.
The cover includes a photo of the Jane Tinsley running in the slalom on the Bull Run by Eric Burt.
Pages 200 - 202 feature a detailed tribute to George Fitzgerald, a pioneer of Omeo and the Bogong High Plains.
Page 216 gives a brief description of Falls Creek as part of an article "Available Ski Resorts in Victoria" followed on Page 221 by an article declaring the opening of the Village Ski Tow on the Queen's Birthday weekend. The first ride was given to Bernhard Plohberger, the Tow Manager and Ski School Instructor. Other developments at Falls Creek were outlined.
Page 229 features an advertisement for the new Falls Creek Ski School where Bernhard Plohberger would teach the "Wedeln Technique"

Back to top