Central Highlands Libraries was formed in 2011 to provide a shared library services model for the region. Central Highlands Libraries and the City of Ballarat support library services for the following Councils: Ararat Rural City Council, Central Goldfields Shire Council, Hepburn Shire Council, Moorabool Shire Council, Pyrenees Shire Council and Southern Grampians Shire Council.

Central Highlands Libraries consist of 14 static libraries and outreach services. The services cover over 20,000 square kilometres and a population of approximately 182,000.

Branch libraries are located at Ararat, Avoca, Bacchus Marsh, Ballan, Ballarat, Beaufort, Clunes, Creswick, Daylesford, Hamilton, Maryborough, Sebastopol, Trentham and Wendouree.

Our collection

The collections of the CHL are enhanced by the provision of the Australiana Research Room at Ballarat Branch Library, which offers a local history and family history service, as well as holding many historic and significant items, particularly a large photograph collection.