City of Port Phillip is a local government area which incorporates the former cities of Port Melbourne, South Melbourne and St Kilda. It manages The Gallery, St Kilda Town Hall which presents exhibitions which encourage an appreciation for arts and culture, and are of particular relevance to the area and its community and the Emerald Hill Library & Heritage Centre, South Melbourne.

Our collection

Port Phillip City Collection (1994)

The Port Phillip City Collection (PPCC) reflects development and change in the City. It is founded on the former collections of three of Melbourne?s earliest urban municipalities: the Cities of Port Melbourne (est.1860), South Melbourne (est.1855) and St Kilda (est.1857). The PPCC comprises five specific areas: heritage, visual art, public art, memorials and monuments and corporate collections. Within these areas there are significant holdings including heritage furniture, weights and measures, ephemera and the 1980s art collection. The PPCC was formally established in 1994 with the amalgamation of the three former cities of Port Melbourne, South Melbourne and St Kilda. Prior to amalgamation each of these cities held their own civic, heritage or art collections.

Themes: Building towns, cities and the garden state, Governing Victorians, Shaping cultural and creative life