The Raymond Island Historical Society aims to promote the collection and preservation of the heritage of the community of Raymond Island.
Our projects include recording and documenting oral, pictorial and written history of Raymond Island and its residents both past and present and to foster links with other history groups in our local area of East Gippsland.
Local Kurnai Tatungoloong tribe called the island Gragin and was renamed Raymond Island in 1842. The first pastoral lease was taken up in 1856 with the first township subdivision in 1884 and the remaining rural area as a Village Settlement Scheme during the 1890’s depression.
Raymond Island has a unique history from its origin as a Gippsland Lakes fishing station, small mixed farming, a post WWII weekend holiday retreat to today’s community of 500 residents.
The Island is well known the vehicular ferry service that commenced in 1888, a koala population introduced in 1953, A’Beckett Park Abbey and an active community.