Historical information

Staff Members of the Ballarat School of Mines

Physical description

A black and white photograph showing 18 men.

Standing L-R: S.B. Vial (Chemistry); W. Doepel (Clerk); Alfred E.C. Kerr (Mechanical Engineering); Arthur Garrard (Battery Manager); Henry Hall (Drawing); W. Kerr Grant (Mathematics); C.E. Campbell (Photography); J.M. Sutherland (Electricity); H.R. Murphy (Assayer); Charles A. Dean (Cyanide Works).
Sitting: Daniel Walker (Chemistry); Thomas S. Hart (Mineralogy & Curator); Fred. J. Martell (Registrar); Alfred Mica Smith, Senior Professor (Chemistry, Metallurgy, etc); J.S. Dawburn (Engineering & Surveying); Dr J.F. Usher (Materia Medica).
Seating (Front): P.A. Osborne (Assistant Assayer); Godfrey Hart (Museum).

.2) is a framed copy of the photograph in a carved timber from from Peake's Ballarat

Inscriptions & markings

Framer's plate 'Peake's Ballarat'

Framed mount 'The Ballarat School of Mines, Staff 1900'