Historical information

Lindsay F.J. Hillman was born in Ballarat in 1910, and attended the Ballarat Junior Technical School. He became a cadet in Electrical Engineering Laboratory at the Ballarat School of Mines where he gained eventually gained a student Teachership for diploma studies at the School.

Hillman was particularly active and excelled in a wide range of sporting interests and in student activities. In 1928 and 1928 he was awarded the Ballarat School of Mines Honour blazer by the Old Boys' association for all round athletic ability, leadership and scholarship.

After spending two years with the Melbourne City Council Electric Supply Department gaining industrial experience Hillman was awarded his Diploma of electrical engineering in 1931, returning to the School in 1932 to teach apprentices and senior students.

Hillman was appointed lecturer in Engineering Design and Graphics in 1937, lecturer in Engineering Design and Civil Engineering in 1944, Lecturer-in-Charge of Mechanical and Civil Engineering in 1948 and Head of the Electrical Engineering Department in 1949, a position he held until his retirement in 1973.

In 1975 Lindsay Hillman was appointed to the Council of the Ballarat School of Mines and played an active role in school affairs.As Vice-President of Council from 1981 until his death in 1991 Hillman took a leading part in the implementation of many of the major building projects on the Lydiard Street Campus.

The L.F.J. Hillman Award was established by the Ballarat School of Mines Council in conjunction with and through the generosity of the Hillman family in honour of the late Lindsay Frederick John Hillman. The bronze medal was presented annually to an enrolled student in an accredited course in the field of electrical/electronics studies at the Ballarat School of Mines. specific Criteria for the Award consisted of a balance of academic performance, leadership qualities, commitment to further study and involvement in sporting and/or community groups.

Physical description

Bronze medal designed depicting the portrait of Lindsay Hillman. The medal has a copper finish, and is presented in a blue hinged box.

The first Hillman Award was presented in 1992. The recipients are:

1992 - Brett A. Hovey
1993 - Nil
1994 - Brent L. Ferguson
1995 - Kirsty McKenzie
1996 - Peter J. White

2000 - Roger Bush
2001 - Thomas Edward George
2002 - Mark William Holden
2003 - David James Hopwood
2004 - Leighton Dunn
2005 - Donald Pirouet
2006 - Mark Irvin
2007 - Ricky Wilson
2008 - Luther Dean
2009 - Daniel Thatcher
2010 - Craig Coulter
2011 - Sarah Draper
2012 - Rhys Hendrickson
2013 - Jayden Hooper

Inscriptions & markings

"Lindsay Hillman Memorial Medal"

Verso: "The School of Mines and Industries Ballarat, Est. 1870 Presented to "