Historical information

The Victorian Indigenous Art Awards started in 2005. The awards celebrate the quality and diversity of current art practice of aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander Victorians and showcase and raise the profile of the uniqueness of South-East Australian Aboriginal Art. The awards were presented at the Art Gallery of Ballarat for the first time in 2013.

In 2013 the University of Ballarat (now Federation University Australia) sponsored The University of Ballarat Acquisitive Award for Work Reflecting Victoria's Western District.

Physical description

Red soft covered book of 64 pages. The book has coloured reproctions and artist's overview on the works exhibited at the Art Gallery of Ballarat as part of the Awards.

Artists include Ray Thomas, Georgia MacGuire, John Duggan, Peter Waples-Crowe, Bindi Cole, Bronwyn Razem, Lucy Williams-Connelly, Jack Anselmi, Deanne Gilson, Marlene Gilson