Stories Organisations Projects About Login


From the Collection of Netball Victoria 487 King Street West Melbourne Victoria

Team photo of the Victorian Women's Basketball State Team in 1932.
29.5cm x 27cm
Object Registration
womens basketball, women's basketball, netball, victoria, netball victoria, 1930, 1930s,victorian team, womens netball, women's netball, sport, vic, netball australia, harrison, o'dea, beyer, elso, edith hull, wood, becky douglas, franklin, o ferres, bannister, ethel mccarthy, mills, l.c.mills, lorna mcconchie, angus, interstate, carnival, alice elso, jean wood
Historical information
Team photo of the 1932 Victorian Women's Basketball Team, featuring some very important people for years to come (McConchie). This team won the 1932 interstate carnival
When Made
The inclusion of such important people makes this photo significant. This team would win the interstate carnival for 1932, and many of these players featured as players or coaches later in the decade where Victoria would dominate. L.C Mills was the foundation president for the V.W.B.B.A, while Edith Hull, Ethel McCarthy, Lorna McConchie and Becky Douglas would either play, captain or coach the national team, while McConchie would umpire in later decades.
Inscriptions & Markings
Victorian B.B. Team 1932.
Standing (left to right): L. Harrison (umpire), A O'Dea, E. beyer, A. Elso, E. Hull, J. Wood, B. Douglas, R. Franklin, Mrs O Ferres (Coach)
Sitting (left to right): M. Bannister, E. McCarthy (Captain), L.C. Mills (President), L. McConchie (Vice Capt), L. Angus.
Last updated
3 Mar 2017 at 10:12AM