Historical information

Established in 1946, during the construction of the Kiewa Hydro Electric Scheme, the township of Mt Beauty was developed by the State Electricity Commission of Victoria to provide additional accommodation for the thousands of workers during the construction of the country’s second largest hydro-electricity scheme. 
Although these towns were built as temporary accommodation for the workers and their families, many stayed after the scheme finished. Combined with the influx of European migrants, with their rich cultural backgrounds, all played a major part in shaping the future character of the Mount Beauty, the Kiewa Valley and Falls Creek. The Bright Council, now the Alpine Shire took over the control of the township in 1960. This relatively young town of Mount Beauty, along with the surrounding townships of Falls Creek, Bogong, Tawonga South and Tawonga, are all part of a prospering tourist area with excellent services, accommodation, food and a wide range of recreational activities available for all ages. According to Shire records, the population of Mt Beauty has grown from 1,500 in 1981 to 1,800 in 2016 with a projected increase to 2,000 in 2013


The photographs taken around 1993 show a prosperous commercial centre catering for both locals and the needs of visitors. It provides a pictorial history of the changes which have occurred in the retail/commercial district of Mt Beauty over the years. It also demonstrates the attention paid by Alpine Shire towards providing accessible recreational green space around the town centre.

Physical description

Set of 12 colour photographs of Kiewa Cres Mt Beauty. Circa 1993 showing retail services and streetscape of the time.

Inscriptions & markings

No markings