From the Collection of 8th/13th Victorian Mounted Rifles Regimental Collection Building 129 Carlisle Drive North Bandiana Vic
- Black and white photograph of two soldiers in the cupola of a Staghound Armoured Car wearing khaki drill jackets and berets.. One has goggles on head. Triangle marking on cupola indicated vehicle belongs to A Squadron.. One of a collection of photographs of 8th/13th Victorian Mounted Rifles Regiment between 1948 and 1951.
- 175mm x 125mm
- Victorian Mounted Rifles was raised as a regiment of the Royal Australian Armoured Corps on 1 May 1948 with Headquarters in Melbourne and squadrons in Sale, Benalla/Wangaratta and Albury. In 1955 Regimental Headquarters moved to Wangaratta and a second squadron was located at Albury. The Sale squadron transferred to 4th/19th Prince of Wales’s Light Horse. In 1977 8/13 VMR Regiment was reduced to an independent squadron A Squadron 8th/13th Victorian Mounted Rifles and in 1991 was linked with 4th/19th Prince of Wales’s Light Horse forming the VMR Squadron of that regiment.The 8th/13th
- Unique collection of photographs showing the first years of an armoured regiment of the post-Second World War era Citizen Military Forces showing equipment, uniforms, training and social activity and some personalities.
- " Tpr. Singe, Cpl. H. Slaney "
- 26 Jun 2018 at 11:14AM