Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Cup - Malta Cup

From the Collection of Royal Brighton Yacht Club 253 Esplanade Brighton Victoria

Object Registration
malta, corder, irc, harney, deed of gift
Historical information
Malta Cup
Donor: F. J. Corder, High Commissioner of Malta
Deed of Gift: Yes
The race was originally raced on handicap by all yachts on the RBYC register. This was later changed to a Combined Division Race on PHD handicap then again changed to IRC handicap.
The trophy was won by Barton Harney three consecutive times and in accordance with the deed of gift the trophy was retained by Mr. Harney. In 1975 Mr. Harney re-donated the trophy to RBYC and a new deed was written allowing for ballasted yachts on the RBYC register to compete on a course of approximately 12-15 nautical miles.
First Winner: Virginia A. S. Sturrock 1936
Last updated
26 Aug 2019 at 1:08PM