Historical information

Clive Hearne Shield
Donor: Will Merritt / Graham Noel

The trophy was donated in memory of Clive Hearne who sailed the yacht Leading Lady, and was one of the original supporters of the Wednesday afternoon racing which became known as the Hearnes’ Heroes Series covering alternate fleet and pursuit races. Prior to the donation of the original Hearne's Shield, Wednesday afternoon races were known as the "Mid-week Muddlers", as introduced by Will Merritt.
Four series are held each year commencing in July and finishing the following June. At the end of June the four series are then combined with the best result winning the J. Bryan Linacre Award.
When the original board donated by Will Merritt filled up, Graham Noel donated a new board in he shape of a Shield.
First Winner: Chindrina, Will Merritt 2002