Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Image - Union of Rutherglen Shire and Borough

From the Collection of Rutherglen Historical Society Murray Street Rutherglen Victoria

Copy of a photograph of Wesleyan Church used as temporary Shire Office during building of new office. Group portrait of Councillors in front of building.
25.4 x 30.4
Object Registration
When Made
1920 (Exact)
Made By
Alf L. Bowden, The Studio (Maker)
Inscriptions & Markings
"Union of Rutherglen Shire and Borough / Date of Union: December 15, 1920. Dissolution of Combined Councils: August 25, 1921. Rutherglen Shire Office. The Secretary Attends Monday & Friday 10am till 4pm" Front row (left to right) Ex. Cr. S.P. Gollings, Cr. R. Ready, Cr. E.E. Cock, Cr. J. Burch (Ex Mayor), Cr. C.H. Morris (Shire President), J. Hiskins (Ex President), Cr. R.J. Burrowes, Cr. D.B. Smith, Cr. P. Gullifer / Centre Row (left to right) Cr. H.G. Richards, Cr. W.H. Chambers, Cr. R.H. Berryman, Cr. R.J. Harvie, Cr. W.R. McRae, Cr. W.V. McDonald, Cr. C.L. Dobbin, Cr. R.A. McLaurin, Cr. P.M. Seymour, Cr. M.T. Graham, Cr. F. Fuge, Cr J. Milthorpe / Back Row (left to right) T. Trenen (Editor "Sun"), P. Lingford (Shire Engineer), W.C. Bayliss (Banker), A.H. Thompson (Shire Secretary, A.C. Carter (Inspector), N.F. Turnbull (Assistant Secretary)"
Last updated
15 Mar 2019 at 3:03PM