Historical information

Known as the Rosellas, the early Cheltenham Football Club sides began playing on a regular basis in 1890, and would travel long distances by steam train to play country teams, such as Ballarat where they would arrive at their destination, play the match, socialize then return to the station. Opposition players and supporters would give three hearty cheers on their departure.
The Cheltenham home games were played on a paddock on the corner of Park and Charman roads in Cheltenham. In 1907 the Cheltenham progress committee made an application to the board of land works for land in Weatherall Road for recreational service to the public. That application was received and granted, then developed where Cheltenham Recreational Reserve now stands.
The land in the early days was virgin bush and the response for voluntary help to clear the area was outstanding. Nearly all the market gardeners in the district along with horses, ploughs, axes, shovels completely cleared the area in three weeks. The Moorabbin council then leveled the playing area and erected a post and rail fence around the ground. Pine tree shrubs were then planted on the west side of the ground.
The ground was opened in 1909 and the first Cheltenham side entered in the newly formed Federal Football Association along with seven other foundation members, Mordialloc, Mentone, Moorabbin, Frankston, Glenhuntly, Elsternwick, and Ellindale. The grand final for that year, 1909 was a hard encounter between Cheltenham and Ellindale with Cheltenham coming out victors, thus becoming the inaugural Federal Football Association premiers.
Cheltenham went onto win five senior premierships in the Federal Football Association by the end of the 1920s, they won the flags in 1909, 1911, 1913, 1922 and 1925, with the late Percy Woff playing in all 5 premiership sides and was captain in 1922. 1928 saw the start of an outstanding career from our oldest living player Tom Connor.
Cheltenham continued to win premierships in the 1920’s and 1930’s with juniors taking out the 1929 and 1933 flags, under the guidance of Woff, and that continued in 1934 when Cheltenham took out the 1st XVIII and 2nd XVIII premierships.
Cheltenham produced its only Brownlow medallist in Peter Box who played in the late 1940s, before going to Footscray where he became a champion.
The 3rd XVIII went through the season undefeated in 1974 winning the premiership, with Trevor Barker a key player before going to St Kilda the following year.
The club won three senior premierships under coach Barry White in 1992, 1993 and 1995. ( from CFNC website 2019)


Cheltenham Football Club was formed 1890 and succeeded in winning many Premierships as a member of the Federal Football Association, Outstanding players Peter Box Brownlow Medalist 1956 Footscay VFL, , Trevor Barker and Kevin Roberts St Kilda VFL.

Physical description

3x Black & White photographs of the players in the Australian Rules Cheltenham Football Club 1909, 1913 and 1946

extra photo of Peter Box Folio 10 MAV 01059

Inscriptions & markings

a) CHELTENHAM FOOTBALL CLUB 1909 Cheltenham Football Club 1909. Back row: A Chandler, committee member; R. Robertson, back-pocket; J. Harris, half back flank; J Adams, ruck and forward-pocked; M. J. Monk, club president; L. Woff, back-pocket; W. Adams, ruck and back-pocket; P. Woff, rover and forward-pocket; A Monk, committee member. Middle row: W. Hore, back pocket and ruck; A. Towns, half-forward flank; W. Carson, full back; F. Andrews, captain-half forward flank; H. Butler, centre half back; J. Warburton, centre half-forward; A. Slater, half-back flank; F. Fisher, half-forward flank; C. Sherwood, trainer. Front Row: G Gouldthorpe, wing; H. King, full-forward; W. Johnston, ruck and forward-pocket; P Spears, rover and forward-pocket; F. Bichl, wing; A. Bichl. rover and forward-pocket; F. Butler, centre player. Courtesy, Lionel Seal. ( from CFC website 2019)
c) CHELTENHAM -1946 / Back row - J. Fisher, G.Corrigan, N.Hocking, F.Virtue, R.Craven, L.Baker, M.Blundell / 2nd Row - J.Phillips, T.Connor, E.Hawkins, A.Blakely, G.Baker, A.Dark, J.Barker, D.Craven, J.Pickering, P.Cameron,/ W.Hicks, G.Hoskings, R.Beihl, A.Hubbard, R.Kier, C.Russell. / Front Row - Clark Taylor, J.Slade, N.Niel, J.Brooks, T,Butler, H.Hosking, C.Hacusler, E.Hornibrook, W.Briggs, B.Russell, L.Biehl, / W Rippon