Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Image - Members of the Australasian Federation Convention

From the Collection of Ballarat Heritage Services PO Box 2209 Bakery Hill Post Office Victoria

Sixteen men of the members of the Australasian Federation Convention, 1890. The bearded man standing in the centre is Henry Parkes.

Hon. Andrew Inglis Clark (Tasmania), Hon. Sir Samuel Walker Griffith KCMG (Queensland), Hon. Thomas Playford (Sth. Aust.), Hon. Alfred Deakin (Victoria), Hon. Bolton Stafford Bird (Tas.), George H. Jenkins (Secretary to the Conference), Hon. Capt. William Russell Russell (New Zealand), Hon. Sir Henry Parkes (New South Wales), Hon. William McMillan (N.S.W.), Hon. Sir John Hall KCMG (N.Z.), Hon. John Murtagh Macrossan (Qld), Hon. Duncan Gillies (Vic.), Hon. John Alexander Cockburn M.D.(Sth.Aust.), Hon. Sir James George Lee Steere (Western Australia).
Object Registration
national conventon, henry parkes, federation, duncan gillies
Historical information
This group of men are considered fathers of Australian Federation.
When Made
Last updated
9 Aug 2020 at 9:34PM