Historical information

The Ballarat School of Mines is a predecessor organisation of Federation University Australia.

Physical description

Black and white photograph

Inscriptions & markings

This building was officially
opened on 4th July, 1978 by
E.J.T. Tippett, M.B.E.
in whose honour the library was named
thus commemorating
dedicated service since 1934
as a member of the Council of
the School of Mines and Industries Ballarat

Stamp Battery
The stamp battery for treating gold ores was first intriduced in California. A heavy iron stamp is raised on a cam and let fall so that its weight causes the quartz which is held in the mortar box. This three head battery was installed in the mining laboratory of The School of Mines, Ballarat in 1898 and crused many hundreds of tons of quartz. It was reected on this site to commeorate the centenary of the School of Mines in 1870.

School of Mines & Industries Ballarat
Established - 1870
Stage one of
The Vocational Skills Centre
was officially opened by
The Hon. Robert Fordham M.P.
Minister of Education
on 29th April 1983

P.R. Shiells K.J. Flecknoe
Principal President

The School of Mines and Industries
Established - 1870
This plaque commemorates the opening of the Hairdressing School
on 9 March 1983
Peter Cutter, B. Comms, M. Ed.
General Manager - Programs, TAFE Board

School of Mines and Industries
Ballarat Ltd
Land Laboratory
officially opened by
Dr D.F. Smith
Director of Agriculture
on 12th November 1980.

School of Mines & Industries Ballarat
Amenities Building
was officially opened by
His excellency
The Hon. Sir Henry Winneke
K.C.M.G., K.C.V.O., O.B.E.. K. St. J., O.C.,
Governor of Victoria
on 7th October 1981

G.H. Beanland K.J. Beanland
Principal President

This room is known as
Yates Geological Centre
in recognition of a
professional lifetime
of service from
head of Geology
The SChool of Mines and Industries
Harold Yates M.Sc

Plaque presented by former students

This stone was laid
The Hon. Alexr J. Peacock
Minister of Public Instruction
April 14th 1899
Abdrew Anderson, President