Historical information

Used by donor in 'Blackburn - a picturesque history'. Dud Prior commenced his first business with ten gold sovereigns. He was born in Nicholson Street Nunawading in 1889 and in 1917 he opened his first shop in Blackburn near the roundabout. In 1920 he moved next door to a brick shop which was later known as the Lion's Den. It was later demolished.

Physical description

Black & white photo of Dud Prior outside his second butcher shop in Blackburn Road , built in 1920.