Shillinglaw Cottage looks stable enough now but it was the first colonial building in Australia to be pulled apart brick by brick and reconstructed on a different site. Community outrage prevented the council from demolishing the cottage in 1963 to make way for Eltham’s Shire Offices and local people paid for the cottage to be moved.
Originally built by respected local builder George Stebbing in 1859, the cottage is typical of European farmhouses, but is constructed of handmade local bricks in a style known as “Flemish Bond.” The chequered pattern created by the burnt “header” bricks is a unique feature of this style. The cottage’s name comes from its long association with the Shillinglaw family, who loved there for more than eighty years. The Cottage is classified by the National Trust.
Tomorrow's history documented today