Historical information

Victorian Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (VIOSH) Australia is the Asia-Pacific centre for teaching and research in occupational health and safety (OHS) and is known as one of Australia's leaders on the field.
VIOSH has a global reputation for its innovative approach within the field of OHS management.

VIOSH had its first intake of students in 1979. At that time the Institution was known as the Ballarat College of Advanced Education. In 1990 it became known as Ballarat University College, then in 1994 as University of Ballarat. It was 2014 that it became Federation University.

VIOSH Australia students are safety managers, senior advisors and experienced OHS professionals. They come from all over Australia and industry.
Students are taught active research and enquiry; rather than textbook learning and a one-size fits all approach. VIOSH accepts people into the Graduate Diploma of Occupational Hazard Management who have no undergraduate degree - on the basis of extensive work experience and knowledge.

Three letters written to associations/groups that provide prizes for the students of the Graduate Diploma in Occupational Hazard Management from Steve Cowley. Letters are to Mr Wayne Hughes - Managing Director, Industrial Rehabilitation Service. The prize is awarded to the "Best Final Year Student" and is a cheque for $500.00. Second letter is to Mr Raeburn Epthorp and award goes to the best Human Factors student. The third letter is to Mr Gordon Lewis - General Manager, National Safety Council of Australia. The award is for the best overall academic performance during the course. It is the "Max Eise Perpetual Trophy". The N.S.C.A. provide a miniature replica for the student to keep.
The OHM Annual Dinner to be held on 7th July 1988 in the Bistro, Ballarat College of Advanced Education.

Physical description

Type written letters - single page. Memo page .

Inscriptions & markings

Ballarat College of Advanced Education letterhead on letters. Date 13th May 1988. Signature of Steve Cowley.