Historical information

The golf tournament evolved from the P'boro Power Boat Race. The tournament is still a big event on the Peterborough Golf Club calendar.
The Cup records the winners of the actual boat race, including the name of the winning boat and the skipper from 1949 to 1962.
The winners were: 1949 Won by Albie Affleck Skipper HT Grimwade. 1950 Won by Lady Emma Skipper DC Moore, 1951 Aunt Spee Skipper A W Moore, 1952 JB Skipper J W Bartlam, 1953. Cynic Skipper HT Grimwade, 1954 Tom Thumb Skipper CR Chirnside, 1955 Nipper Skipper PW Coy, 1956 Typhoon Skipper LG Tabart 1957 Lady Nelson skipper DC Moore, 1958 - 1959 The Sea Moore Skipper F Moore, 1960 Cutty Sark Skipper RA Chirnside, 1961 Sweep Skipper S Joyce, 1962 scum skipper WM Holbeach


This honour board is significant because it records the winners over time of the event, but also because it is a link with the original boat race, which was a major fun event over summer in the town.

Physical description

A shield shaped wooden plaque with a metal scroll at the top and metal engraved shield shape in the centre of the board, surrounded by numerous smaller shield shapes, each engraved with the names of the winners and the date.
Also a cup with shield shaped plaques around the base to record the winners.

Inscriptions & markings

Central plaque inscribed thus:

Admiral Desmond C. Moore,
Captain Wocca Moore
Chief Engineer Andy Chirnside
Boson John Wiber
Chief Petty Officer (Later Mutinously & illegally self appointed Tinny Grimwade
Lieutenant Commander)
Ships Cat Tom Austin
Master at Arms I Barty (Mr. Bartlam)
II Brigadier Tinsley
III Mark Howard
Sub Lieutenant Gitchie Calvert Jnr
Boson II Moyle Breton
Chief Writer Jonnie Moore