Historical information

Digital image of a photocopy of the Agreement dated 23-8-1912 between the Australian Tramway Employees Association with the Melbourne Tramway & Omnibus Company Limited and a supplemental agreement dated 12-8-1913.

The agreement was the first between the Union and the Company which had long resisted unionism. The Victorian Branch of the ATEA was formed in November 1910. The agreement was the result of an Arbitration hearing before the Commonwealth Conciliation Commission. Frank Brennan & Rundle represented the Union and Louis Waxman the Company.

The agreement covers wages for all the Companies employees, working days, rostered days off, travelling time, meal breaks, rosters, Sunday work, exchange of shifts, public holiday rates, training of students, accident reports, ability to wear their union badge on their watch chains, disputes re revenue, trackmen, ropemen, the establishment of a Board of Reference, dispute resolution, breach of the agreement and expiry - 30 June 1916, the day the Company Franchise ended.

Signed by L L Hill Union President, A C Warton Union Secretary, H A Wilcox Company Secretary, and W G Sprigg, one of the Company Directors.

The supplemental agreement - has a long introduction to the dispute regarding workers being represented on the grounds of alleged misconduct. Notes the name of the Court President, Mr. Justice Higgins. Provides the process for representation of any man who is accused of misconduct, discipline, and proof of the charge. Notes the use of the company's private (detective) staff - known as spotters.

The wearing of union badges was the cause of a large General Strike by tramway men and others during 1912 in Brisbane.


Yields information about the first agreement between the Melbourne cable tram operator and the Union that represented the workers.

Physical description

Digital Image of the 1912 Agreement between MTOCo and the ATEA and a supplemental agreement of 1913