Historical information

The 8th Light Horse was initially raised from companies of the colonial Victorian Mounted Rifles located in North-east Victoria following federation. In 1912 a major reorganisation of the Australian military forces resulted in the regiment being renumbered 16th Light Horse. The Regiment was disbanded in 1919 but soon after was re-raised as the 8th (Indi) Light Horse in the Citizen Military Forces, with the territorial title Indi Light Horse.
The Indi Light Horse consisted of 3 squadrons. A squadron consisted of troops in Corryong, Walwa, Tallangatta, Eskdale and Wodonga. After an extensive recruiting campaign in January 1939 a new troop was raised in Bethanga, Victoria.
In December 1941, the regiment converted from horse to mechanised, initially as 8th Reconnaissance Battalion then in July 1942 it became 8th Cavalry Regiment and served in Northern Territory. As Japanese threat to the mainland declined the regiment was disbanded.


This photo represents a group of Bethanga men who committed to service during World War 2

Physical description

A framed Black and white photograph of Bethanga members of the Australian Light Horse in uniform

Inscriptions & markings

Back row (left to right), Troopers Keith Cadman, Arthur "Friday" Dower, Bert Sommer, Norm Martin, Andy Mitchell, Tom Pearce;
Middle row (left to right). Troop Leader Sergeant Edward "Ted"Davies, Troopers Jack Mortlock, Albert "Ab" Bohun, Aub Cadman, Les Freyer
Front row (left to right), Troopers Henry Trenchard, A."Ed" Hertzog, Doug Dower, Nelson "Manny" Green, Eric Wheller, J. Parker.