Historical information

In the first years after European settlement of Australia, a varied collection of international coins, tradesmen's tokens and promissory notes were used by European settlers, while soldiers participated in the notorious rum trade. In 1825, the British government made the English Pound the only form of legal currency in Australian colonies.
With Federation in 1901 the Commonwealth government became the only body with the constitutional power to issue currency. In 1910, nine years after Australia federated as a nation, a national Australian currency was formed, based on the British money system of pounds, shillings and pence. The Australian penny was first minted in England from 1911 to 1915, then in India from 1916 to 1918. Australia started minting most of its own pennies from 1919 until the introduction of decimal currency in 1966.
This collection was donated by Mr. Heinz Kaupert of Wodonga. He was an active member of the German-Austrian club of Wodonga. He died in Wodonga in 2014.


These coins reflect developments in Australian currency and were donated by a member of the Wodonga Community.

Physical description

A collection of 20 penny and half penny coins mounted in a frame behind glass. They are divided into 3 sections - English currency used as Australian Currency before 1939, Australian coins used 1901 - 1939 and currency used from 1939 - 1966.