Historical information

Northumberland County was one of the original Nineteen Counties in New South Wales and is now one of the 141 Cadastral divisions of New South Wales. The Greta area was first colonized by Europeans around Anvil Creek in the 1830s. When the town was surveyed in 1842 it was given the name Greta, possibly after a small river in Cumberland, England. Coal mining was established in the area in 1862 with the development of a railway station.

Physical description

Robinson Fairbairn Collection: Land purchase receipt, Greta, Maitland NSW - 7th August 1888, Received from Robinson Fairbairn of Greta, 3 pounds and 11 shillings and 11 pence for land Lot 19 of 26, by agent for the Sale of Crown lands. 25% deposit receipt from Sparke and Glift auctioneers West Maitland