Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Australian Gliding Museum Parwan, Victoria

The Australian Gliding Museum – Preserving Australia’s Gliding History

The Australian Gliding Museum first met as a committee on 26 February 1999. This brought together a number of kindred spirits interested in preserving older and historic gliders. The Museum membership now exceeds 140.
The Museum has since collected gliders from around Australia, many of which were facing neglect or destruction. The Museum’s collection includes over 40 historic gliders and other gliding archival material, including books, manuals, photographs, films, glider launching winches, aircraft plans, trophies and other memorabilia.
Restoration programs are in place (some completed) for many of the gliders collected. These programs are supplemented by research into, recording and display of, the history of gliding in Australia based substantially on the extensive archival material held by and available to the Museum.
Volunteers meet regularly at the Museum’s facilities at Bacchus Marsh airfield (which includes the Bruce Brockhoff Hangar (named after its patron) and Dave Darbyshire restoration workshop (named after one of its founders)). Visitors are welcome on open days or by appointment.
The Museum enjoys the support of the gliding clubs at Bacchus Marsh and the gliding movement in general through the Gliding Federation of Australia.

Contact Information

location
20 Jensz Road Parwan Victoria
phone
+61 03 9802 1098
Contact

Opening Hours

By appointment – contact President David Goldsmith 03 5428 3358 or Secretary Graeme Barton 03 9802 1098

Entry Fee

None – donations accepted

Location

20 Jensz Road Parwan Victoria

This collection results from the special interests of a group which first met as a committee on February 26th 1999. The group, later constituted as The Australian Gliding Museum, shares an interest in researching and preserving older and historic gliders that are scattered all over Australia, with the aim to collect them in a safe place before they become destroyed or deteriorate beyond sensible refurbishment. By 2012, the collection included 14 heritage gliders: Coogee, ES 50 “Club Two Seater”, Flying Plank, Hutter H17, Lessing Glider, LO 150, Northrop Primary, Olympia, Rhon Ranger, Schreder HP-14T, Schweizer TG3a, Skylark 4, T31b “Tandem Tutor”, and a Slingsby T35 Austral, together with other gliding paraphernalia. During the period 2006-2010, the museum constructed three replicas of the biplane glider built by George Augustine Taylor and first flown 5 December 1909. One of these gliders was presented to the National Museum of Australia, for display in its entrance foyer.

Significance

The collection documents early developments in recreational gliding in Australia.

Max Speedy 30 April 2016 12:31 PM

Good morning, Gentlemen and Ladies, I am the president of South Gippsland Gliding Club. My question is that we have two Schleicher K7s whose canopies, front and rear, are in poor shape and in need of replacement. I notice you have in your collection a K7, (ex-VH-GNX). While I don't want its canopies, do you have or know the whereabouts of any canopy moulds so we can keep our K7s in the air? A very important question for us and your assistance would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Max Speedy 03 5668 1387

Leave a comment

67 items

close
Show All Items Items with Images (67) Items with Audio Items with Video Items with Documents
View As Grid List

67 items

Glider – Sailplane – Grunau Baby 2 - Silver - Grunau Baby 2B- formerly registered VH-GLW

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden – fabric covered glider – missing canopy Perspex, Instrument panel has turn and bank only. Currently the glider features a predominately silver grey colour scheme.

Historical information

This exhibit is a home built glider of a Grunau Baby 2 design modified by the addition of a fully enclosing Perspex canopy, spoilers, and a landing wheel. It was built by Alex Mackie and was originally owned by the Southern Cross Gliding Club at Camden, New South Wales. The first flight was on 19 May 1956. After about 10 years service with that club it passed through a series of owners, including the Forbes Soaring Club, Beaudesert Gliding Club and private operators. The last major inspection and overhaul of the glider was April 1972. It passed a further airworthy inspection in April 1975. At that time, questions were raised about the weight of the glider (found to be 400 lbs empty). In 1976 it had fallen into a non-airworthy condition and has not flown since. By that time the glider had flown 1161 hrs 11 minutes from 5228 launches.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Formerly registered VH-GLW

Glider – Sailplane – Auto tow launching cable laying and retrieval winch - Winch

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single drum and motorized drive mechanism mounted on a mobile steel frame.

Historical information

The auto tow launching mechanism was designed by Ray Jamieson who built the first one for the Corowa Gliding Club where it was used for some years. The Museum’s exhibit was built by Bert Jamieson, a motor mechanic, at Newport for the Victorian Motorless Flight Group. The date of manufacture is unknown at this time but it probably was 1970s. The method of operation was to have the device mounted in the back of a powerful utility motor vehicle. The launching wire was attached to the glider and the vehicle then drive approximately 400 metres down the runway laying out the wire from the drum. The driver would stop and engage the brake for the drum and start the device’s Volkswagen rewind engine. On receiving the all-out signal the driver would accelerate and the brake would be gradually applied moving the glider. The drum would stop and the launch would continue. Upon release from the glider the pay-on rollers would drop and engage the Volkswagen engine to drive the drum and rewind the wire. The driver would slow down and when the wire was fully wound in, stop the Volkswagen engine and return to the launch point. Although this sounds complicated it was relatively simple to make the necessary adjustments to suit the weight of the glider and length of runway. With the exception of several demonstration launches, the Museum’s example of this type of device was not used by the VMFG due to rulings by the Department of Civil Aviation encouraging the use of aero tow launching at their site.

Significance

As far as is known this is the only device of its type in the world and is indicative of the ingenuity found amongst the Australian gliding fraternity.

Glider - Sailplane - SZD Pirat - Pirat

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat sailplane of predominately wood construction (some plastic elements)

Historical information

The SZD-30 Pirat was designed by Jerzy Smielkiewicz and first flew in 1966. Over 700 have been produced. The example registered as VH-GYN which was donated to the Australian Gliding Museum by Alan McMaster is one of two that have come to Australia. It carries serial number B-333 and was imported as a new aircraft which was test flown on 29 August 1970. During its logged flying life (last entry 15 April 1990) it was operated in the Northern Territory and Queensland and passed through a number of owners before Alan McMaster at Rockhampton; initially the Alice Springs Gliding Club and then individuals at Charleville and Yeronga in South Brisbane. The aircraft flew 1909 hours from 2073 launches. The log discloses numerous silver distance and duration achievements.

Significance

It is an example of the state of sailplane design in the 1960s when construction methods were moving from wood to glassfibre / composites.

Inscriptions & Markings

Sailplane serial number B-333 and registration “YN”

Glider – Sailplane –EPB 1 Tailless

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat tailless glider with wing tip rudders. Canopy is missing. The glider is of wood / fabric construction and is unpainted except for primer.

Historical information

The aircraft was built in 1957 by Cliff Brown. It is an EPB 1, a 26 foot tailless sailplane designed in United States by Al Backstrom, Phil Easley and Jack Powell in 1954 as a simple, cheap, compact craft.

Significance

A small number of single seat gliders of this type were built in Australia in the 1950s. As far as is presently known, the only surviving substantially complete EPB 1s are Cliff Brown’s glider and another held by the RAAF Association at Bull Creek in Western Australia. Unfortunately, no trace exists of the Flying Plank built by Glidair Sailplanes in Sydney and test flown by Fred Hoinville at Moorabbin in 1957. In addition, a larger two seat derivative (known as the Twin Plank) designed and built by Glidair Sailplanes (completed 1958) is held at the Power House Museum, Castlehill, in Sydney.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider – Sailplane – Schreder HP-14T - Schreder HP-14T – Registration VH-GIB

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

All metal single seat glider sailplane

Historical information

The Schreder HP 14T is a variant of an all metal single seat sailplane designed by Richard Schreder of USA in the 1960s. The HP14T featured an 18 metre ‘C’ wing and a ‘T’ tail in place of the Wortmann section wing and ‘V’ tail of the HP14. The design was marketed to home builders in kit form. However Slingsby Aviation in the UK produced three HP14s with a conventional tail arrangement. The Museum’s Schreder HP14T (VH-GIB) first flew on 31 August 1974. It has recorded 280 hours in the air from 239 launches to 28 January 1989, the date of its last flight. It is understood that VH-GIB was partly constructed in North America and completed in South Australia by C.G.M. Coxon. Ownership passed to the Georgeson Syndicate of Rockhamption, Queensland and later to Warren Mayfield of Victoria. Warren Mayfield donated the glider to the Museum in April 2002. Another Schreder HP14 (a ‘V’ tail type), registered as VH-GGB, was built in South Australia by Harry Bache of the Waikerie Gliding Club in 1975. As at December 2014, it is understood that VH-GGB is owned by a member of the Geelong Gliding Club in the Bacchus Marsh area.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration lettering on rudder and fuselage sides

Glider – Sailplane – Pelican 2 - Pelican 2 – Registration VH-GFY. Originally named Kite III

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden 2 seat glider sailplane with fabric covering. Distinctive features include the pod and boom fuselage with side by side seating for pilot and a second person. The canopy of perspex supported by aluminum framing opens with port and starboard segments separately folding upwards and forward. The instrument panel includes altimeter, airspeed indicator, slip indicator and variometers. In addition to the usual controls, there is a trim operated by a small wheel mounted centrally, at head height, on the bulkhead at the rear of the cockpit. Incorporated in the skid under the fuselage pod are two wheels (one approximately midships and the other at the rear end). It has a three piece cantilever wing of approximately nearly 17 metres. The ailerons run almost full length of the outer wing segments. A Gottingen 426 section has been used changing to M6 at the tips. Outer wing segments are joined to the centre section to give about 300 mm of dihedral at the tips. The glider is equipped with airbrakes. The colour scheme consists of orange fuselage with black nose and skid. The tailplane / elevator and rudder are painted white. The wing is predominantly white with an orange leading edge.

Historical information

This unique aircraft was conceived in 1943 as a two seat trainer. A very large part of the design work can be attributed to Jock Barratt and Harold Bradley. The general layout adopted is similar to the Kite I and Kite II single seat sailplanes of Martin Warner and Allan Campbell. Having regard to this heritage, the glider was originally named Kite III but renamed Pelican 2, perhaps because it was the second two seat training glider built by the Waikerie Gliding Club – the first being the Pelican, a reconfigured Pratt Utility glider. Pelican 2 was first flown in 1952 and regularly since then, at least until about 1992. The Pelican 2’s performance was found to be very good for sailplanes of its era and was often used for more advanced flying in addition to training new pilots. Very few changes have been made to the Pelican 2 over the years. The undercarriage was modified after its initial testing to improve the placement of the wheels. The trailing edge of the rudder (originally straight) was rounded adding to the surface area. The twin shoulder tow line bridles were replaced with a belly hook when aviation design rules declared shoulder bridles dangerous and a nose hook has since been added to allow for aero-towing. When the Pelican 2 was originally finished, it had an orange and silver colour scheme. The silver elements of the colour scheme were subsequently repainted white when silver dope became unavailable.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GFY On each side of rudder – “Pelican II” in black lettering on a rectangle of silver On each side of fuselage pod the letters ‘FY’ On each side of the fuselage, below the edge of the cockpit opening – “WAIKERIE” in black paint.

Plans – Larkin Aircraft Supply Co. Ltd ‘Lark’ glider -sailplane - Lark Glider Sailplane

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The plans consists of technical drawings on blueprint paper of the glider sailplane designed William Shackleton and built by the Larkin Aircraft Supply Co of Melbourne in 1930.

Historical information

The Lark glider sailplane was designed by William Shackleton in 1930 to meet the perceived demand for a glider with better performance than primary gliders, in Australia. Shackleton came to work for the Larkin Aircraft Supply Co Ltd as its Chief Engineer and designer in 1929 having been with the Beardmore aircraft company in the United Kingdom. The Lark first flew in January 1931 at Coode Island (the site of the Larkin operations and airfield in Melbourne). It was flown at Tower Hill near Koroit in the Western district of Victoria by Raymond Garrett who made a record breaking soaring flight of 1 hour 54 minutes on 19 May 1931. It was later transferred to the local gliding club and flown successfully until it was damaged beyond repair in a crash in 1933. Plans were sold by Larkin Aircraft Co Ltd for home built construction. A second Lark glider was built from plans by Harold Bradley in South Australia. He modified the wing design by tapering the tips. A third Lark derivative was built in northern NSW and flown by Eric Avery and others at Lismore. It had a modified wing with double struts.

Significance

Although there were only three known gliders of this type made and flown, the plans are of historical significance because it was the first successful Australian designed and built utility glider. The associations with the Larkin Aircraft Supply Co Ltd, a pioneering aircraft manufacturer and the notable aircraft designer of the time William Shackleton are also add weight to significance.

Glider – Sailplane – Grunau 4 - Grunau 4

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat wooden sailplane with fabric covering. Fully enclosed cockpit. The aircraft is white with Linden Green on the wing tips, tailplane and underside of the fuselage and also on the central wing cover.

Historical information

This aircraft was designed by Edmund Schneider as a single seat medium performance sailplane. Originally designated as the Grunau 3b but later named the Grunau 4. However, it was a new design with fully enclosed cockpit. The main point of difference to earlier Schneider Grunau designs was the tapered wings with the Gottingen 549 aerofoil. This design feature gave the Grunau 4 a better speed range compared to the Grunau Baby 2b or the Grunau 3. The prototype flew on 6 December 1953 and it went to the Waikerie Gliding Club. A second was delivered to the Dubbo Gliding Club in October of the next year and a third (the Australian Gliding Museum’s exhibit) built for the Adelaide Soaring Club in 1959. Another was built by Josef Brabec from a Schneider supplied kit from 1954 to 1956. Ownership history of GFA-HB-37:- Adelaide Soaring Club 1959 to September 1968 RAAF Laverton Gliding Club September 1968 to August 1973 RAAF Wagga Gliding Club September 1973 to September 1975 R.G. Mc Dicken (Southern Cross Gliding Club) January 1975 to May 2010 Derek Hardie May 2010 to July 2012 Australian Gliding Museum From July 2012 The glider was registered as VH-GLX on 21 October 1959. The registration was cancelled on 30 July 2014 as a result of a decision by the Museum to withdrawn the glider from service. The log book indicates that the glider recorded 2362 flying hours over approximately 40 years of active service. There are many long flights recorded. The glider was subject to a major restoration circa 1980 to complete a 20 year survey and address the deterioration that had occurred post 1974 as a result of it being left out in the weather at Wagga for several years. It was also affected by water damage in a flood at Camden in 1988 and rendered unserviceable for several years; and repaired and brought back to flying condition in 1993. The glider was a regular feature of Vintage glider meetings from 1993 to 2001.

Significance

The exhibit represents the final development of the "Grunau" single seat type by Edmund Schneider Ltd in Australia. Viewed together with the Grunau Baby gliders in the ATO Collection (Two Grunau Baby 2, and a Grunau Baby 3A), the changes to this glider type over a 30 year period can be recognized.

Inscriptions & Markings

Identification Plate in cockpit showing that glider is serial number 37 built by Edmund Schneider Ltd in 1959

Glider – Sailplane – Schneider ES49 - Schneider ES49 – Registration VH-GLL

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden and fabric covered two seat sailplane.

Historical information

The ES49 glider / sailplane was designed by Edmund Schneider in Germany before he migrated to Australia in the early 1950s. In Germany the ES49 was put into limited production by the Schleicher factory from 1951 to 1953 (8 produced). In Australia the ES49 is commonly referred to as the “Wallaby”; two were built by the Adelaide Soaring Club with assistance from Edmund Schneider Ltd and one independently from plans by Eric Hader and members of the Cooma Gliding Club. The Museum’s ES49 – serial number GFA-HB-36 - was built at Gawler from 1955 to 1958 and registered as VH-GLL on 15 January 1959. It was the second of the ES49s built by the Adelaide Soaring Club. Originally it had a rather distinctive appearance due to the use of a sleek P51 Mustang canopy to enclose the forward seating position of the cockpit. The glider, together with its sister VH-GDK, was used at the Gliding Federation of Australia National Gliding Schools at Gawler. In 1964 the glider was transferred to the Newcastle Gliding Club, Newcastle, in New South Wales and then in 1966 it went to the Albury and District Gliding Club, Albury, New South Wales. The Snowy Mountains Gliding Club, Khancoban, New South Wales acquired the glider in 1968 where it remained until 1974. In 1974 the glider transferred into private hands at Wodonga, Victoria, for two years and then to interests at Albury until 1985. At that stage the glider was acquired by a private owner at Bathurst, New South Wales, who undertook a restoration that included, amongst other work, the fitting of a more conventional cockpit canopy. The glider was at Warkworth, New South Wales in 1992 and became to be owned by Eric Oates who preserved it until he donated it to the Australian Gliding Museum. According to the logbook for VH-GLL held by the Museum, the glider was last flown in November 1990 and at that time had logged 2758 hours and 57 minutes from 15775 launches. The fuselage is currently under restoration at the Museum’s Dave Darbyshire workshop.

Significance

The ES49 – VH-GLL – is an example of the state of wood and fabric dual place sailplane design in the late 1940s. The glider served the Adelaide Soaring Club and subsequent owners well as a training and general purpose sailplane over many years. It is a rare example of the type (one of 4 existing in the world).

Glider – Sailplane – SZD Salamandra Replica - Salamandra

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden glider covered with plywood and fabric.

Historical information

The Salamandra is a Polish glider designed by Waclaw Czerwinski at the Military Glider Workshops in Krakow in 1936. This glider, designated “W.W.S.1”, was produced in substantial numbers prior to the second world war and used in Poland and some other eastern European countries for training pilots. Only one example survived the war, hidden away in the village of Goleszow in Silesia. In addition, no technical drawings could be found, so when the glider was discovered, the Gliding Institute being keen to re-establish gliding in Poland, used the glider to draw up new plans for construction. Five were built for the Institute in 1947 before production was resumed of the “Salamandra 48” at the SZD Jezow Workshops. Improvement were made by adding airbrakes and structural changes for the “Salamandra 49” and a windscreen and larger tailplane were changes adopted for the “Salamandra 53”. An export version designated “53A” was sold to and built under licence in China. Production of the Salamandra ceased in the early 1960s. Total production may have been in excess of 500. The glider was well regarded as a light weight trainer capable of soaring performance. The Museum’s replica was built by Ray Ash and may be may be classified as a “Salamandra 53”. However, he has added something of his own to the design by replacing the cable runs in the wings with control rods. The glider is substantially complete. The wings and tail / rudder surfaces have been covered with poly-fibre and doped. The fuselage woodwork is sealed with varnish. In addition to the finishing work (including painting) and rigging of the main components, the linkages for Ray’s control rod modification may need further engineering to make them operational.

Significance

The Ray Ash Salamandra is the first of the type to appear in Australia. The Salamandra did not play any role in the development of gliding in Australia in the early years. However, it is an important exhibit in that it shows in tangible form a nacelle fuselage training glider in configuration and construction detail. As such it revisits the pioneering era of the 1930s and 1940s in Australia when wood, wire and fabric were the rule and the nacelle primary glider was generally the first step up for pilots who had mastered the basics in an open primary.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider – Sailplane - Auto-Tug Engine - Ford Essex 3.8 litre V6 engine

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Ford auto engine mounted on mobile stand

Historical information

The 1982 Ford V6 engine, built at the Ford Essex Engine Plant at Windsor in Ontario Canada, was released by Ford for installation in a number of car and light truck models manufactured in Canada, United States, Mexico and Venezula. Production probably exceeded 7 million items. The Australian Gliding Museum’s exhibit was an engine converted for aircraft use that was bought for the Gliding Federation of Australia “Auto-Tug” program from Javelin Aircraft Company in Wichita in USA. “Auto-Tug” was an experimental program sponsored by the Gliding Federation of Australia to equip a glider – sailplane Piper Pawnee PA-25-150 tug with a water-cooled engine to alleviate the costs of running and maintaining the Lycoming engines fitted to Pawnee tugs in Australia. The program began in 1988 and was aimed at obtaining limited certification for converting dedicated glider – sailplane tow planes. The engine equipped with modified intake manifolds produced 198 hp for flight with the same propeller RPM for take-off as the original Lycoming 0-540 engine. However, fuel consumption was halved as the water cooling of the Ford engine enabled quicker descents with throttle closed following the release of the sailplane. Based on the results of GFA’s program, CASA concluded that engine was quite suitable for an aircraft installation and rated it more reliable than the equivalent Lycoming and Continental aircraft engine. The use of the 1982 Ford V6 engine type for Pawnee tug conversions was discontinued when the General Motors LS1 5.7 litre V8 became available. It is understood that a small number of conversions have been done using the LS1 engine. This brief history is based on information obtained from Mike Burns and David Sharples who were involved in the Auto-Tug program from 1988 to 1992. Technical information relating to the 1982 Ford V6 automotive engine is contained in a paper by D.L. Armstrong and G.F. Stirrat of the Engine Engineering Office at Ford.

Significance

To be assessed

Glider – Sailplane –Dunstable Kestrel - Dunstable Kestrel - often referred to as Percy Pratt’s “Red Kestrel”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden aircraft covered with plywood and fabric. Fuselage is presently unpainted and the wings and other surfaces are pink doped. Fully restored with the exception of painting.

Historical information

The Dunstable Kestrel was designed by W.L. (Bill) Manuel in 1935. It was the final development of the Wren series dating from 1931 by the same designer: in effect, a modified “Wren”. [Refer Martin Simons, Sailplanes 1920-1945, pp. 165 – 168]. Note, that a Wren was built in Australia in 1930s and flown at Kiama New South Wales. The original Kestrel was built by the Dunstable Sailplane Company established in the United Kingdom by Manuel and C.H. Latimer-Needham. It was destroyed in a crash in 1938. Manuel sold plans for the Kestrel and one was built by W.E. Godson in the United Kingdom. It is understood that the Godson Kestrel has not survived. Three were built in Australia by Rick New, Andrew Balsillie and Percy Pratt. The New and Pratt Kestrels are held by the Australian Gliding Museum. The Balsillie Kestrel is located in the Moorabbin Air Museum Victoria. One was built in the United States by Leslie Barton, Stanley Hrulinski and Thomas Nilon of Newark, New Jersey [refer Soaring, July 1937 p 6, including photograph pp 6, 12.] The fate of this aircraft is unknown. It is understood that the Pratt Kestrel was built in the (early 1930s??? or possibly about 1937???). It was flown regularly by Pratt at Geelong, Victoria. At the national rally organized by the Australian Gliding Association in December 1939 – January 1940 at the Belmont Common, Geelong, Victoria, Pratt, in his Kestrel, recorded an exceptional 13 kilometre cross country flight of one hour 43 minutes reaching a height of approximately 5500 metres [Allan Ash, Gliding in Australia, p 86].

Significance

The aircraft represents a fine example of the type. It is one of three that currently exist in Australia. The aircraft is also important for Australian gliding history because it was built, owned and flown by gliding pioneer Percy Pratt.

Glider – “Northrop” Zogling type primary - The “Davies, Darbyshire, Feil, Primary Glider”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Davies, Darbyshire, Feil, Primary glider consists of an open (uncovered) wooden framed fuselage (painted blue) with a brown vinyl covered seat, fabric covered wooden framed wings of constant chord (painted silver) with provision for attachment of semi-circular cane wing skids, and fabric covered wooden framed tailplane, elevators and rudder (painted silver). When assembled the airframe is wire braced.

Historical information

The “Northrop” is an American copy of the “Zogling” which was designed in Germany in the 1920s as a training glider. Apparently, the Northrop primary glider takes its name from a Marvin Northrop of Minneapolis who imported a Zogling from Germany and from that glider had plans drawn and published in a magazine called Modern Mechanics in 1930. The Australia Gliding Museum’s Northrop, known as the “Davies, Darbyshire, Feil, Primary Glider”, was built over the period of 1970 to 1974. The project was conceived by a pioneer of Australian gliding, Ken Davies, about 1969, as a hobby project and to experience afresh gliding flight of the early years. By that time, few primary gliders, which performed a fundamental role for gliding clubs in the 1930s and 1940s, remained in Australia. Ken began construction and was helped to finish the project by two old time Gliding Club of Victoria members, Dave Darbyshire and Rudi Feil. The glider was test flown on 8 March 1975 at Benalla. The glider was stored at the Gliding Club of Victoria and flown on special occasions in the 1980s. Later it was damaged at the 1996 vintage glider rally at Ararat as a result of a heavy landing. Storage was then provided for the glider by the Victorian Motorless Flight Group at Bacchus Marsh until it was returned to Dave Darbyshire for restoration in 1998. Fully restored, the glider was donated by Iris Davies and Dave Darbyshire to the Australian Gliding Museum in April 2001.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider - Sailplane - LK10A - Laister-Kauffman 10A two seat sailplane

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Modified LK10A glider consisting of tubular steel fuselage with a combination of fabric and metal covering, fabric covered wooden wings and other flying surfaces.

Historical information

The Laister-Kauffman 10A (LK10A) is a 2 seat a military training glider developed from a successful Jack Laister single seat glider called Yankee Doodle that first flew in 1938 and was exhibited at the Paris Air Show of 1939. The two seater variation was ordered in 1941 by the US Army for training glider pilots of troop carrying gliders. The military designation was XTG-4. The LK 10A glider was a simpler, more robust design than Yankee Doodle. A longer canopy enclosed both seating positions. The top of the fuselage formed a straight ridge from the top of the canopy to the point where the fin – rudder connected. Also, the design was simplified by adopting straight spar wings of 15.2 metres in place of gull wings of 14.170 metres. During the war years 156 LK10As were produced before the contracts to supply the US Army were terminated. Many of these were later sold as surplus. The Museum’s exhibit (serial number 122) was built in 1943. It was imported into Australia in the 1950s by Ric New, a member of the Gliding Club of Western Australia. Ric New modified the glider by “flat topping” the fuselage and making other aerodynamic changes. This kind of modification of the LK10A was a well tried strategy in United States for extracting better performance from the glider. It is understood that the reduction in weight and cleaner aerodynamics from the changes could increase the glide ratio from 1:24 to something like 1:30. The LK10A was located at the Gliding Club of Western Australia for many years. Records reveal that it was kept airworthy until about 1975.

Significance

The LK10A is an important acquisition in that it allows one to compare the state of two seat glider design in United States and the United Kingdom in the immediate post war period. It is interesting to note that at that time a number of clubs in Australia who acquired a two seat glider for training chose the United Kingdom open cockpit high strutted wing offerings from Slingsby (e.g. T31) instead of more innovative military surplus gliders from America. In the immediate post war period difficulties in obtaining import licences for items priced in US dollars may have been a factor.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider – Sailplane – ES49b Kangaroo - ES49b - Kangaroo

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This collection item consists of the airframe remnants of the second ES49b glider built by Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd. It was acquired new by the Toowoomba Gliding Club and later transferred to the Leichhardt Soaring Club (since disbanded) in Queensland circa 1953. It is understood that it was badly damaged in 1967. Remaining are parts of the fuselage, cockpit, canopy, control systems, wings, wing struts, tailplane, elevator and rudder, All of these parts have deteriorated greatly from ageing and weathering, even though they have been protected from direct exposure to the elements for much of the time. Nevertheless they show constructional detail and the colour scheme (predominantly white with dark green elements). The rudder, which is painted dark green and bears the name Leichhardt Soaring Club Mt Isa , helps identification and is witness to the glider’s past service in that area of central Queensland.

Historical information

The Kangaroo is a high wing metal strutted tandem two seater sailplane, constructed mainly from wood and covered in fabric. The design evolved out of the earlier ES49 Wallaby, but in fact was almost a new type. In appearance it was a more elegant type with better performance than its predecessor, the Wallaby. Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd built two ES 49b Kangaroo sailplanes and the Museum’s remains are of the second example. The first example no longer exists. The MUSEUM’S ES 49B , VH-GFL (its given registration), was sold new to the Toowoomba Gliding Club and after a number of years was sold to the newly established Leichhardt Soaring Club at Mount Isa. It was flown extensively from 1953 to 1967 at various Queensland locations until its ultimate demise at Longreach in Queensland. The wreckage was stored from 1967 to 1997 in a shed at Longreach until it was moved to Emerald in Queensland. In the year 2000 Australian Gliding Museum member Ron Geake travelled to Emerald and recovered the wreck to his property at Gympie in Queensland, and subsequently stored the airframe on behalf of the Museum until November 2011, when another Museum member Geoff Hearn travelled to Gympie and relocated the wreckage to the Bruce Brockhoff Annexe at Bacchus Marsh.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Serial serial number 4 by Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd. Formerly registered as VH-GFL

Glider – Taylor biplane hang glider replica (1) - The Taylor Glider

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden frame, wire braced and fabric covered biplane hang-glider

Historical information

The original “Taylor glider” was the aircraft used by George Taylor for the first heavier than air flight in Australia, which occurred on the 5 December 1909 on the beach at Narrabeen, New South Wales. On that historic day the glider was also flown by Edward Hallstrom, Charles Schultz, and Mrs Taylor and Mrs Schultz. The replicas were built by the Museum to celebrate the centenary of the first Australian heavier than air flight.

Significance

The glider is an accurate full size replica of George Taylor’s Glider. It is one of three built by the Museum. The second is held by the National Museum of Australia, Canberra. The third is on loan to the Moorabbin Air Museum, Melbourne.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider – Sailplane – Slingsby Skylark 4 - Skylark 4

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Skylark 4 is high wing single seat sailplane of mainly wooden construction with plywood and fabric covering. However, the cockpit and forward part of the fuselage consists of glass reinforced plastic which was innovative at the time that the type was designed. The cockpit provides for a semi reclining position for the pilot protected with a full Perspex canopy. The wings are made up of a centre section with constant chord and tapered wing tips. The aircraft has a conventional arrangement for the tail stabiliser / control surfaces.

Historical information

The Skylark 4, the final in the Slingsby Skylark series, dates from 1961. The design heralded a trend towards the use of plastics in the construction of gliders. Slingsby incorporated GRP (glass reinforced plastic) panels to achieve a streamlined fuselage nose and cockpit area while retaining the more traditional wood techniques for the rest of the aircraft. Another notable feature was the smooth wing surface that was obtained using a Gaboon ply skin across the ribs. Best glide performance of 1:33 was found to be comparable with the early full GRP glider designs. The Museum’s example (VH-GTB – C/N 1382) was built in 1963 and originally owned by Chuck Bentson of the UK. It was brought to Australia in 1967 by Jeremy Picket-Heaps and flown at various places including Benalla, Cooma and Gundaroo. In 1970 the glider was transferred to the New England Soaring Club. Many flights were made from Armidale and Bellata in Northern New South Wales. On one occasion, the glider was kept aloft for 8 hours 45 minutes and on another the pilot took it around a 500 kilometre triangle in nearly 8 hours. In 1980 it was sold to Ralph (“Feathers”) Crompton and was flown extensively in South Australia until 1988. The final owner before the glider was given to the Museum in 2004 was Ross Dutton of Melbourne. The last recorded flight occurred in 1992. The glider at that point had logged over 2000 hours flying time from about 2000 launches. The airframe is currently being restored to flying condition under the expert supervision of Museum volunteer Bob Wyatt.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

The sailplane bears construction number 1382 and is registered in Australia as VH-GTB

Glider - Sailplane - Golden Eagle

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat wood and fabric sailplane finished with white wings, tailplane and rudder and yellow fuselage

Historical information

The Golden Eagle is an original design by Geoff Richardson. Geoff commenced gliding in the early days of the sport circa 1933 in Melbourne, flying at Coode Island and Mt Frazer. In 1934, he began construction of a secondary type glider but scrapped it upon realizing that a better design was needed. He conducted further research and came up with a sailplane of similar size and general arrangement to the Grunau Baby but with a “Gull” wing using a Gottingen 535 wing section (the same as for the Grunau Baby). Geoff did all the technical calculations himself and even made up and tested a Casein glue for the construction. Geoff competed construction of his new sailplane (which he called the “Golden Eagle”) in 1937 and it was test flown at Laverton at the western edge of Melbourne in September 1937. On the same day, at Laverton, the Gliding Club of Victoria flew its new Grunau Baby 2 sailplane which it had imported as a finished machine from Edmund Schneider in Germany. The Golden Eagle was found to fly well, having a similar performance to the Grunau Baby. In the 1950s, the Golden Eagle was modified by rebuilding the front of the fuselage to enclose the cockpit with a Perspex canopy. A landing wheel was incorporated behind the skid. Spoilers were added to the wings and a trim tab to the elevators. The Golden Eagle has been flown with the VMFG (Victorian Motorless Flight Group) for most of its long life. When donated to the Australian Gliding Museum in 2016 by Alan Patching it was probably the oldest, continuously airworthy glider in the world. Having regard to the historical significance of the Golden Eagle, the Museum has decided to not to fly it anymore to avoid risk of loss or damage.

Significance

The exhibit is of great significance for Australian gliding history – the Golden Eagle is a flyable 1930s aircraft in excellent condition that was designed and built by an Australian gliding pioneer.

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration letters “FC” on fuselage nose port side, Australian flag, Vintage Gliders Australia and VMFG decals on rudder, “Golden Eagle” lettering in red on each side of the fuselage below the canopy, Aboriginal flag decal on port side of fuselage below the canopy.

Barograph

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Black metal box with viewing window containing aneroid barometer, clock and smoked metal disc with scribe for tracing altitude of aircraft.

Historical information

Imported barograph not available in Australia so Wally Burgess manufactured barograph himself. Subsequently, Winter barographs were imported from Germany.

Significance

Necessary for recording of heights flown in glider rated as being of high performance in the 1950's.

Inscriptions & Markings

On top of disc enclosing clock is very faint inscription "DO NOT ..AN OR USE SET ...B"

Glider – Rhon Ranger Primary - “Rhon Ranger”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The glider consists of a simple open wooden frame fuselage (painted red) with pink doped fabric covered section at rear, fabric covered wooden framed wing of constant cord (pink doped), fabric covered wooden framed tailplane, elevators and rudder (pink doped); plywood covered wooden framed floats (painted white) mounted on metal struts (painted white). Airframe, when assembled, is braced with tubular metal struts (painted white). In addition the wing root joint between the wings is covered by plywood panel fairings. The pilots seat and back rest cushion are covered with black vinyl upholstery.

Historical information

This “Rhon Ranger” glider was built by Hain (Jack) Friswell in 1948. The “Rhon Ranger” is a type of primary glider (or Zogling variant), designed in Europe, for which plans were published in America in the 1930s. It is understood that in America it is also called the “Mead” primary glider after the Chicago firm that marketed Rhon Ranger kits and plans there – for example see advertisement Popular Science July 1931 page 124. A “Mead Rhone Ranger” replica is held by the New England Air Museum, USA; see photograph at www.neam.org. A short video may also be viewed of another example under construction at the Owls Head Transportation Museum near Rockland, Maine, USA on www.youtube.com/1930 mead primary glider restoration. The history of the Australian Gliding Museum’s Friswell Rhon Ranger prior to 1970 is scant. It is understood that it was flown at Melbourne in the 1950s and probably not since then until the 1970s. The excellent structural condition of the glider suggests that it has had very little use. In 1970, or thereabouts, the glider was purchased by the Hearn family from Melbourne who equipped it with floats so that it could be launched by power boat tow at Lake Eildon in central Victoria. In March 2001 the glider was donated by Bruce Hearn to the Australian Gliding Museum.

Significance

To be assessed

Glider – Sailplane – SZD Bocian 9B-1D - SZD Bocian (“Stork”) – formerly Registration Number VH-GNL

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This exhibit is a large two seat glider /sailplane of wood and fabric construction. All components are present with the exception of instruments. However, at the time that the aircraft was transferred to the Museum it had been taken apart for major restoration work. As received it is stripped of the top coats of paint and a number of components (including, amongst others, tip fairings, nose cone and cockpit elements) that were removed for facilitating the repair process.

Historical information

The Bocian is a versatile training sailplane that first flew in 1952. The type has been modified in several respects over the course of production by SZD (tailplane and rudder in particular). About 600 have been built; many for export to 27 countries (including Australia). The aerobatic capability and fine performance (best glide ratio of 26) has enabled the Bocian to be used to train competition pilots as well as those of lesser experience. Many world gliding records were set in the 1950s and 1960s in Bocian gliders. The Museum’s example is a type D test flown in Poland on 3 and 4 April 1963. It was imported into Australia in September 1963 by Austerserve Pty Ltd. The first owner was the Alice Springs Gliding Club and the glider had name “Cumulus” painted on the side of the fuselage (since removed). The glider had recorded 726 hours 46 minutes flying time from 2138 launches as at July 1967 when it was transferred to the Darwin Gliding Club. It appears that the glider was damaged in June 1968. The substantial repairs to the fuselage, both wings and tailplane and other minor repairs were completed on 13 October 1968. The glider continued flying with the Darwin Gliding Club until August 1969 at which time the service to that club amounted to 59 hours 7 minutes flying time from 348 flights. Between August 1969 and August 1976 no flights are recorded in the logbook. It is understood that on its last flight at Bachelor, south of Darwin in the Northern Territory (August 1969) it was severely damaged when it crashed after spinning while being auto-tow launched (although this is not expressly mentioned in the logbook). Reg Hancock purchased the damaged glider and rebuilt the port wing and restored it to airworthy condition (September 1976). It was then transferred to Colac, Victoria, and used by the Colac Gliding Group at the Yeo airfield until February 1981, adding another 153 hours from 403 flights to the glider’s record. After airworthy inspection in September 1982 the glider was used by the Geelong Gliding Club until 1983 (logbook details not held). The 20 year survey was then due and the glider fell out of service. In the course of the most recent restoration attempt it was discovered that the glue used in construction had deteriorated and that it was no longer feasible to bring it back to an airworthy condition.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

The glider, serial number 803, was registered as VH-GNL

Glider – Sailplane – EP 1 Spruce Goose - EP 1 - Spruce Goose – Formerly Registered as VH-GHE

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Small, light weight, sailplane of wooden construction with fabric covering on wings (strutted), elevator and rudder. Instruments have been removed and control column is not in place.

Historical information

This exhibit was designed and built by Ted Pascoe in 1955 as a smaller than average single seat sailplane that could be operated by two or three people. At times it was launched by auto-towing by Ted Pascoe and his wife without the aid of a third person at the wing tip. The glider exhibited good soaring capability and was used for some cross country flights. For instance, in 1956 Ted Pascoe succeeded in a 36 mile goal flight during which he attained a maximum height of 4500 feet. It was flown at the Mt Gambier Gliding Club from 1956 until about 1961. The Log Book shows that it was flown at Everard in 1961 and at Everard, Waikerie, Gawler and Keith in 1962. There is a gap in flying record for this aircraft from 1962 until 1967. From 1967 to 1972 it was flown regularly at various places in South Australia including Whitwarta, Stonefield, Renmark, and Gawler. For many years it was owned and flown by Mervyn Gill of the Balaklava Gliding Club.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GHE – Serial Number GFA/HB/24

Painting – Looking for the Gap - Buckmaster - Looking for the Gap, Glenrowan

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Oil painting on masonite board, in frame – shows white Schneider ES 60 ‘Boomerang’ glider flying over hilly wooded country

Historical information

Painted in 1967

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

On painting – signed by artist 1967 On rear of frame – “Looking for the Gap, Glenrowan”

Glider – Sailplane - Hall Cherokee II - Hall Cherokee II

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Cherokee is a single seat wooden home built glider. The glider is constructed from wood, plywood, fabric and metal fittings, all commercial grade except for main wing fittings, pulleys, cables and bolts. The fuselage is simple with four main longerons and bulkheads with diagonal bracing. The wing has two identical solid spars which form a geodetic structure, hence the leading edge is non-structural.

Historical information

The Hall Cherokee II glider is an American design for amateur construction from plans. The designer was Stan Hall (1915-2009), a professional engineer, who gained extensive experience in the United States aviation industry during World War 2 including the programs for military gliders. He continued to work as an engineer for aircraft manufacturers and as a consultant to the industry after the war. He was active in gliding and, in particular, the home built sailplane movement. The Cherokee II was one of about 10 glider designs that he produced: it came out in 1956. It is understood that over 100 Cherokee gliders have been built. In Australia the number is possibly 10 or 11. The Hall Cherokee VH-GVO was built by R.D Meares of Caringbah, New South Wales, and was owned the R.D. Meares syndicate made up of A. Jamieson, M. Vitek, H. Whalen, A. Palmer and G. Dunlop, all from around Sydney. It apparently passed to a second syndicate [names not recorded] and then to Barry Leverton of Peat Ridge, New South Wales and Eric Oats of Wahroonga, New South Wales in succession. Eric donated the glider to the Australian Gliding Museum in December 2009. The glider was registered as VH-GVO on 11 October 1973 and given serial number “GFA-HB-82” by the Gliding Federation of Australia. The Logbook for VH-GVO appears to be a complete record of the flying history; in aggregate 210 hours 40 minutes in the air from 331 flights. The first test hop occurred on 29 July 1972 at Camden, where it was probably based for some time. It was also taken on excursion to Forbes (December 1972 / January 1973), Greenthorpe (April 1974), Narromine (December 1974). It is understood that VH-GVO was also flown at the Hunter Valley Gliding Club near Warkworth New South Wales. VH-GVO was last flown on 22 July 1986. Many of the flights recorded are of one or two hours duration. A ‘Silver C’ flight of 5 hours 25 minutes was made at Narromine in VH-GVO on 14 January 1975 by Gordon [surname not recorded but possibly Dunlop]. The glider was inspected and certified as airworthy and in a reasonable condition by Dieter Hildenbrand at the Hunter Valley Gliding Club in July 1986. Since that time, until transferred to the Australian Gliding Museum, the glider was in storage. Structural restoration work has been completed on the fuselage and one wing. However, inspection of the other wing revealed extensive rodent damage to the ribs and spars and consequently a decision was taken to make it a static exhibit.

Significance

The exhibit is an example of home built construction of a type that has proved popular amongst amateur glider builders.

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GVO – serial number GFA-HB-82

Journal – Gliding Club of Victoria - Ear Bash: The Journal of the Gliding Club of Victoria; Vol. 2, No. 6, 15 January 1949

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Newsletter of 26 pages

Historical information

This collection item contains reports of flying and social activities by Gliding Club of Victoria members who attended the Club’s 1948 Christmas Camp at Benalla airfield. Included is a lengthy report of the remarkable storm cloud flight by Keith Chamberlin in a Grunau Baby 2B glider –sailplane. Also, briefly records the crash of the Merlin two seat training glider.

Significance

To be assessed

Glider –Sailplane – FS-24 Phonix - Phonix

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Glassfibre single seat sailplane, finished white with blue stripes on fin and rudder.

Historical information

The FS-24 Phonix is the first sailplane design to be built using a moulded fiberglass sandwich technique. It was designed by Hermann Nagele and Richard Eppler leading a group setup for the purpose at Stuttgart Technical University in the early 1950s. Initial construction was undertaken at workshops of Wolf Hirth and the first prototype was completed at the Bolkow Aircraft Company where Nagele and another member of the group, Rudi Lindner, had gained employment. It flew on 27 November 1957. Two further prototypes were built incorporating a T-tail and other refinements. Eight in all were built before production was stopped in 1961. A number of gliding records were broken in Phonix sailplanes in Germany in 1962-1963. It was found to have a best glide ratio of 40:1. The Museum’s example, No. 403 is a prototype that was built on 25 May 1960 [Registration D-8354]. It was converted at Bolkow to a Phonix T in 1963 and sold to a private owner in Switzerland [Registration HB-746] and later then to gliding club Segelfluggruppe Solothurn in 1965. The glider returned to Germany in 1971 (Meersburg) and re-registered as D-0738. It moved to a new owner in Allershausen in 1976, and again to Lindhoft in 1982. In 1983 the glider was sold to owners at Hasselt, Belgium and given registration OO-ZQD. In 1989 a further change of ownership occurred and the glider went to Leusden in the Netherlands where it was registered as PH-949. In 2006 the Phonix No.403 was imported into Australia by John Ashford of the Geelong Gliding Club. On 30 January 2007, it was registered as VH-GRP. However, as at January 2016 it has not been flown in Australia. In the course of its flying history the glider was damaged several times and repaired. At one stage a larger rudder was fitted and later on this modification was reversed. With the original conversion to a Phonix T and subsequent repairs and changes to equipment the weight of the airframe increased from 182 kg to approximately 220 kg. Nevertheless, the wing loading is a modest 20kg/square metre. As at January 2016, minor repairs and airworthiness certification are required to return the glider to flying condition.

Significance

This exhibit is highly significant as it is one of only eight of this pioneering sailplane design. It is the only one in Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

Australian registration GRP on rudder; Serial Number 403 and Vintage glider club of Netherlands plaque in cockpit

Glider – Sailplane – Slingsby T53B - Slingsby T53B – registration VH-GUB

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

All metal twin seat glider / sailplane, painted white with red tips and markings.

Historical information

The Slingsby T53 glider was designed by J. Sellars in the 1960s as an easily maintained two seat trainer suitable for RAF Air Training Corp use and for sale in the USA and Australian markets where wooden gliders were becoming less popular. The Slingsby T53 prototype first flew in 1967. The T53B version has a conventional fixed tailplane with elevator instead of the all-moving tailplane of the original type. The “B” version also has ailerons of narrower chord and lacks wing flaps. Further changes were made to the fin (extended above the tailplane) for the final “C” version. Production of the T53 at Slingsby was disrupted by a fire at the factory in 1968. As a consequence the contract to supply 40 of the type to the RAF was cancelled and only a relatively small number (possibly 27) were made by Slingsby before the project was discontinued. The rights were later sold to Yorkshire Sailplanes. It designated the glider as the YS53 Sovereign – only a few were produced (possibly 3). The Australian Gliding Museum’s example is a type “B” model. It bears serial number 1686 and was manufactured in 1967. It was registered in Australia as VH-GUB in name of Boonah Gliding Club, Boonah, which is about 90 kilometres south west of Brisbane in Queensland. Locally it was called “the Bomber”! It is believed that it is the only one of its type to come to Australia.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

“Slingsby T53B” on each side of fuselage below cockpit opening; Registration VH-GUB on each side of fuselage at rear.

Glider - Lessing

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Metal bird-like glider – without fabric coverings

Historical information

Kurt Lessing migrated from Dresden, Germany to Australia after World War 2. He was a very skilled machinist and proceeded to build this somewhat strange machine more or less in secret in his workshop at Woodend, Victoria. In addition, Kurt built a ramp 20 metres high, with winches and a 800 metre catapult for launching the glider, with the pilot lying in a prone position. However, he died before completing the project and the glider was never flown. The glider was acquired by the donor, Bill Riley, at an auction.

Significance

The exhibit it is unusual in the use of metal fabrication in the construction of this primitive type of glider. The workmanship is of a remarkable standard and the glider may be fairly described as a work of art.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider - Sailplane - Schneider ES 52 Kookaburra - ES 52 Kookaburra, Mark 1 - VH-GFF

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This is a wood and fabric covered aircraft that is being rebuilt from the components of several aircraft as a non-flying exhibit.

Historical information

The ES52 Kookaburra is a two seat high wing glider – sailplane of wooden construction designed by Harry Schneider and built Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd. It was first flown on 26 June 1954 and became the glider of choice for training new pilots of many gliding clubs around Australia in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s. Several found there way to New Zealand. Further two kits were sent to Brazil and at least one of these was finished and flow successfully. The ES52 performed well with a glide ratio of about 22:1 and had soaring and cross-country capabilities. A notable feature of the ES52 design was the staggered side-by-side seating arrangement of the cockpit. This made for good in flight communication between instructor and trainee. Overall, thirty six were built by Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd. A longer wing version (the ES52B) was also introduced that had a better glide ratio (around 25:1). Five examples of this version were built. In Germany a modified ES52 was built incorporating a metal tube fuselage frame and with the addition of a engine driven propeller mounted on top of the wing which enabled the glider to be self launching. This museum collection item consists of the fuselage, tailplane, elevators, fin, rudder from the Mark I, ES 52 Kookaburra, formerly registered as VH-GFF and last owned by the Barcaldine and District Airsports Club of Queensland. The glider was in a damaged condition when it was acquired by the Museum. A decision was made by the Museum to repair the glider for display rather than endeavouring to restore it to an airworthy condition. The reconstruction of the wings is being undertaken by using parts of damaged ES 52 Kookaburra wings (as it happened from later ES 52 Marks). For more convenient storage and handling the new wing consists of three pieces that can be disassembled as the need requires. Of course, originally VH-GFF had a one piece wing – as is the case for all Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd made ES 52s. With the exception of this modification and some necessary minor adjustments to the wing centre section to refit the perspex canopy, the end result is a Mark I replica that can be more easily transported to exhibitions. The Log Book for VH-GFF reveals operational life with a succession of gliding clubs around Australia: Victorian Motorless Flight Group - December 1954 to July 1959; Alice Springs Gliding Club - July 1959 to February 1963; RAAF Richmond - February 1963 to September 1964; RAAF Williamtown - September 1964 to August 1972; Gayndah Gliding Club - August 1972 to October 1976; Blackwater Gliding Club - August 1972 to October 1976?; Southern Downs Aero and Soaring Club - January 1978 to August 1980; Charleville Gliding Club - August1980 to date not disclosed; Barcaldine and District Airsports Club – dates not disclosed – who, after liaison with Ian Patching, donated it to the Australian Gliding Museum on 10th March 2002. For the museum, the glider was collected from Queensland by Ian Patching and Geoff Hearn.

Significance

VH-GFF was the third ES52 built and remains to date the oldest in existence. This exhibit will be of interest to gliding enthusiasts wishing to inspect the popular two seat club trainer of a by-gone era.

Inscriptions & Markings

Fuselage marked with Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd Serial Number 9 and comes from the glider previously registered as VH-GFF.

Glider – Ultralight aircraft - Motorised - “Hi-Jack”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

“Hi-Jack” is a powered ultralight aircraft (in effect a motorized primary glider) made mainly from aluminum tubing with the wings, tailplane / elevators and rudder covered with aircraft fabric. The aircraft relies heavily of wire bracing, internally and externally, for structural integrity. The single, wooden, fixed pitch propeller is driven by a horizontally opposed twin cylinder Skylark motor. The pilot’s seat is mounted on the open tubular framing under the wing and behind a curved Perspex windscreen. The undercarriage consists of two wheels mounted on each side of the fuselage and a tail skid. The wings have been built from two round aluminum spars (one forming the leading edge) with thin round aluminum ribs. The forward third of the cord are covered with thin plywood and the whole wing covered with aircraft fabric. Diagonal internal wire bracing has been used. The wings are finished with silver and blue paint (the blue being applied to the forward third of the chord). The tailplane /elevators are painted silver. The fin/rudder is painted white with red and blue markings.

Historical information

Hi-Jack is a powered ultralight recreational aircraft designed and built by Jack Hearn and his son Norm in the late 1970s. The airframe design was based on a Primary Glider with the addition of an engine. The engine is a horizonally opposed two cylinder type of unknown capacity or Hp, it was manufactured in the outer eastern suburb of Beaconsfield and was known as a Skylark. Hi -Jack has been flown from at least two sites being the Berwick airfield and the model aeroplane flying site at Boundary Rd Laverton North. The club that operates from this site is known as MARCS (model aircraft radio control society). Jack advises that the total flying time would possibly not exceed one hour.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

“Hi-Jack” in red lettering between diagonal blue stripes on each side of the rudder. Also on rudder in red lettering: “J.D. Hearn and Son Pty Ltd Aircraft Division”

Glider – Sailplane – Hutter H17 - Hutter H17 – VH-GQM – once known as “Sweetwings”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Small, wooden construction fabric covered sailplane. Fuselage and wing struts are painted yellow. Wings, rudder and tailplane / elevator are primed with pink dope. It has an open cockpit with small clear Perspex wind screen. Instruments include airspeed indicator and altimeter tucked neatly under front edge of the cockpit rim.

Historical information

The Hutter H17 is a small single seat glider with a wing span of 9.69 metres, designed in 1934 by Wolfgang Hutter, for flying in the Austrian Alps. Construction of the museum’s example, “Sweetwings” (now registered as VH-GQM), commenced in Perth in 1949. It is one of two Hutter H17 gliders built in Western Australia at the time – the other “Fleetwings” (formerly VH-HDQ and since re-registered as VH-GXV) is located at Millicent, South Australia. Ownership transferred to G.R. Reichelt of Tocumwal New South Wales and later to D.B. Hunt of Thornbury in Melbourne and later Mt Isa, Queensland. It was acquired by Bill Riley of Tocumwal who donated it to the Museum. No flight data is available for this glider for the period of 1949 until 1972. The Logbook held for this aircraft shows its flying record from 19 August 1972 when it was test flown by B. Perssons at Tocumwal following a rebuild and 20 year inspection. Several notable cross country flights are recorded, including - on 30 September 1972 it was flown from Tocumwal to Corowa (landed) and return, a distance of 150 kilometres and flying time of 5 hours 37 minutes; on 5 November 1972 it was flown from Tocumwal to Deniliquin and return, a distance of 120 kilometres and a flying time of 4 hours 46 minutes; on 19 November 1972 it was flown from Tocumwal to Benalla and nearly back to Tocumwal, a distance of 200 kilometres in a flying time of 4 hours 33 minutes; and on 17 February 1973 it was flown from Tocumwal to Jerilderie and almost back to Tocumwal, a distance of 100 kilometres in a flying time of 5 hours 15 minutes. It is assumed that these flights were by the owner at the time, namely G.R Reichelt. In April 1973 the glider was flown by Gilbert Simkins, John Kent, Rex Teakle, Ron Muir and Allan Lattermore at Surfers Paradise Gardens on the Gold Coast, Queensland and in October 1973 at Peak Downs (Charlie Russell’s Kerras Strip), Queensland. The Logbook indicates that it was operated in the Albury area, New South Wales, until 1977 (but no flight data is recorded). The last entry is for two flights on 25 October 1979 when an airworthy inspection was carried out at Tocumwal by G.R Reichelt. After this date, and prior to transfer to the Museum, the glider was displayed suspended in the main hangar at Tocumwal.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registered as VH-GQM

Glider – Sailplane – EON Olympia Mark 2 - Olympia - Registered as VH-GHR

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wooden glider with fabric covering

Historical information

Prior to World War II an international competition was held for design of a standard sailplane for use in Olympic competition in 1940 in Finland. The design chosen was the “Meise” from DFS in Germany and its designer Hans Jacob. The 1940 Olympics were cancelled due to the outbreak of war and post war international gliding competition has been organized as World Championships, not as an Olympic event. After the war the Meise was manufactured by firms in Europe and a few were built by amateurs from plans. In 1945, a United Kingdom firm, Chilton Aircraft Limited, revised the plans for the DFS Meise Olympia keeping its aerodynamic shape and prepared new technical drawings for the production of the Chilton Olympia. It engaged Elliotts of Newbury (a firm with aircraft production experience during the war) to built a set of wings for its prototype. The wings were made by Elliotts but it apparently refused to let Chiltons have the jigs required to build more wings. The matter was resolved by Chiltons transferring its production rights and equipment to Elliotts. Elliotts produced several batches of Olympias (the “EON Olympia”) – probably about 150 in total from 1947 including Marks 1, 2 and 3 versions (featuring some structural changes and design improvements). The Australian Gliding Museum’s Olympia is a Mark 2 (actually 2B according to the logbook) which can be distinguished by the built in main wheel and blown Perspex canopy. It was designated as serial number EON/O/34 by Elliotts. It was damaged badly at Bristol, UK, in 1949. The wreckage was acquired by a Melbourne based syndicate including Dave Darbyshire, and imported into Australia. Additional damage occurred in shipping due to the need to shorten the wings to fit them into a crate. The syndicate rebuilt the glider and re-launched it in 1956 (registration number VH-GHR). It was flown by the syndicate and several gliding clubs in Victoria and South Australia until about 1972.

Inscriptions & Markings

VH-GHR

Glider Sailplane - Scheibe Bergfalke II-55 - Scheibe Bergfalke II-55

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Sailplane of wood and tubular steel construction covered with plywood and fabric.

Historical information

The Scheibe Bergfalke II is a high performance (for its day) and relatively inexpensive two seat sailplane designed by Egon Scheibe. It appeared in 1953 as a derivative of the Scheibe Mu13 Bergfalke and incorporated design changes to resolve and simplify structural issues that affected the Mu13. The Bergfalke II-55 followed in 1955. About 300 of the Bergfalke II and II-55 types were built in Germany and Sweden. This aircraft of the Bergfalke II-55 type was built by Scheibe in 1961 (work number 339). After a long life at Fliegergruppe Leimen e.V. logging 6754 flights and 1588 hours in the air, the glider was imported into Australia from Germany in June 2004. The glider was registered as VH-GKZ in January 2005 by Thomas Dattler of Millumbindy and flown only a small number of occasions (probably at Byron Soaring Centre). The Mangalore Gliding Club appears to have taken an interest in the glider in 2006 and completed routine Form 2 inspections in 2006 and 2009. The amount of usage during this period is unclear as the logbook records held are incomplete. In January 2012 the glider was purchased by the Southern Riverina Gliding Club and flown at Tocumwal until it was damaged in 2013 due to being blown over while at rest on the airfield. The 10 year survey was due in March 2013 and a decision was made by the club to donate the glider to the Australian Gliding Museum instead of completing the necessary repairs for returning it to an airworthy condition. It is estimated that the glider was flown about 300 times and perhaps logged about 140 hours in the air in Australia.

Significance

Possibly the only example of this type in Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration GKZ

Glider – Sailplane – Alexander Schleicher K4 - AS-K4 Rhonlerche II

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Tandem two seat high wing strutted glider consisting of wood with plywood and fabric wings, tailplane / elevators, fin / rudder, and tubular steel framed, fabric covered fuselage. The glider is finished in a white, green and yellow paint scheme.

Historical information

The Alexander Schleicher K4 was designed in the mid 1950s by Rudolf Kaiser as a club training glider and several hundred were built. The Australian Gliding Museum’s K4, VH-IKK, serial number 55, was built in 1957 and purchased by the RAF Air Training Corp. U.K. After some years it was sold to a New Zealand Gliding Club and in 1990 with over 4800 hours, number of launches unknown, it was purchased by the Brisbane Valley Soaring Club and in 1994 was transferred to the Far North Queensland Soaring Centre who operated it from the Mareeba airfield. On 9 January 2000 it was donated to Vintage Gliders Australia by Kevin Sedgman at a presentation ceremony with Alan Patching receiving the glider during the Rally at Lake Keepit. It has been flown regularly at vintage glider rallies and now is one of the flyable exhibits held by the Museum. VH-IKK is one of two K4s in Australia, the other being VH-XJP which is believed to be in storage in Queensland in a damaged condition.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

“Vintage Gliders Australia” name in white lettering on fuselage sides and registration VH-IKK in black lettering on rudder

Rudder from Geelong Gliding Club Primary Glider

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Fabric covered wooden framed primary glider rudder with metal levers decorated with silver and dark red checked design. The item has a cat logo on one side and markings on the other of places where the Geelong Gliding Club flew in its early years.

Historical information

The Geelong Gliding Club was formed in June 1929 at a meeting held at the Belmont Common hangar of Percy Pratt. The club built a Zogling (Primary Glider) based on plans obtained from Germany and flew it off nearby hills at Lovely Banks and other places in the Geelong region. The check rudder design (without logo and markings) is evident in a picture of a Geelong Gliding Club Zogling flying at Tower Hill near Warrambool, Victoria, at Easter 1931 and this lends support to assurances given by people at Geelong Gliding Club that the rudder was part of the Club’s first glider. The logo and markings appear to be a more recent elaboration to the design.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

On port side – Cat logo. On starboard side – Geelong Glider Club; and place names including Geelong Aerodrome, Batesford, Ceres, Lovely Banks, Tower Hill, Koroit, Mount Moriac; and years, 1929-1933

Glider – Sailplane: Kaiser Ka 2B - Kaiser Ka 2B Rhonschwalbe

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Tandem two seat training glider / sailplane of wood and fabric construction

Historical information

The Ka 2, a tandem two seat training sailplane of 15 metre wing span, was designed by Rudolf Kaiser for Schleicher in 1953. It was a versatile craft due to its good cross country soaring capability. With the Ka 2B the design was improved in 1955 by lengthening the wing span to 16 metres and increasing the dihedral and tip washout. The fuselage was lengthened slightly as well. Schleicher built 42 Ka2s from 1953 to 1955 and 75 Ka 2Bs from 1955 to 1957. In addition Schleicher supplied kits for construction of the sailplane by independent builders. The Australian Gliding Museum’s example is the single Ka 2b built in Australia from plans and is designated as GFA-HB-47. The club concerned was the Illawarra Soaring Club of Sydney. The glider registered as VH-GHO and first flew in October 1960. However, within a short time it was badly damaged and needed major repairs which took over a year to complete. After lengthy service at Illawarra Soaring Club it was transferred to the Stirling Gliding Club in Western Australia in August 1976. Again it suffered damage in a landing accident in 1978. The damaged glider was put into storage at Northam where it remained for approximately 11 years. It was acquired by Mike Valentine in 1989 and brought back to flying condition at Bacchus Marsh, Victoria. The last entry in the log book is dated January 1997 at which time it had accumulated 1170 hours from 2446 flights. The last owner prior to transfer to the Australian Gliding Museum was John Ashford of the Geelong Gliding Club.

Significance

The aircraft is the only Ka 2b built in Australia by an amateur group from plans

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GHO Serial number - GFA HB 47

Glider – sailplane – rudder – Harold Bradley’s ES 57 Kingfisher

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Rudder made of wood with fabric covering, painted light green, with registration lettering in white.

Historical information

The exhibit is from the Kingfisher glider (ES 57 - a Schneider design with a single piece high wing) redesigned and built by Harold Bradley about 1970. This is one of several unique gliders that Harold Bradley built or helped to build. With Harry Schneider’s support, Harold Bradley lowered the wing so that it joined the fuselage at the top longeron. The result was much improved visibility for the pilot without any measurable impact on performance. The wing was changed to two piece wing making for more convenient storage and transportation. The rudder is the only part of the glider that still exists.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GLQ

Glider – Sailplane – Slingsby T49 - Slingsby T49-B Capstan 2 seat sailplane

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Sailplane of wood, plywood and fabric construction with some fibreglass elements.

Historical information

The T49 “Capstan” is a two seat trainer, developed by Slingsby in 1960-1961 from an earlier design, the T42 “Eagle”. A major difference was that the T49 cockpit was arranged with side by side seating instead of the tandem seats of the earlier design. The prototype T49 flew in 1961. The production version (T49-B) was slightly different to the prototype in that it was given a taller fin. Thirty two were built by Slingsby. The Australian Gliding Museum example of this type (Serial Number FMD86), designated T49-B, is one of a pair built in 1964 from kits by Fred M. Dunn (Sailplane Services Ltd (NZ)) at Christchurch, New Zealand. It was registered as ZK-GDU in July 1964 and was flown at Wigram Gliding Club and Canterbury Gliding Club. It had logged over 4000 hours as at December 1987. The glider was brought to Australia in 1988 and registered as VH-CQH by Allen Rundle of Maclean, near Grafton, New South Wales. The glider’s last New Zealand maintenance release expired in January 1988. It has not flown in Australia.

Significance

The exhibit is one of a relatively small number (probably about a dozen) of this Slingsby type that remain. It is the only T49B in Australia, as the other built by Fred Dunn in 1964 (and brought to Australia by Allen Rundle) was found to be beyond repair and has been broken up.

Inscriptions & Markings

Marked with NZ registration “DU”

Glider – Sailplane - Dunstable Kestrel - Dunstable Kestrel – commonly referred to as Ric New’s Kestrel

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wood and fabric glider – off-white colour scheme – crazed flaking paint on fuselage – nose of fuselage has been modified by addition of streamlining – damage includes impact holes to plywood, especially on starboard side – wings have been stripped of fabric covering and some ribs are missing – tailplane and rudder are in reasonable condition although, like wings, have been stripped of fabric. Overall, while the main elements of this aircraft are present, there are many missing fittings and will require extensive works to restore to a static display standard approximating original condition, if that course is chosen.

Historical information

The Dunstable Kestrel was designed by W.L. (Bill) Manuel in 1935. It was the final development of the Wren series dating from 1931 by the same designer: in effect, a modified “Wren”. [Refer Martin Simons, Sailplanes 1920-1945, pp. 165 – 168] Note, a Wren was built in Australia in the 1930s and flown at Kiama in New South Wales. The original Kestrel was built by the Dunstable Sailplane Company established in the United Kingdom by Manuel and C.H. Latimer-Needham. It was destroyed in a crash in 1938. Manuel sold plans for the Kestrel and one was built by W.E. Godson in the United Kingdom. It is understood that the Godson Kestrel has not survived. Three were built in Australia by Rick New, Andrew Balsillie and Percy Pratt. The New and Pratt Kestrels are held by the Australian Gliding Museum. The Balsillie Kestrel is located in the Moorabbin Air Museum Victoria. One was built in the United States by Leslie Barton, Stanley Hrulinski and Thomas Nilon of Newark, New Jersey [refer Soaring, July 1937 p 6, including photograph pp 6, 12.] The fate of this aircraft is unknown. The New Kestrel (finished in silver paint) was built in 1939 by Ric New and members of the Lake Pinjar Soaring Club. It first flew on 26 December 1939 at Lake Pinjar. The first extensive flight was on 7 January 1940 when Ric New managed to stay aloft for 30 minutes and reach a height of 3000 metres. Unfortunately the Kestrel was badly damaged the same day when another club member Jim Brabazon stalled and spun in. The Kestrel was repaired by June 1940 and flown extensively at Lake Pinjar in 1940 and 1941 until Government authorities intervened and ploughed up Lake Pinjar as a wartime measure to prevent it being used as a landing field by the enemy [Allan Ash, Gliding in Australia, pp 92 – 94]. The Lake Pinjar Soaring club was reformed as the Perth Gliding Club after the end of the war and was joined by Ric New with his Kestrel [Allan Ash, Gliding in Australia, p 103]. The New Kestrel was held in storage at the Gliding Club of Western Australia prior to transfer to the Australia Gliding Museum. The Deed of Gift indicates that it was formerly owned by Wally Williams.

Significance

The aircraft is in poor condition and has some non-original elements. It is one of three that currently exist. Nevertheless it is considered to be an important exhibit for relating the history of gliding in Western Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Glider Fuselage – ES54 Gnome

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Tubular steel framed glider fuselage – partially covered with fabric

Historical information

In 1952 and the several years hence, there were repeated calls from some influential gliding people in Australia for small, simple and inexpensive gliders to encourage participation in the sport. A leading proponent, Fred Hoinville, obtained plans from the United States for a tailless glider for amateur construction, the EPB-1 “Plank”, and disseminated copies to interested glider builders. A firm in Sydney (Glidair Sailplanes) also expressed interest in building gliders of that type. Glidair Sailplanes later designed and built a 2 seat tailless version called the “Twin Plank” and built an EPB-1 Plank for Fred Hoinville. Edmund Schneider responded to the calls by designing and testing a small simple glider with a 25 foot wing span (7.57 metres), the same span as the EPB-1. The prototype (designated the ES54 Gnome) first flew on 1 May 1955. While the glider flew without serious vices, it had poor soaring capabilities – as the Schneiders had expected for such as small glider. Perhaps not surprisingly, there was a lack on interest from gliding clubs and private buyers and the project was dropped by Schneiders in May 1956. In 1955, the ES54 Gnome prototype passed to the Port Pirie Gliding Club in South Australia. Modifications were made to the “pod and boom” fuselage. [The history of the glider from 1955 to 1995 is yet to be ascertained] In 1995, the Gnome was found in a wrecked condition and its remains (essentially the fuselage) were recovered by Ray Ash and Cathy Conway and prepared for display in a South Australian museum. The remains were donated to the Australian Gliding Museum by Cathy Conway in September 2014.

Significance

The exhibit is the remains of a glider that was not successful but nonetheless it is of historical interest because it helped demonstrate that the midget gliders were not the answer for making the sport more attractive to potential gliding enthusiasts with limited wealth.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Photograph – Gliding Club of Victoria primary glider - Fletcher Smith

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Photographic print -framed

Historical information

Fletcher Smith was a member of the Geelong Gliding Club. He is shown sitting on the Gliding Club of Victoria primary glider at Mordialloc, which was one of the places where that club flew in the 1940s.

Inscriptions & Markings

On rear – Born 17 January 1925 – Fletcher Smith in Gliding Club of Victoria Primary glider, Australia Day 1943 at Mordialloc Victoria – (Signed) F.D. Smith

Glider – Sailplane – Morelli M-100S - Morelli M-100S – Registered as VH-GUD

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat sailplane of wooden construction with plywood and aircraft fabric covering.

Historical information

The Morelli M-100S 15 metre Italian sailplane first flew in 1960 and over 220 were built in Italy and France. The design was a development of the M100 incorporating changes to fit the international rules for “Standard” class competition gliders: thus the designation “S”. The name applied to the M-100 gliders built in France was “Mesange” This example has undergone major restoration to display condition by Museum volunteers. In the main the airframe is made up of the glider serial number 69 formerly registered in Australia as VH-GUD. The restoration incorporated parts of another wrecked M100 (serial number 71). VH-GUD was previously owned by Darling Downs Soaring Club (from 28 October 1967) and Beaudesert Gliding Club (from 30 October 1971). It was test flown in Australia on 28 October 1967 and logged 1533 hours 41 minutes from 2731 launches until it crashed and was wrecked on 11 February 1978.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Serial Number 69 - Registered as VH-GUD

Glider / Sailplane – Grunau Baby 2B - Grunau Baby 2B - “Blue Grunau” – formerly registered as VH-GLC

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat glider /sailplane of wood and fabric construction in the course of restoration as a non flying exhibit.

Historical information

This Grunau Baby 2B glider, often referred to by those who are familiar with it, as the “Blue Grunau”, was built by Australian Sailplanes in 1946 and acquired by a syndicate consisting of Norm Hyde, Rob Dowling, Leo Dowling, Dick Duckworth and Ted Desmond of the Gliding Club of Victoria. Piloted by syndicate members and other GCV members the glider performed well in soaring and cross country flights at the various sites used by the GCV in 1947, 1948 and 1949. The glider went to Sydney for a while and then returned to be operated by another syndicate at the GCV. Pat Burke and Bob McAliece bought the glider in the 1950s and then sold it to Keith, Jack and Bruce Hearn of Melbourne. In 1957 the Blue Grunau moved to Western Australia and was added to the Glider Register as VH-GLC. There were a series of owners, as follows: 12 December 1957: G.R Higginson of Bedford Park, W.A. 10 January 1958: C. Ludeman of Beechboro, W.A. and G. Brown of Belmont, W.A. 3 November 1959: G.H. Brown of Carlisle, W.A. 24 July 1961: D. Woodward of Karalee, W.A. 20 November 1963: G.H. Brown of Carlisle, W.A. 4 February 1964: Gliding Club of W.A. 30 November 1965: Narrogin Gliding Club, W.A. 1 June 1968: R.T. Brough and J.W. Dewhurst of Rossmoyne, W.A. 15 October 1972: V.G. Kolsky and partners of Medina, W.A. As at the 16 June 1985 the owners were J. Welsh of Huntingdale, and W.A. and A.H. Smith of Gosnells, W.A. The glider has come to the Australian Gliding Museum via the RAAFA (WA) Division. The flying record of the Blue Grunau has been logged for the period of 28 December 1957 to 17 September 1975: Time in air – 559 hours 37 minutes from 1513 flights. The glider suffered damage in a number of flying accidents: in particular from accidents on 4 November 1967 and 17 September 1975. It appears that, in the course of the major repairs that occurred, modifications were made to the airframe including fitting of spoilers to the wings and changing the profile of the fuselage nose. Also, at some stage, the cockpit was enclosed with a Schneider Kingfisher type Perspex canopy. The Australian Gliding Museum has repaired the airframe restoring the fuselage to its original shape.

Significance

To be assessed

Glider - Sailplane - MOBA2D

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Composite single seat glider / sailplane finished in bright yellow

Historical information

MOBA2 is a 15 metre sailplane designed by Gary Sunderland, who was an aeronautical engineer working for the Department of Civil Aviation (Australia) and a member of the Victorian Motorless Flight Group (VMFG). The design gave effect to ideas that he developed circa 1970 for an aircraft that he could build himself. He entered a 13 metre wingspan version of his MOBA design (MOBA2B) in an Australian Gliding sailplane design competition that was announced in 1970. The competition called for sailplane designs with a maximum wingspan of 13 metres that could be built by amateurs in a small workshop with limited tools and facilities. In 1973, Gary’s MOBA was judged by the competition panel as equal best with the other outstanding submission, which were chosen from a field of 19 entrants. However, after gathering further information and deliberation by the competition panel neither of the two outstanding designs were chosen as the winner. Notwithstanding the outcome, in 1974 Gary proceeded built his glider to the original 15 metre design. The wing was equipped with camber changing flaps that were permitted under special standard class rules for the 1974 world championships. Changes were made along the way in the light of construction experience and the completed glider was given the designation MOBA2C. The glider first flew on 12 December 1979. It was never flown in standard class competition as by the time the glider was built the special 1974 rules were revoked and wing flaps were no longer permitted in that class. However, Gary flew MOBA2C in the Australian national gliding competitions held at Benalla in the summer of 1979 / 1980 competing in the open class. After adjustment to the aileron gearing during initial trials MOBA2C was found to fly well and in competition produced performances believed to be better than contemporary standard class sailplanes but not as good as the open class machines. The glider was later modified in a number of respects including amongst other things the installation of spoilers located just forward of the wing flaps and by increasing the chord marginally at the wing root. With these changes the glider type was given the designation MOBA2D. The last recorded flights occurred in February 1996 at which time MOBA2 had flown an aggregate of 401 hours and 59 minutes during its 297 launches. Its operational life was brought to an end due to expansion of the foam in the wings causing distortion of the wing surface.

Significance

The MOBA2 is a notable home built 1970s sailplane design that featured a number of innovative elements including composite construction without the need for expensive jigs, nose cone canopy and asymmetrical placement of control column.

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration "GVI" on fuselage; Kangaroo, Australian Flag and VMFG decals on vertical stabiliser

Glider – Sailplane – Schleicher K 7 “Rhonadler” - Schleicher K 7 Rhonadler – Registration Number VH-GNX

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Two seat high wing glider sailplane finished in white with red detailing. The flight instruments are absent from the cockpit.

Historical information

The Schleicher K7 is a high wing tandem two-seat sailplane designed in the late 1950s by Rudolf Kaiser for the Alexander Schleicher company in Germany. The fuselage is built using steel tube framing covered with fabric. The swept-forward cantilever wing is of wood and fabric construction with a single spar and a plywood covered leading edge “D” box for strength. The wing is equipped with Schempp-Hirth airbrakes. The K7 first flew in 1959. It is a versatile design that can be used for both basic and more advanced training of pilots. Over 500 were built. VH-GNX was manufactured in Germany and imported into Australia by Edmund Schneider Limited. It was test flown by them at Parafield Aerodrome, Adelaide, South Australia in March 1964. The original owner of VH-GNX was the Adelaide Soaring Club and it was maintained by Edmund Schneider Limited until May 1971. It appears that about this time it was transferred to the Gold Coast Soaring Club. In July 1974, after it had flown for an aggregate 3075 hours from 13919 flights, it was purchased by the Bundaberg Soaring Club. About 10 years later, it was acquired by the Bendigo Gliding Club. At that stage it had recorded over 4600 hours flying time from 21546 launches. When it was retired from service by the Bendigo Gliding Club in June 2006 due to age related defects the hours flown had reached 7259 from 31820 flights. It appears that the airframe has had a relatively trouble free life with only minor damage from storage / ground handling incidents, a heavy landing (January 1987) and a bird strike (January 2002). It was donated to the Museum in April 2007.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Serial Number 7134, registered as VH-GNX. The registration appears on each side of the Fin / Rudder in red lettering

Altair Glider Sailplane - The Altair glider

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Altair glider is a single place 18m span cantilever wing glider constructed from spruce and aircraft plywood. The laminar flow wing is completely covered in plywood with a ply balsa sandwich for the leading edge and the airbrakes are unique being located in the trailing edge of the wings. All these features were done in an effort to retain laminar flow over the wing and achieve a high performance.

Historical information

The glider was built between January 1956 and November 1958 with first flight on 20 December 1958. After a few flights the cockpit was lengthened and the glider flown by Cliff Gurr and Ron Adair to complete their FAI Gold C badges. Cliff set an Australian record for an out and return flight (between Gawler and Renmark) of 230 miles (368 km) in 1961. The glider was flown by only Ron and Cliff until Mervyn Waghorn joined Ron to fly in the National Championships at Waikerie in 1967. Ron took the glider to Sydney but left it in the care of Dave Rees, Doug Vanstan, Laurie Harrison, John Harsley and Haydn Dunn of the Geelong Gliding Club while he went overseas. Doug fitted a new canopy and rebuilt the aileron bellcranks to improve their operation. When Alan Patching returned from his overseas stint the glider was flown in competitions and at vintage rallies. On 31 March 1987 Alan purchased the glider from Ron for the sum of one shilling and named the owners as himself, Doug Vanstan and Ian Patching.

Significance

The glider is the only 18m machine to have been either designed or built in Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

The wings, empennage and top of the fuselage are painted white with the rest of the fuselage red. The word ‘Altair’ appears on both sides at the top of the fin.

Glider – Sailplane – Schneider Grunau Baby 3A - Grunau Baby Mark 3A – registration VH-GHV and originally referred to as the “Red Grunau”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Glider of wood and fabric construction, with steel wing struts. Currently painted crème with yellow details. Underside of fuselage is painted orange.

Historical information

This aircraft, the first glider built by Schneiders after they immigrated to Australia, was test flown on 3 January 1953 by Dave Darbyshire and Owen Lewis. It is the only machine of its type. It is essentially a Grunau Baby 2B with a Perspex enclosed cockpit, wing airbrakes and a landing wheel. However, the wing design came from an existing Grunau 3 type that was being built in Germany. The glider has given extensive service for a number of owners – including the Gliding Club of Victoria, Sunraysia Gliding Club, Millicent Gliding Club, Max Bugler of Morwell and Garth Hudson of Brighton in Victoria. Prior to being donated to the Australian Gliding Museum in January 2001 the glider had logged over 2200 hours flying time from over 9000 flights.

Significance

The glider is an improved Grunau Baby design that Edmund Schneider built after coming to Australia.

Inscriptions & Markings

Registered as VH-GHV

Glider – Sailplane – ES59 Arrow - ES 59 Arrow – registered as VH-GNH

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This aircraft is a single seat wooden sailplane with one piece wing. The instruments are not present except for altimeter. Fin and rudder are of swept back design. Colour scheme is creamy off white combined with merging yellow, orange and red elements (similar to Northern Territory logo colours) – a ‘sunset’ theme. The underside of the fuselage has the sunset colouring as does the wing tips and rudder. The aircraft came to the museum on an open trailer that had been designed to carry the one piece wing.

Historical information

This aircraft is one of 9 single seat ES 59 advanced club sailplanes manufactured by Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd in the 1960s. It was first flown in August 1963 and delivered to the Darling Downs Soaring Club at Toowoomba Queensland. At that Club it had 2603 flights and recorded a total airtime of 1475 hours. In addition to many local circuits and soaring and cross country flying, it was used at gliding competitions, including Nationals at Benalla in December 1964, State Championships at Oakey in April 1965, at Warwick in April 1966, and at (Inverell?) in March 1967. On at least 15 occasions flight times in excess of 5 hours duration were achieved. Piloting the glider on some of these long flights were E Maiden, D McCaffrey, and L Richards. On 5 October 1970, the glider had a new life when it was transferred to D. B. Clark of Mangerton New South Wales and subsequently to the Wollongong Gliding Club in New South Wales. It recorded 1927 flights with a total airtime of 1179 hours at the club between October 1970 and June 1988. Competition appearances included the State Championships held at Forbes in January 1972. Places away from Wollongong where the glider was launched include Cootamundra, Wagga, Temora, Marulon, Narromine, Leeton, Nowra, Goulburn, Horsham, Greenthorpe. Notable long flights in this glider while it was with Wollongong Gliding Club includes; 5 hours 41 minutes by D. Illyes on 10 December 1972, Silver C flight of 5 hours 50 minutes by D. Chessor on 29 December 1972, Silver C flight of 5 hours 21 minutes by R. Roots on 28 December 1973, a 226 km flight of 6 hours 57 minutes by P. Riley on 5 January 1975, Silver C flight of 5 hours 16 minutes by R. Lewis on 7 January 1976, a 6 hour 20 minute 300 km triangle flight attempt by D. Illyes on 10 January 1976, a 6 hour 55 minute 300 km triangle attempt by P Rigby on 30 January 1977. In addition P Riley achieved a Gold C height on 2 January 1975 and two other 5 hour flights by unnamed pilots were made in this glider on 5 and 6 January 1977. On 15 June 1988 it was transferred to Ron Geake who transported it to Warrego in Northern Territory (flown once at Alice Springs), and then to Gympie in Queensland where it was flown about 20 times by the end of 1995. It was also flown on a small number of occasions at Forbes in New South Wales in 1996 and 1997. During 1998 and 1999 the glider was sparsely used (9 flights) at locations that have not been recorded. From May 1999 until transfer to the Australian Gliding Museum in May 2011 it apparently was not flown. Aggregate airtime hours for the glider stand at 2702 hours 53 minutes. It has been launched 4569 times. In addition to the numerous minor repairs, the glider has undergone some significant overhauls. In 1964 and 1968 it was damaged in heavy landings. On the latter occasion the fuselage was partially rebuilt with a number of new bulkheads supplied by Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd. In 1971, the major overhaul included the stripping and replacement of the fabric and a complete repainting. It had 20 and 30 year inspections in November 1982 and March 1994 respectively. On each occasion it was noted that the aircraft has not had any major accidents. After the 30 year inspection it was re-covered with “Stits” fabric and again repainted. An ES59 Arrow (not the Australian Gliding Museum’s example) was the first Australian designed sailplane to fly at a gliding world championship. It was flown by Jack Iggulden at Argentina in 1963.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registered as VH-GHN Plate in cockpit with details of manufacturer states; manufactured by E. Schneider Ltd, Adelaide SA; Type ES 59; Serial Number 62; Date August 1963. Letters ‘NH’ in red on fuselage sides rear of wing, and on underside of port wing. Stickers of Northern Territory logo (silhouetted bird in flight on sunset) are located on each side of fin.

Glider – Sailplane – Woodstock 1 - “Woody-Roo” – Registration VH-IKL

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Home built single seat sailplane of wooden construction finished in a light desert sand colour with aboriginal art theme markings.

Historical information

This glider type was designed by Jim Maupin in United States in the 1970s. The prototype first flew in 1978. It is a design intended as suitable for amateur construction using wood (principally Douglas Fir and Birch plywood). It is understood that hundreds of sets of plans have been sold. It is not known how many Woodstocks have been built but there are at least 3 flyable examples in existence in Australia. Over time the design has been altered increasing the wingspan from 11.9 metres to 12.6 metres and then to 13.1 metres for Types 1, 2 and 3 respectively. Some builders of Woodstock gliders have also made their own changes to the Jim Maupin design. The construction of the Museum’s Woodstock (a “Woodstock 1”) was commenced by Ken Davies who, due to age related health difficulties, was unable to finish the project. The project was taken over by James Garay and was completed in 2001. It is registered with the Gliding Federation of Australia as GFA/HB123 and allocated letters VH-IKL. It is practically a new aircraft with very few flying hours logged. VH-IKL differs from the original Woodstock 1 design in one respect in that the rear fuselage has been modified to enable the tailplane to be removed for de-rigging. The Museum holds technical drawings prepared by Ken Davies in relation to this feature of the glider. James Garay kindly donated VH-IKL to the Australian Gliding Museum in March 2013.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Marked with registration – VH-IKL

Glider - Sailplane - Kaiser Ka8b

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat sailplane made with a steel tube framed fuselage and wooden wings. A glass plastic moulding has been used to form the top of the fuselage forward of the cockpit. The structure is fabric covered.

Historical information

The Ka 8 was designed by Rudolf Kaiser in 1957 and built by Alexander Schleicher. It has been described as the single seat version of the Ka 7 Rhonadler. The Ka 8 proved popular with clubs in its role as a sailplane for early solo flying. Over 1100 were produced. The Museum’s example is a Ka 8B which is the second variant of the design, distinguishable by a larger blown Plexiglas canopy and improved ailerons. The particular glider was built by the RAAF Williamtown Gliding Club from kit supplied by Edmund Schneider Ltd of South Australia as agent for Alexander Schleicher. It was test flown on 8 July 1967. For a period from August 1994 it was owned by a syndicate at the Bendigo Gliding Club. The last entry in the log book is dated January 1995 at which time the glider had accumulated 1148 hours from 2303 flights. From 1967 to 1994, the glider was flown at numerous places including Williamtown, Bellata, Warkworth, Dubbo, Waikerie, Quirindi, Tamworth, Redding, Narromine, Leeton and Keepit. During 1994 and 1995 it was flown a small number of times at Bendigo. A notable flight recorded in the logbook is dated 31 October 1971 when W. Kenny reached 11,000 feet in height during a flight of 5 hours 10 minutes. The last owner prior to the transfer of the glider to the Australian Gliding Museum in 2015 was John Ashford of the Geelong Gliding Club. The glider carries Serial Number 8478-SH and appears to have been registered firstly as VH-GPA and secondly as VH-GMA. The last registration (VH-GMA) was cancelled in 2011. Curiously, the serial number recorded for this registration is 8479-SH.

Inscriptions & Markings

The glider serial number 8478-SH and the registration VH-GMA.

Glider – Sailplane – Vogt LO-150 - Vogt LO-150 – Registered as VH-GUC

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat competition sailplane of wood construction.

Historical information

The LO150 is a sailplane first produced in 1954. Designed in Germany by Alfred Vogt, the LO150 is of all wood construction. It has a two piece wing of 15 metre (49 feet) span and a fuselage of monocoque design. The LO150 is development of the 10 metre (33 feet) span LO100 which is one of the few fully aerobatic sailplanes in the world. The LO150 is in the semi-aerobatic category. The first of the type to be imported into Australia arrived in late 1955. In January 1956 this aircraft was used to create a world speed record of just under 75 km/h for speed around a 300 km triangle and went on to win the Australian National Gliding Championships. The Museum’s LO150 (VH-GUC) – serial number EB71 was imported from Germany in 1971 by the late Frank Erdmann and an ownership syndicate formed. Over the years J. Buchanan, N.L. Lovell and Partners and W.S. Mayfield have held ownership interests in the glider. No history of the glider prior to its arrival in Australia is known. Its first flight in Australia was on 6 February 1971 at Bacchus Marsh when a test flight of 35 minutes was conducted by way of aerotow by Doug Vanston. On the same day another 3 flights totaling 2 hours 55 minutes were conducted at Bacchus Marsh. Shortly after its initial testing VH-GUC was transported to Horsham for the annual competition there and from 7 flights over the forthcoming days it averaged just on 4 hours per flight. Local flying continued at Bacchus Marsh on a sporadic basis until December 1972 – January 1973 when the glider was flown at the National gliding competition at Waikerie in South Australia. Some 17 flights were undertaken there in VH-GUC for a total flight time of 34 hours 33 minutes covering cross country courses of 1366 km. From 1974 to 1978 the glider was flown regularly. It appeared that the annual Horsham gliding competitions each of those years and performed well. It was awarded first place in the Sports Class on day one of competition in February 1978. Over the following years the glider was flown on a sporadic basis until its last logged flight of 1 hour 15 minutes on 3 January 1988. The log for the glider indicates that, since arriving in Australia, it has flown 315 hours from 273 launches, which is a commendable average performance of over an hour per flight. VH-GUC was donated to the Museum by Warren Mayfield in 2002. Substantial glue deterioration was discovered in one wing and, as a result, a decision has been made not to restore the glider to an airworthy condition. In due course the glider will be repainted and further prepared for display.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registered as VH-GUC

Glider – Sailplane – Schneider ES50 - ES50 Club – formerly registered as VH-GHP

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This is a two seat high wing aircraft of mainly wood and fabric construction. The cockpit area of the fuselage is fabric over tubular steel framing. All exterior surfaces are pink doped only. Restoration is yet to be completed.

Historical information

ES50 was built in 1953 and is the only one of its type. It was designed by Schneider to comply with specifications laid down by the Gliding Federation of Australia for a basic two seat training glider*. It was first flown on 10 May 1953 and delivered to the Renmark Gliding Club. The log book shows that it later passed to other gliding clubs, namely Millicent Gliding Club, Corangamite Soaring Club, Sydney Technical College Gliding Club. Overall, as at September 1967, the glider had logged over 5000 flights and a total airtime of 388 hours. The Museum volunteers have partly refurbished the ES50 to static display standard – painting yet to be completed in addition to refitting of instruments. [*Plans were also prepared for a single seat version which never eventuated]

Significance

This glider is one of Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd earliest Australian designs. However, it was a later Schneider design, the ES 52 Kookaburra, which was accepted by many Australian gliding clubs for filling their need for a basic two seat training glider in the 1950s and 1960s.

Inscriptions & Markings

Given serial number 3 by manufacturer and registered as VH-GHP

Glider – Sailplane – L13 Blanik - L13 Blanik – Registration VH-GAQ

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Blanik VH-GAQ is a large two seat glider – sailplane of metal construction. It is finished in a white colour scheme with red detailing consisting of a red fuselage nose and adjoining red stripe along the fuselage sides to about midships. The control surfaces (ailerons, flaps, elevators and rudder) are covered with aircraft fabric and painted silver. The Perspex canopy fully encloses the cockpit which is fully equipped for dual flying.

Historical information

The Let 13 Blanik was designed in 1956 by Karel Dlouhý of VZLÚ Letňany as a training glider. It filled that role very well and approximately 3000 have been built since production started in 1958. However, following a fatal accident involving a Blanik in Austria in 2010 that raised concerns about main spar metal fatigue, the type was grounded in Europe and America. In Australia, the extension of the life of this type of glider beyond 5000 hours / 18000 launches is dependent on compliance with directives for the inspection and modification of fatigue critical components. It is understood that VH-GAQ was built in 1971 and first registered on 14 August 1972. It is a Blanik that has been retired from service because of the metal fatigue concerns that apply to the type generally and the expense involved in complying with the applicable directives for on-going airworthiness certification. VH-GAQ was donated to the Australian Gliding Museum by the Australian Junior Gliding Club in 2010.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Registration VH-GAQ in black on sides of fuselage to the rear

Glider – Sailplane - Slingsby T31b - Slingsby T31b Tandem Tutor

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The T31b is an open cockpit, tandem, two-seater glider with high, pylon mounted two piece wing supported by double, wire braced, steel tube struts. The glider is fitted with a main wheel, rubber-block sprung, wooden nose skid and steel leaf sprung, brass shod tailskid. The basic controls of aileron, rudder and elevator are not supplemented with pitch trim. Wing lift spoilers and both aerotow and winch releases are fitted. The instrument panels in both cockpits are fitted with an airspeed indicator, cosim variometer and altimeter. This red and silver painted wood and fabric covered aircraft is in excellent condition having been restored to full airworthy status by the Australian Gliding Museum.

Historical information

After completion by Geoff Higginson, the T31b, later registered VH-GDB, was taken to Caversham Airfield, then home of the Gliding Club of Western Australia (GCWA), for its first test flights on July 29th, 1956. With the introduction of this aircraft into the club fleet the club was able to resume dual training after having been dependent on training in primaries for the previous 10 years (the club had had an earlier short foray into dual training with a nacelled two-seater primary glider in 1945/46 which had proved the worth of dual training to them). Unfortunately, after 397 flights, the T31b was crashed on approach on 15 June 1958 at Caversham. The wreckage was sent to Edmund Schneider Pty Ltd in Adelaide by RAAF heavy transport (freight a freebie) for repair. Harry Schneider negotiated with the club for them to buy a new ES52 Kookaburra instead of going ahead with the repair of the T31b as it would be the better value option for them. John Pollnitz, a carpenter/joiner by trade and an ab-initio member of the Waikerie Gliding Club at the time approached the secretary of the GCWA at Harry Schneider’s suggestion to purchase the wreck. John’s offer of 125 pounds was accepted (receipt dated 26. 1.1961) and the T31b, after having the port wing spars repaired by Harry, was transported to John’s garage/workshop at his home at Pennington S.A.. John proceeded with repairing the fuselage which was matchsticks forward of the main bulkhead and broken in two places behind the rear main bulkhead. With no plans to guide him (Slingsby would not sell plans) it was a difficult process, but with the original rudder cables to guide him, he was able to work out the dimensions and successfully jig up the fuselage for repair. Wear marks on the control torque tube enabled him to accurately place some of the new bulkheads. He desired to glider to have a prettier, more Kookaburra like nose than its original snob nose form and this was when it acquired its present, unique amongst T31s, shape. Cleve Gandy, John’s friend and mentor in gliding, assisted with the project. Eventually, due to lack of space, the project was moved to Cleve’s workshop at Port Road, Alberton, where the pair completed it. A fully enclosed canopy, spoilers and pitch trim were added. The main wheel was moved forward a little and the nose-skid was not refitted. The exterior, nose mounted pitot and static probes were not refitted, the pitot and static pick-ups being fitted cleanly into the nose of the fuselage to reduce drag. The first flight of the newly rebuilt glider took place on Sunday 14 October 1961 at Clare S.A., Cleve Gandy and Col McKinnon taking it to 4000ft. on a 45 minute flight. The glider began its new working life at Clare due to John Pollnitz’s and Cleve Gandy’s generosity in loaning it to the Clare Soaring Club to replace the club’s Kookaburra while it was being rebuilt after a blowover. The Kookaburra was returned to service in early December 1962. In the December 1962 issue of Australian Gliding (AG), the T31b was advertised for sale for £500. It was purchased by John Harding and Stan Nightingale of Dubbo. Stan took delivery of the glider at Gawler. On demonstrating the glider at Gawler, Cleve Gandy and Stan Nightingale reached a height of 10,000 feet during a 2 hour flight. Due to the freezing temperatures at that height they would have appreciated its enclosed canopy! The glider flew at Dubbo in January and was flown to Narramine on a goal flight (a distance of 24 miles) with the hope that a new club would be formed there. In the May 1963 issue of AG the newly formed Wimmera Soaring Club advertised for a two-seater glider with which to begin flying operations. John Harding and Stan Nightingale responded offering the T31b for sale. A delegation from the Wimmera Soaring Club including Tommy Thompson, Lex Brown and Reg Stewart immediately dashed to Dubbo and delightedly returned with the glider. Reg Stewart described it in his report in AG’s Club News of October 1963 as “really a beauty”. The Wimmera Soaring Club must have decided pretty rapidly that for training purposes, the glider was better off having a nose skid after all, for by December 1963 it was pictured in AG, armed with a skid forward of the existing main wheel position. It looked very impressive at that time with the club emblem of a brolga painted on the fuselage nose. On 14 March 1966 the Wimmera Soaring Club took delivery of a Kookaburra and put the T31b on the market in order to finance the new acquisition. They were flooded with offers from new clubs and noted that they could have sold the T31b six times over! The lucky purchaser was the Pioneer Valley Soaring Club of Mackay in Queensland [More information needed]. _____________________ Additional Historical Note from Geoff Hearn: VH-GDB is one of five of this type to grace Australian skies. Three including GDB were assembled in Australia from kits supplied by Slingsby’s in England, the other two were delivered as completed airframes. To date only four remain of which two are airworthy. There was a further unique example built which incorporated improvements on the T31b. Its designation is T35 Austral and the one and only example is held in the Australian Gliding Museum collection.

Significance

[To be evaluated]

Inscriptions & Markings

SLINGSBY – T31b (nose – both sides) DB Australian Gliding Museum (rudder – both sides) It has been given Serial Number GFA/HB/12 and is registered as VH-GDB

Painting - Landscape - The First Aerotow – Gawler – 5 March 1950

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Oil and Ink Painting - Framed

Historical information

Shows a DH Tiger Moth aeroplane towing an orange glider at take off. Glider appears to be a Grunau Baby II. The scene commemorates the first aero tow of a glider at a former RAAF airfield at Gawler, South Australia which was used by the Gliding and Soaring Club of South Australia in the late 1940s and 1950s.

Inscriptions & Markings

On painting – Signature of Artist On back of painting – “The First Aero Tow – Gawler – 5 March 1950” On back of painting – Small certificate signed by Barmera Show convenor, J. Agg – indicating that the painting won a prize at 1984 show

Glider – Sailplane – Bolkow Phoebus C - Bolkow Phoebus C – registration VH-GSW

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

The Museum’s Phoebus is a modern looking single seat glass fibre sailplane with a ‘T’ tailplane. It is finished in white with light red detailing including thin red stripe on wings and some red striping on fuselage sides from nose to underneath wings.

Historical information

The Phoebus is a fibreglass composite sailplane that was designed by H. Nagele, R. Linder and R. Eppler in the early 1960s for competition flying. It is a derivative from the Akaflieg Stuttart Phonix which was the first sailplane to be built of fibreglass. The first Phoebus, a Standard Class design with a 15 metre wingspan, flew in 1964. The Phoebus C is the open class version of the type that was introduced in 1967. It has a 17 metre wing span, retractable wheel and tail brake parachute. Several hundred Phoebus sailplanes (all versions) were made by the manufacturer Bolkow at Ottobrun in Germany before production ended in 1970. The Museum’s Phoebus C, serial number 866, was built in 1969. It was donated to the Museum by Ian Cohn in 2008.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Serial number 866 on plate affixed inside cockpit – registration VH-GSW which has been painted on the sides of the fuselage rear of the wings. A Freistaat Bayern crest has been applied to each side of the vertical stabilizer.

Photograph – Framed - Geelong Gliding Club primary glider - Geelong Gliding Club primary glider flying at Tower Hill at Easter 1931

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Framed black and white photograph

Historical information

The photograph was taken at the first big inter-club gliding rally in Australia that was run by the Victorian Gliding Association at Tower Hill, Koroit, over the four day Easter holiday weekend in 1931. For more information about this event see Allan Ash, Gliding in Australia, Hudson, Hawthorn, 1990, pp 20-21. The glider shown is a Zogling that was built in 1929 by the Geelong Gliding Club under the supervision of Percy Pratt who had obtained the constructional plans from Germany. The glider was flown on this occasion by Tom Thompson, a founding member of the Geelong club.

Significance

This photograph is significant for the Geelong Gliding Club (as it shows its original primary glider in flight at this legendary event) and for Australian gliding in general as it captures the pioneering spirit of those times with the sight of a primary glider in flight off the edge of the Tower Hill volcanic crater and the interest it evidently generated amongst the local public as indicated by the many spectators.

Inscriptions & Markings

G.G.C. Primary Glider Tower Hill, Koroit – Easter 1931 Pilot T.W.Thompson (17/6/1908 – 13/6/1988)

Glider – Sailplane - Coogee - “Coogee” – VH-GFP

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Wood and fabric single seat glider sailplane strutted wings and strutted tailplane – features metal framed perspex canopy, central fuselage skid and wheel, small tail skid, instruments include airspeed, turn and bank indicator; variometer and altimeter. Metal parts include struts and fairing covering wing joint. All surfaces are pink doped – awaiting painting.

Historical information

The “Coogee” is an intermediate single seat sailplane built by Tom Proctor in 1940. Only one was built. It was first flown at Stuart Hill near Bendigo Victoria in January 1941 and was maintained in flying condition until 1967. Log Book History (recorded in 1955): This Sailplane [VH-GFP] was designed and constructed by Mr T. Proctor (Present address Alexandra) in 1942. The machine was purchased by the Victorian Motorless Flight Group in 1945. See letter dated 21-12-44. There is no known record of flying to this date but it is believed to be about 200 flights. VMFG commenced flying operations 27-12-1947. This Log Book is opened at 1 May 1955 and commences with the Aircraft in serviceable condition, the total no. of flights and hours to date are entered in the flying record sheets. (Signed) H.G. Richardson, Tech Officer, VMFG 1-5-55. Ownership history per Log Book (1955 and subsequent): 1940 - Built by Tom Proctor; 1945 - Sold to Victorian Motorless Flight Group (at the time, Berwick, Victoria); 14/10/1956 – Sold to Geelong Gliding Club; 06/10/1963 – Sold to E.J. Williams and G. Wyer (Melbourne, Victoria); 19/07/1966 – Sold to Campbell Curtis, F. O’Connell and R. Harris (Merigur, Victoria); Part share given by Campbell Curtis to Gerry Downs in return for completion of restoration (probably not undertaken); 12/05/2002 – Transfer to Australian Gliding Museum. Operational history; The aircraft did approximately 200 flights (hours flown not available) prior to transfer to VMFG. While with the VMFG the aircraft logged 325 hours and 30 minutes from 3356 flights – presumably mainly at Berwick in Victoria. With the Geelong Gliding Club it recorded a further 14 hours and fifty seven minutes flying time from 142 flights. With Williams and Wyer it logged a further 24 hours and 59 minutes from 102 flights. Finally, with Curtis and Co it recorded a further 49 hours and 21 minutes from 152 flights. A cross country flight of 13 miles in 30 minutes at Renmark South Australia on 3 September 1966 is noted. The aircraft was apparently damaged in a collision on landing with a fence on 7 January 1967. It must have been repaired as a further 6 flights are recorded in the Log after that date.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

VH-GFP

Painting - Framed - Restless for Flight

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Oil and ink painting – framed – that shows a glider wing hovering above ground in a lane in front of the open doorway of (presumably) a workshop.

Historical information

Possibly this painting is an artistic reference to the Grunau Baby glider constructed by Gliding and Soaring Club of South Australia members in 1947.

Inscriptions & Markings

Signed by artist On rear – ‘“Restless for Flight” Alan J Delaine August 1986’

Painting - Framed - “Final turn – Arrow landing at Benalla”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Oil painting showing a yellow and white glider banking in distance over open country

Historical information

Painted in 1967

Inscriptions & Markings

Signed by artist On rear – “Final turn – Arrow landing at Benalla”

Glider – Lilienthal Replica - Lilienthal Maihohe Rhinow Glider 1893

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Hang glider made of wood with wire bracing – yet to be covered with authentic cotton fabric.

Historical information

Otto Lilienthal (1848-1896) from Berlin, Germany, is widely credited as being the first person to make repeated successful gliding flights. He was known for adopting a thorough scientific approach founded on observations of the flight of birds in relation to the problem of inventing a man carrying heavier than air machine that would fly. He developed and tested bird-like gliders controlled by weight shift by the pilot (a similar method to modern hang gliders). The pilot held on to the glider with his forearms resting in hoops mounted on the main structural beam connecting the wings. The weight shift was achieved by the pilot swinging his trunk and legs. In contrast, the pilot of a modern hang glider is suspended below the glider and, with the use of an A-frame, allows the whole body to be moved around to achieve control. The Lilienthal design apparently had a tendency to pitch down and a tailplane was added to mitigate this problem. Lilienthal flew from hills in the Rhinow region and from a conical hill he built near Berlin. He made over 2000 flights. Importantly, for others seeking to progress manned flight at the time and also for the historical record, reports of Lilienthal’s flights (some with photographs) were published and Lilienthal detailed his experiences and corresponded with other flight pioneers. Lilienthal’s work became well known and influenced Orville and Wilbur Wright in their initial experiments with gliders in 1899 (although in their quest to design and fly an aeroplane they relied on new data created by wind tunnel testing). The replica built by Bruce Hearn is of the 1893 Lilienthal glider. It is very similar to the “Normal-Segalapparat” (Normal Glider) for which patent protection was later granted a few years later.

Significance

The Lilienthal replica glider is an important addition to the AGM collection as it represents the beginning of successful gliding flight.

Inscriptions & Markings

The glider has a small plate with identification details including name of builder (Bruce Hearn)

Glider – Sailplane – Schweizer TG-3A - Schweizer TG-3A – Registration Number VH-GDI – called “Explorer”

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Tubular metal framed fuselage (without covering and fittings), wooden rudder (no covering) and in damaged condition, wooden fuselage component (formers for fuselage top), Parts of control mechanism, Wooden stringers, Wooden wings without fabric covering and in damaged condition, Ailerons, Tailplane /Elevator without fabric covering, Perspex bubble canopies.

Historical information

The Schweizer SGS 2-12 or TG-3A as officially certificated is a glider that was designed in 1941-1942 and produced in United States of America from 1942 for training of military glider pilots. The design was based on an earlier Schweizer two-seat training glider, the Schweizer SGS 2-8, which had a fabric covered steel framed fuselage and aluminum wings. The TG-3A was designed avoiding the use of aluminum which was a strategic material reserved for combat aircraft production. Consequently the wings of the TG-3A were constructed from wood covered with plywood and aircraft fabric (in the traditional manner) and, with other design changes to simplify production, the glider ended up bigger and heavier than the SGS 2-8. Performance did not suffer. In fact, the TG-3A may have had a slightly better glide ratio compared with the SGS 2-8. It is understood that over 100 TG-As were supplied to the USA military and at the end of the war many were sold off as surplus. Fred Hoinville imported the Museum’s TG-3A into Australia in August 1950 after negotiating the difficulties posed by currency restrictions. It is understood that it had been built in 1948 and given construction number G15. On arrival in Australia it was assembled at Bankstown aerodrome and delivered by aero-tow behind a DH Tiger Moth to Camden where Hoinville’s club, the Hinkler Soaring Club, was based. It was found from experimentation that it was preferable for the TG-3A to adopt a low-tow position behind the tug aircraft in stead of the usual high-tow position. This enabled the tug to hold a better attitude for climbing and an acceptable rate of climb. Hoinville’s TG-3A performed well at the Hinkler club in 1950-1951. Several altitude records (including a solo flight to 8000 feet by Grace Roberts – a national women’s record) were set and many soaring flight made over Camden. However, it was badly damaged in a crash landing on 15 April 1951. (See A. Ash, Gliding in Australia, pp 132-133) The glider was repaired after the crash at Camden. It is likely that modifications were made to the cockpit canopy at this time. There were three configuration tried at various times: the original dual cockpit canopy as was standard for TG3As; an unusual dual bubble canopy set up; and a single canopy over the forward seating position (in effect converting the glider to a single seat). When the glider was flown by Hoinville at the 1958 Australian Gliding Championships at Benalla, Victoria in January 1959 (refer The Age Newspaper, January 10, 1959 p.21) it had a single canopy so that it could be used in solo competition. No logbook record has been found by the Australian Gliding Museum for the glider while it was owned by Fred Hoinville and flown at the Hinkler Soaring Club. However, records show that the glider was entered on the Australian register as VH-GDI on 6 May 1957. And the Logbook commencing in 1959 shows that ownership passed to the Port Augusta Gliding Club in South Australia on 16 August 1959. Inspections were carried out at that club and airworthiness certificates renewed in 1965. The logbook record indicates that VH-GDI had 1191 flights with an aggregate time in the air of 197 hours at the Wilmington Road Airstrip used by the Port Augusta Club. The issue of this airworthiness certificate appears to have occurred at the time that glider was transferred to the Cooma Gliding Club, New South Wales. Flying at Cooma began in November 1966 and continued until August 1969: the glider was in the air a further 108 hours from 1067 flights. The last recorded technical inspection of the glider was conducted by Reg Pollard on 28 September 1968. The glider then passed on to Bill Riley. The certificate of registration for VH-GDI was reissued in the name of Riley Aeronautics Pty Ltd of Tocumwal, New South Wales, on 20 March 1980. Bill Riley stored the glider until March 2004 when it was collected by the Australian Gliding Museum. It is not clear whether the current poor state of the glider airframe is due to an accident when last flown in 1969 or the conditions under which it has been stored over many years or a combination of factors. The glider featured in Fred Hoinville’s book “Halfway to Heaven”.

Significance

To be assessed

Glider – Sailplane – Schneider ES KA 6 - I - Schneider ES KA 6 – I; "Rhonsegler" Registered as VH-GRW

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Plywood, spruce and fabric covered high wing single seat sailplane. The airframe has been restored to the point of repainting. Currently the fuselage, rudder and the wings aft of the main spar are coated with pink dope. The tailplane retains the white gloss finish of the glider prior to the restoration work. The cockpit will need to be refitted (with instruments etc) to being the glider into the state that it was when flown.

Historical information

VH-GRW, serial number 55, was built under licence from Alexander Schleicher in 1962 by Edmund Schneider Limited. It was one of 12 Ka6s, with minor variations from the Schleicher product, built by Schneiders in Australia. It was test flown at Parafield Aerodrome, Adelaide, on 8th September 1962. By way of background, the Schleicher KA 6 series of sailplanes were designed by Rudolf Kaiser in Germany. They were quite successful in the Standard Class in the late 1950s and 1960s. Over 1400 were produced. The first owner of VH-GRW was the Victorian Motorless Flight Group which, at the time, was based at Berwick Airfield on the outskirts of Melbourne. On 22 April 1972, the ownership passed to a syndicate including T. R. B. Threlfall and some others from the VMFG (at which time the aircraft had recorded 1718 hours from 3284 flights). It again changed ownership in July 1974. The new owners were another syndicate headed by A. Jamieson of Campbelltown in New South Wales. The history showed that the aircraft had flown approximately 2264 hours from 3610 flights at that stage. The glider went to Tasmania in June 1976 into the ownership of G.D. and F.J. Martin of Sandy Bay and Lucaston respectively (near Hobart). The next owner was the Soaring Club of Tasmania. In total VH-GRW recorded 3369 hours in flight from 4952 launches. However, the glider was used very little after 1996. This is reflected neatly by the piece of logbook poetry “What tho’ my winged hours of joy have been like angels’ visits, few and far between” entered after 3 flights totaling 4 hours 20 minutes in December 1998. At that time the glider had been out of action for over 2 years and subsequently was flown for only about 9 more hours. In January 2001 airworthy inspection found more age related defects. Further the major 40 year survey was due in 2002 and the glider was retired. It came to the Australian Gliding Museum via Don Briggs of Tasmania. The glider was repaired many times over its active life. Most repairs were related to general wear and tear and periodic maintenance requirements. However, a significant accident must have occurred towards the end of 1968 as the glider was out of action for 3 months during which the port wing was rebuilt by Schneiders and other repairs made. Other exceptional incidents resulting in damage included a road accident (February 1966) and attack by an eagle while in flight (January 1997). At the Museum, the glider has been restored to the point that it is ready for painting.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Serial number 55 registered as VH-GRW. The manufacture details are displayed on a metal plate fixed to the main bulkhead.

Glider / Sailplane - ES 57 Kingfisher

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Single seat wooden sailplane with fabric covering, in a partly restored condition.

Historical information

The exhibit is the prototype Kingfisher Mark 1 (serial number 23) built by Edmund Schneider Ltd and first flown on 8 July 1956. It was first registered as VH-GDH on 3 May 1957. The ES57 Kingfisher is a small to medium size single seat glider that was designed to have similar control responses to the successful two seat trainer, the ES 52 Kookaburra, thus providing for a smooth transition for solo rated pilots to advance to a single seat machine. Edmund Schneider Ltd built nine Kingfishers and supplied kits for two more for construction by others. Harold Bradley (South Australia) built a modified Kingfisher with shoulder mounted wings. Kingfisher serial number 23 was originally owned by the Waikerie Gliding Club (South Australia) (1956 – 1959). From 1959, it had a nomadic existence in the hands of a string of owners in New South Wales, Queensland, Northern Territory and finally Queensland, again. In the early 1990s the glider was deregistered and flown as an ultralight sailplane. After a change in ownership, the glider was moved to Hervey Bay, Qld and re-registered as VH-GKN. After very limited use, the glider was sold again and placed in storage at Hervey Bay. In January 2004, the owner, who by then had moved overseas, entrusted the glider to Ian Patching and Geoff Hearn who moved it to Melbourne. Ian Patching returned the glider to flying condition in February 2004. Since then, it has been stripped and recovered with new aircraft fabric and requires finishing work. The logged hours flown for the Kingfisher total approximately 190 hours from 549 flights. The glider was donated to the Australian Gliding Museum on 3 June 2014.

Significance

The Exhibit is one of the Edmund Schneider Ltd gliders that was designed and built in Australia in the late 1950s. It is one of the four Kingfishers that are known to survive – the Bradley Kingfisher and two of the standard Kingfishers are known to have been destroyed – the fates of five are unknown.

Inscriptions & Markings

None

Pitot tube

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

This is a metalic tube.

Historical information

The pitot is an instrument to measure airspeed. This Pitot was originally fitted to the Kite 1 sailplane, built in Sydney in 1935. Later the pitot was replaced by another. This pitot was kept by Jack Watt until about 1950 when it was given to Alan Ash for safekeeping

Significance

This item was manufactured specifically as a part of a significant Australian built sailplane. The sailplane was built in 1935 and totally destroyed in October 1944 at Waikerie SA.

Glider – Sailplane – Slingsby T35 Austral - Slingsby T35 Austral – registration VH-GFX

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Two seat high wing wood and fabric glider – sailplane. The glider has been partly restored for display as a non-flying exhibit.

Historical information

The T35 Austral was developed by Slingsby Aviation from the Slingsby T31 with the wing span increased and a larger rudder to improve performance. This was done in response to an order from an Australian gliding club. The Museum’s glider was built from a Slingsby kit imported from the UK in 1952 and assembled by the Waikerie Gliding Club. The glider came on the Australian register as VH-GFX in May 1956. It was later transferred to the Renmark Gliding Club. In 1968 it was acquired by the RAAF Gliding Club at Laverton, Victoria. The existing log book records for the Museum’s T35 Austral are incomplete. Nevertheless the information at hand shows that it was launched over 17000 times and spent about 2400 hours in the air. It would appear that the glider has not been used for many years, the last flight recorded by the RAAF Gliding Club for this aircraft being in September 1971. As far as is known VH-GFX is the only example of the type to be built.

Significance

To be assessed.

variometer

Australian Gliding Museum, Parwan

Rate of climb indictor with red and green tubes

Historical information

The instrument was used in the Slingsby T31b glider during 1950s . It was a basic instrument to indicate rate of climb /descent of the glider during flight during 1940s and 1950s.

Significance

To be assessed

Inscriptions & Markings

Cosim Variometer.rt/341 Cobb Slater. Made in England.