Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Cup - Stonehaven Cup

From the Collection of Royal Brighton Yacht Club 253 Esplanade Brighton Victoria

Attached Files
Object Registration
stonehaven, cadet
Historical information
Awarded To
Winner of the Stonehaven Cup Interstate Championship
Is a broad metal cup with a flower grill, which is permanently attached to a multi-tiered round wooden base carrying engraved shields for each winning boat
First Awarded
In 1924 to 'Mayfly' and 'Penguin' who won in a dead-heat in Hobart, Tasmania
Engraving Format
Venue, state of venue, year, cup number, boat, state of winner
Example: MELBOURNE / VIC / 2012 83rd / DOROTHY LINACRE / VIC
The cup is held on display in the winner's club until the next championship series.
The Stonehaven Cup has been run every year since 1924, with the exception of the war years 1940 to 1945
The dinghy registration number included here is the national registration number which was first issued in 1951
Dinghies racing in the Stonehaven Cup prior to that time competed under their state registration numbers, which are not included here
From 1951, all existing dinghies wishing to compete in the Stonehaven Cup were issued with new national certificates of registration
Because of this process, older Cadet dinghies which were not intended to be raced in future Stonehaven Cups did not receive a national registration number
Those existing dinghies which were issued with national certificates retrospectively were given numbers in order of their re-measurement, so the lowest national registration numbers are not necessarily the oldest dinghies

Last updated
26 Aug 2019 at 3:03PM