Historical information

Moorabbin played initially in the Federal Football League, making their debut in 1909 and competing until 1950. The club wore a black and white jumper like Collingwood. During this time the club won 12 premierships, including winning all six premierships staged over the nine years between 1940 and 1948 (the competition was in recess from 1942 until 1944) Moorabbin had a comparatively brief but quite successful stint in the Victorian Football Association between 1951 and 1963. The club won premierships in 1957 and 1963, and managed a highly impressive overall success rate of 62.5%. However, there was a sensational aftermath to the 1963 flag as Moorabbin fell foul of the VFA after agreeing to sell its ground to VFL club St Kilda. After a bitter wrangle the eventual upshot was that the Moorabbin committee voted 19-2 to disaffiliate from the Association.
Before joining the VFA Moorabbin had spent four highly successful decades as a member of the Federal Football League and its precursor the Federal Football Association. During its debut season in the VFA the club played its home matches at Cheltenham, but the development of a new ground in Moorabbin had been a condition of entry. By 1952 that new ground, Moorabbin Oval, was ready, and over the ensuing eleven seasons it would become one of the most difficult grounds in the VFA for visiting teams to win at.
Prior to entering the VFA Moorabbin enjoyed premiership success in the Federal Football League on a dozen occasions, including four times in succession between 1945 and 1948.. The Moorabbin name is now used by the Moorabbin Kangaroos Football Club in the Southern Football League. The club was originally known as Moorabbin West Football Club, taking on the new name from 2003.


Moorabbin Football Club was established 1909 and was very successful playing in the Federal Football League, Victorian Football Association. Sadly was removed from the Linton St. Oval 1963, after winning the Premiership, by Moorabbin City Council and St Kilda VFL team took over.

Physical description

Black & White photograph showing Moorabbin Football Club 1946 Premiership in Federal Football League

Inscriptions & markings

MOORABBIN - PREMIERS 1946 / Back Row C.Thomas, S.Cato, D.Murnane, F.Stone, / Standing - H.Dolman (trainer), A.Ayers, K.Burke, W.Cann, A.Cann,J.Carpenter, J.Carpenter, J.Erickson, G.Emblin, A.Leitch, W.Comber (trainer) / Sitting - E.Freeman (trainer) E.MxInerney, F.Smith,S.Plowright, R.Fox (Captain Coach) R.Bailey (vice.Captain)F.Keogh, R.Stafford, C.Jones (Secretary)