Historical information

The Hutton Trophy or Shield was awarded annually to the best Light Horse Troop in Australia. The trophy is now held at the Armoured Centre Puckapunyal. Inter-regimental competition was strong in the years between WWI and WWII. Annually, the best troop in the regiments of the 3rd (Vic), 4th (SA), 5th (WA) and 6th (Tas) Military Districts competed for the Hutton Trophy and the Lord Forster Cup. The Tocumwal Troop were winners of the Hutton Shield in 1937 and 1938.
The 20th Light Horse (Victorian Mounted Rifles) was raised in 1920 as part of the 3rd Cavalry Brigade, 2nd Cavalry Division, Citizen Military Forces, with Headquarters at Seymour and depots along the Goulburn Valley from Mansfield to Tocumwal in southern NSW. In December 1941, 20th Light Horse (Victorian Mounted Rifles) converted from horse to mechanised, initially as 20th Motor Regiment. In 1943 the Regiment was deployed to Merauke, Dutch New Guinea. Upon its return in April 1945, the Regiment was redesignated 20th Pioneer Battalion. It was disbanded following the end of the war. 20th Light Horse was the only light horse regiment to serve overseas in WWII.

Physical description

Framed black and white photograph of Tocumwal Troop 20th Light horse with the Hutton Shield and other trophies.

Inscriptions & markings

No 1 Troop C Squadron 20th Light Horse Regt (Tocumwal Troop) ...