Stories Organisations Projects About Login

Book - University of Ballarat Annual Report, 2011

From the Collection of Federation University Australia Historical Collection (Geoffrey Blainey Research Centre) Federation University Australia, Mt Helen Campus Federation University Australia E.J. Barker Library (top floor) Mount Helen Victoria

Soft covered annual report of 152 pages with a photo of a building under construction on the cover.

Photographs include Y Building (Science) under construction, University of Ballarat Pipe Band, Ted Ballieu, Julia Gillard, Honorary Doctorate to Jeremy Johnson; Grant Petch, Khoa Do, Sonia Tuner, Lisa Marshall, Danielle Button, Rana Stollery, Christopher Schliefort
Inscriptions and Markings
Attached Files
Object Registration
peter hall, robert smith, ebony place, michael thurston, roger donaldson, heather ridout, petch, khoa do, sonia turner, colin marshall, university of ballarat act, sizer, quigley, walker, wilson, mcquilton, simmons, doig, hobday, douglas, hemming, paul hemming, coutts, holmes, battersby, david battersby, reconciliation, reconciliation action plan, atkinson, fagan, balliue, gillard, prime minister, premier, pipe band, university of ballarat pipe band, pipe band championships, jeremy johnson, sovereign hill scholarships, foundation. chancellor's circle, robert h.t. smith, bonnie fagan, bonnie chew, ashlee rodgers, shanaya sheridan, alinta edwards, deanne gilson, ben atkinson, ted ballieu, julia gillard, nick maxwell, e.j. barker, jeanetta kerr-grant, grant petch, sonia tuner, lisa marshall, danielle button, rana stollery, mt rowan equine centre, christopher schliefort, honorary doctorate, university of ballarat
Historical information
Federation University Australia was established on 1 January 2014. Formerly known as the University of Ballarat, its enabling legislation was the University of Ballarat Amendment (Federation University Australia) Act 2013. Although formally created as a University in 1994, the University of Ballarat had a lineage back to 1870 with the establishment of the School of Mines Ballarat, making it the third institution of higher learning to be established in Australia and the first to be established in regional Australia. On 1 January 1994, Ballarat University College became the University of Ballarat and in 1998 the University merged with three TAFE Institutes to become a dual sector institution with multiple campuses. On 1 January 2014, the University of Ballarat amalgamated with the Monash University Gippsland Campus to form Federation University Australia. The Gippsland Campus also had a long lineage dating back to 1928 with the establishment of the Yallourn Technical School which became a predecessor institution to the Gippsland College of Advanced Education formed in 1968. In 1990, it was renamed the Monash University College and in 1993 became the Gippsland Campus of Monash University.
Federation University Australia, or FedUni, is Australia’s newest public University. Headquartered in Ballarat, Victoria, the University offers programs in Higher
Education and Vocational Education and Training to regional Victoria and beyond. The University’s commitment to educational and social equity, teaching excellence,
research distinction, environmental sustainability and regional capacity building has enabled it to develop in a way that draws on its proud heritage to inform its future.
Its regional character sets a framework for the University’s priorities but does not constrain it from serving wider community interests, nationally and internationally.
With campuses from Horsham in the west of the state, to Churchill in the east, the name Federation University Australia was chosen to convey the scope and capacity
of an expanded regional university with a federated network of campuses contributing to a new and different Australian university.
When Made
Last updated
24 Aug 2018 at 3:07PM