Historical information

Prior to 1929 Yarrambat was known as Tanck's Corner or Reynold's Corner after Frederick Tanck who owned land north of Ironbark Road at the corner of Yan Yean Road, and Thomas Ryenolds who owned the property opposite. Tanck's Corner was at the centre of gold bearing country. Gold was mined here until 1984 when the last operating mine, the Golden King mine in North Oatlands Road closed. It was owned by the Clayton family and in the 1960s was the only private family gold mine in Victoria. Larger mines had their own batteries and stampers to process the ore.

Covered under Heritage Overlay, Nillumbik Planning Scheme.

Published: Nillumbik Now and Then /​ Marguerite Marshall 2008; photographs Alan King with Marguerite Marshall.; p23


This collection of almost 130 photos about places and people within the Shire of Nillumbik, an urban and rural municipality in Melbourne's north, contributes to an understanding of the history of the Shire. Published in 2008 immediately prior to the Black Saturday bushfires of February 7, 2009, it documents sites that were impacted, and in some cases destroyed by the fires. It includes photographs taken especially for the publication, creating a unique time capsule representing the Shire in the early 21st century. It remains the most recent comprehenesive publication devoted to the Shire's history connecting local residents to the past.

Physical description

Born digital image file