Historical information

Built in 1891 for Head Teacher John Brown. His predecessor and the school's first Head Teacher, John Clark, lived in his own house 'Shoestring' in Metery Road, adjacent to the school.

At the time of this photograph, the building was being used for before and after school care. Its present-day (2023) use is for school administration offices.

Covered under Heritage Overlay, Nillumbik Planning Scheme.

Published: Nillumbik Now and Then /‚Äč Marguerite Marshall 2008; photographs Alan King with Marguerite Marshall.; p49

Significance

This collection of almost 130 photos about places and people within the Shire of Nillumbik, an urban and rural municipality in Melbourne's north, contributes to an understanding of the history of the Shire. Published in 2008 immediately prior to the Black Saturday bushfires of February 7, 2009, it documents sites that were impacted, and in some cases destroyed by the fires. It includes photographs taken especially for the publication, creating a unique time capsule representing the Shire in the early 21st century. It remains the most recent comprehenesive publication devoted to the Shire's history connecting local residents to the past.

Physical description

Born digital image file