Historical information

The school building originally owned by locals was lost in the Black Saturday 2009 bushfires.

Land was purchased in 1914 to build he Strathewen State School on School Ridge Road, Strathewen. Residents and the Education Department contributed funds for the building which the Education Department then leased for a small annual fee. The school opened with one teacher in 1917 with no equipment. In 1921 the Education Department provided desks and a hexagonal shelter shed and took control in 1925. After this photo was taken, the school was destroyed in Black Saturday on 9 February 2009.

Published: Nillumbik Now and Then /‚Äč Marguerite Marshall 2008; photographs Alan King with Marguerite Marshall.; p89

Significance

This collection of almost 130 photos about places and people within the Shire of Nillumbik, an urban and rural municipality in Melbourne's north, contributes to an understanding of the history of the Shire. Published in 2008 immediately prior to the Black Saturday bushfires of February 7, 2009, it documents sites that were impacted, and in some cases destroyed by the fires. It includes photographs taken especially for the publication, creating a unique time capsule representing the Shire in the early 21st century. It remains the most recent comprehenesive publication devoted to the Shire's history connecting local residents to the past.

Physical description

Born digital image file