This photograph is part of the Caulfield Historical Album 1972. This album was created in approximately 1972 as part of a project by the Caulfield Historical Society to assist in identifying buildings worthy of preservation. The album is related to a Survey the Caulfield Historical Society developed in collaboration with the National Trust of Australia (Victoria) and Caulfield City Council to identify historic buildings within the City of Caulfield that warranted the protection of a National Trust Classification.
Principal photographer thought to be Trevor Hart, member of Caulfield Historical Society. Most photographs were taken between 1966-1972 with a small number of photographs being older and from unknown sources. All photographs are black and white except where stated, with 386 photographs over 198 pages.
From Glen Eira Heritage Management Plan 1996 by Andrew Ward:
Since 1990, valuable historic houses to have been demolished include "Noris", later "Quethiock", and "Koala" (1875) at 34 Balaclava Road, "Urandaline", later Samford private hospital at 510 Glen Eira Road, and No. 9 Lempriere Avenue.
When the Caulfield Tramway Company opened its single line horse tramway along Glen Eira Road to Caulfield station in 1889, the eastern end of this road passed through open paddocks and alongside "Urandaline", a charming late Victorian villa residence with comer pinnacle roof, demolished in 1995.
Page 59 of Photograph Album with five photographs, one portrait of the exterior of a house on Glen Eira Road, the other four are photos of sections of advertising materials for Urandaline Estate.
Inscriptions & markings
Hand written: 508 Glen Eira Road [under top left photo] / 58 [bottom left]